We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bollywood Lounge

34 Smyth Street | WF1 1ED, Wakefield WF1 1ED, England
+44 1924 362111
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #161 of 311 restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Bollywood Lounge offers an interesting modern twist to the authentic Indian restaurant and takeaway, fusing recipes from different cultures to create a unique dining experience.We provide an extensive menu including, not only, our speciality fusion dishes but also traditional ones, award-winning and much more.All this variety and choice together with our friendly staff and great atmosphere guarantees you will enjoy an unforgettable and unique dining experience.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    44
    31
    15
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 NEW

Lovely large restraunt but soon to be disappointed. Visited around 10.30 Friday evening there were approx 6 tables being used dotted around the restraunt so couldn't understand why we were put near the door right beside the bar/till area along with a table cloth stained with what looked like red wine we felt we were constantly being watched. Ordered sheekh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 NEW

Went on a groupon deal with my partner, mum n dad. Ordered our tea got sizzling starter to share n it was ok. Mum got chicken tikka n dad got tandoori chicken both was bland no flavour and dry. I got balti and mine was ok nothing special. Waiter came with yogurt sauce and knocked half lager over, he didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 NEW

Traveled 16 Miles with family from Bradford expecting a pleasant meal(we had a Groupon Voucher), turned out to be a disaster one.As we arrived we could easily find a parking space just opposite the restaurant so started off on a positive note. Was seated opposite the entrance door, the decor was excellent and ample of space between tables to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My boyfriend & I went there on Monday and used a groupon voucher. It was a great deal and me and my family love it there. I was very disappointed when I left on Monday night. I had been raving about this place to my other half and we were both excited to go but feel extremely let down by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BollywoodLoungeWakey, Guest Relations Manager at Bollywood Lounge, responded to this review

Dear CsAllsop Thank you for taking your time in writing up a review we really appreciate it as ut does help us improve our services and products. I would like to apologise for the negative experience you had on your visit. You should never have been served flat drinks and also none of our waiters should be react in the... More

Knottingley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We turned up early in the night and was given a table for 2, we were told the table was booked out in 2 hours time, we assured the staff we would be easily done by then. We then mentioned groupon and although I appreciate the groupon does state that you should ring & book the staff were extremely rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds9
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went here with a Groupon voucher and didn't know what to expect after reading reviews on here. We were pleasantly surprised as the food and service was vary good. We went on a Monday evening, so was quiet, but had no complaints. Would definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went for the first time on Saturday night and on arrival it seemed really nice, it's nicely decorated and spacious inside. It quickly went downhill after being seated. They didn't stock any of the specialist meats on the menu which was disappointing as it was the main factor for booking in the first place. They had forgot our main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Oh dear! I used to praise your food above all other. What went wrong this time? My tandoori chicken on the bone was absolutely average but the sauce you sent with it was chicken stock with chopped coriander in it. I'd been so looking forward to my visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have been here several times now and the staff always make you feel welcome, the place itself and the decor are great, the menu is extensive but all the dishes are fantastic and the "hot" ones are very hot so be careful. This time I went for the Chicken Chaat starter which is was good, very tasty but there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and myself visited the restaurant last night the 26th march 2014. We had a groupon voucher. The staff did not know what type of groupon we had.different types. We had two starters. 1 x onion bhajis. 1 x pakora. 3 papadoms pickle tray. Garlic chilli chicken.fried rice. A fish dish boiled rice. A garlic naan. And 2 beers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Lounge also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bollywood Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bollywood Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing