We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3-4 High Street, Taunton TA1 3PG, England
01823 322288
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 53
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Nice Cuppa!

Went here with a group of ladies. We had lovely afternoon tea. Beautiful food, served nicely. Each of us had something afferent, so were able to try most things on the menu.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2015
RestaurantReviewer01
,
London
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

My daughter and I have been regular visitors to Mr Miles but alas no more. We ordered a Banana Split Sundae to share and when it arrived my daughter and I noticed after digging in that it was lacking the main ingredient of bananas. This was pointed out to the waiter when asked if everything was ok and we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear GrimsOnerNerd, I have responded direct to you but just wanted to acknowledge the fact that despite staff training we have managed to mess up what should have been very simple. How on earth one of my staff could miss out the banana from a banana split is remarkable!!! What is worse is that it was brought to my attention... More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

A rare find, a lovely gift shop combined with a light and airy teashop vibe - Impressed to see not only vegetarian and vegan options, but vegan cakes on offer. Also nice to see an array of ages amongst the staff, with the professional and upmarket feel of the establishment you wouldn't usually expect to see quite young staff, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Storm 793 thank you for your kind remarks on trip advisor. I will be happy to pass your comments on to the staff who were working on the day you visited. This helps to restore my faith in our operation despite a few hiccups recently which we are doing our utmost to sort out. Yours sincerely, Colin Barrell, owner/director More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

A group of 28 booked a three course dinner in Mr. Miles. We had been offered a pre-booked choice out of three for starters, main and pudding - difficult to choose as they all sounded delicious. We were greeted upstairs with a glass of wine and the large main room had been laid out with a three-sided table. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you very much for the positive review you have posted on Trip advisor. I have passed your comments on to all the staff and it is nice to know that their hard work and attention to detail is appreciated. We hope to see you again and will try to keep to the high standard which you look... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Very Very disappointed,poor service,poor food,and over priced for what it was, we have visited a number of tea rooms in the area and this was by far our worst experience,the sandwiches tasted like they were made the day before and no choice of filling,the cake very dry 1 piece of apple 1 piece of cherry (I don't like cherry cake)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Bengy 93, I have responded to you twice and asked if you were with the same person who posted the other review. So far I have yet to receive a response. If you could help me on that I would be grateful. Yours sincerely, Colin Barrell, owner/director More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

We paid our first visit to Miles tearooms in Taunton today and based on the experience we had it will also be our last! Having been shown rather abruptly to our table we all ordered the high tea. Our drinks arrived first, the three teapots and cups taking up all table space so that when our food was brought to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs. Pimm, I would like to express my sincere apologies for what turned out to be a disappointing visit to Mr. Miles. I have already spoken to the lady you were treating as she had also sent in a complaint and a contact phone number so that I could respond directly. As an honest businessman, I have... More 

Bridgend.South Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Went to Tounton for weekend called in to town centre was looking for coffee found this place , was asked if we wanted to sit up stairs glad we did it was amazing felt we were special a very nice young man showed us to a table let us look at the menu at leisure, chose to have morning tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Caroline T Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the scones which we bake daily in our kitchen and our coffee which is supplied by our partner company D.J.Miles and Co Ltd. We have many fine teas and fresh roasted coffees to chose from and I am pleased that you appreciated the taste... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Visited last weekend as it had outside seating which we thought would be lovely in the sunshine. Ordered the duck and orange salad, what a mistake! A bowl came with a salad on the base which consisted mainly of red cabbage, a few bits of orange and very little else. Placed on top were slices of duck. Now duck is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, thank you for your review on tripadvisor. My apologies for the food which you found not to be up to an acceptable standard and also for not having your comments fed back to me or the management staff at the time. We would have preferred it if the information had been given to us then, so that we... More 

Dartford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We were looking for a menu outside Mr Miles Tea rooms...A man ( I think he might have been the Manager) came out to my daughter in law, grandchildren and myself and asked what we were looking for..we said cream tea etc., yes he said and children's menu...he took us up to the top floor. It was a beautiful room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear Mother Dartford, I am pleased that your trip to the West country included a visit to our restaurant and that we managed to give you a good experience. I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with readers of tripadvisor and hope you will take a detour to see us again in the future. Yours sincerely, Colin... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

My son and I needed a bite to eat whilst out shopping in Taunton and were stood outside Mr Miles Tea Room. It looked busy but we were pleasantly surprised when a gentleman seated us upstairs in a beautifully decorated area. The staff were very helpful and the food came quickly. It was very tasty and we'll presented. We both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear HelenR7 I am just writing to thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am glad you made the decision to give us a try and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in town. By the way, never be out off if you see a queue and it looks busy. Even on our busiest... More 

London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Went here with a group of ladies. We had lovely afternoon tea. Beautiful food, served nicely. Each of us had something afferent, so were able to try most things on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin B, Owner at Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee, responded to this review

Dear madam, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I am pleased that your group had a good experience and hope that you will seek us out when you are next in the area. Best wishes, Colin Barrell Owner More 

Travelers who viewed Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3-4 High Street, Taunton TA1 3PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Taunton
  • Phone Number: 01823 322288

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mr. Miles Tea & Coffee staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?