We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon Inn

Stoke St Mary, Taunton, England
+44 1823 442271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 194 restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Traditional Country pub with restaurant, located in a small rural village approximately 2 miles from Taunton centre and M5(J25) motorway.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    18
    7
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I ate here on Saturday. When we try places we haven't been to for a while we always have the fish & chips first then if that's good we go back ( as you can imagine we have had ALOT of fish & chips) I can quite honestly say it's the best iv ever had!!!! The chips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke st mary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Went to a themed night (Greek night) was an excellent night. Great food, great entertainment, everyone got involved even the staff. Looking forward to the nex themed night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I went to the moon and experienced an enjoyable business meal with friendly and helpful staff the lady called Gloria was fantastic, we had fish and chips with lager shandy. GREAT FOOD Well done to the Moon Andre' www.adsf.co.uk

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Friday 13 is normally a bad night to go out on, but we were staying in Somerset with family and visited this lovely pub how happy we all were. The evening was lovely there was 6 off us 4 adults and 2 children and we all had starters which was plentiful and good value for the money and then the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been to the Half Moon Inn twice now and have been very impressed with the menu and food. I had belly pork the first time which was cooked beautifully and then went to the Greek evening last Saturday which was a very enjoyable evening. Again food of a very high standard. Staff very attentive and friendly.All in all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Taunton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Half Moon last week and was thoroughly impressed on all levels. I had the Fish and Chips which I have to say was outstanding. It was probably the best fish that I've ever had. My wife had the Belly Pork which was full of flavour and a generous portion. I've just read the last review on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Terrible food. Such a pity. Let me start by clarifying the fact I gave this place a Poor and not Terrible rating - the owners are relatively new (as they told us) and I think this place has potential as it is a nice sized pub, in a quiet location and plenty of outside space. But in our experience the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the half moon tonight not having been since it has changed hands and we won't be going back. I explained that I had coeliac so I knew the choice would be very limited so I opted for a cheese ploughmans. I asked to substitute the bread for chips (I was told these would be gluten free)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was my first visit to this pub and I have to say it will be my last. Very disappointing meal and very overpriced. I ordered lasagne and my friend ordered house salad with chicken. We were served with chicken ceasar salad, which was not what we ordered and my lasagne had no meat in it, just pasta and cheese.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lucymead25, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you felt this way on Saturday evening. But from the start as we didn't have a wine menu you came across as very unhappy, our staff went through wines available by glass and bottle of which we opened bottles which we don't usually sell by the glass trying to accommodate your needs. Reference to your salad that was due... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I went for evening meal on Saturday 29th March.Although the new owners have only been there a few weeks I must say things are looking good. Meals are all on blackboard as they were awaiting new ones from printers.lhad rib eye steak with dauphine potatoes and peppercorn sauce and my wife had pork tenderloin. All freshly cooked.Good selection of ales... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Inn also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing