We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel Restaurant

The George Hotel of Stamford | 71 St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
+44 1780 750750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 90 restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $85
Hours:
Sun - Fri 7:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Sun - Sat 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Sat 7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A magnificent oak-panelled space is the fine dining setting at The George Hotel of Stamford, one of England's greatest coaching inns. A mix of regular locals and hotel guests can always be found relaxing at bare oak tables beneath an eye-catching hand-painted ceiling. In summer, or on mild nights, they like to sit outside under the heated canopy in the ivy-clad courtyard. Open for grand lunches and dinner, the George Hotel Restaurant serves traditional yet imaginative English dishes, specialising in seafood. Lighter daytime dishes such as Dover sole are superceeded at night with heartier meals such as rack of lamb with fresh herbs and redcurrant jelly, and roast English beef carved at the table on a silver trolley. Accompanied by traditional trimmings, of course.
Reserve with OpenTable
The George Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    147
    77
    40
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banksia Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

We are Brits living in Oz and came for lunch with friends in May, carrying with us, great expectations. We left bitterly disappointed with our experience. It all started so well sitting outside in the beautiful terrace area, a delightful setting. Our dining experience was a huge disappointment. The main meals all arrived at different times, which is unforgivable when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

We live in Leicester and have been to the George twice both times the food has been really good and the service fantastic, After a bike ride at Rutland waters I told my brothers about this cute little village called Stamford so I took them there for a walk after checking trip advisor I considered another restaurant , but from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lunch at the George is always a reliably British affair, with their impressively enormous silver platter of roast beef doing the rounds of most tables, including ours. Service as excellent as you would expect. With uncertain weather, we dined in the paneled room, which is very traditional and whilst it is brightened currently with lovely white flower settings, the decor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely to read that you enjoyed your Roast Beef and that the service was excellent. Thank you for your kind words. I was sad to read though that you don't find the restaurant décor to your taste, it is a very traditional restaurant with its beautiful oak panelling and tables and we receive many wonderful comments. We look forward to... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We haven’t visited The George for many years, but it was buzzing as we entered the Court Yard, on a very warm summers evening. We sat in the Restaurant tables at the back of the Court Yard and watched the great-and-good of Stamford pour in. The menu was comprehensive, with a variety of tasty sounding, “fancy” foods. I chose Gruyere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You are quite right, the vegetables and potatoes should have been served at exactly the same time as your main course; please accept my sincere apologies for this. We will increase the training in this area. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Late arrivals for a 9.30 dinner and probably not popular that we went all out for three courses, cheese& biscuits, coffee, brandy's etc when they had had a very busy night and all wanted to go home. The food was exceptional, great choice, amazing wine list, but the service was the outstanding feature although the later it got it dropped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

It was lovely to see this review and thank you so much. The time you arrive for dinner doesn't matter to us at all as we serve in our garden room till quite late anyway. However I will speak to the restaurant team to ensure that service is kept high regardless of the time. Please accept my apologies for this,... More

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Real Shame that instead of taking on board peoples dissatisfaction with The George the management team just carry on regardless relying on the good name! I've visited several times over the years and although the food is good the atmosphere is not. There's classic & there's outdated & I'm afraid that recently The George is outdated in every respect. Dined... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sad that you feel this way. I have run the George for over thirty years and I can assure you we don't just carry on regardless, relying on our name. We respond to every review on both of our TripAdvisor pages and take note of all comments which we discuss and react to if necessary. We work... More

Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In my opinion ....Just a tad overpriced......but my food was good so no real complaints there. Our group enjoyed their lunch but I would have chosen a more lighthearted place. I have to admit I rather like the toilets ....the decor, the hand cream etc. Overall, just a bit boring, shan't eat there again. Our Blue Badge guide made the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

The George is a beautiful building and has a wonderful atmosphere which is why we have so many customers returning again and again. I am shocked that you found it boring, because I have never, ever heard that before about The George. More

Bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for an early dinner today. It was recommended to me by several friends and work colleagues. We were very impressed by the different rooms and decor and the outside area seemed like a lovely place to dine. However, finding anywhere to sit indoors or outdoors was very difficult and confusing. There is no real area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you review but I do find it very hard that anyone could aimlessly wander around the George for 5 minutes without being approached by the staff. However I was pleased that you found the staff in the garden room and the building lovely. We have wonderful comments about the food at the George and so I am... More

Finedon, Northants.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

What an overrated, overpriced establishment The George is! I had a meeting with a colleague in the area this week so we decided to dine at The George, what a mistake! We were shown to a small table and immediately pestered by waiters three times for our order within ten minutes of sitting down, we didn't even have time to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry you felt so disappointed. You complain about having too many people trying to look after you and then complain that you couldn't get anyone’s attention? I don't think you can comment on the size of the soup as you didn't order it. The soup isn't small and many people have it as a main course at... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We decided to have a quick lunch outside in the sunshine, as we had not booked we were told that there was no space. We then went inside to the bistro restaurant. Whilst it was not too busy we had to wait a while to find someone to give us a table. We were very surprised how expensive it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We don’t take bookings for our garden room menu and it does get full very quickly in the courtyard when the sun shines! You shouldn’t have had to wait for someone to seat you though inside, so please accept my apologies for this. I am sorry that you felt our open sandwiches were nothing special,... More

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The George Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing