We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
25 - 27 Northgate, Wakefield WF1 3BJ, England
01924 299000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 335 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun 1:00 pm - 12:00 am
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    77
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

Visited on a few occasions now and it's always very good. On this occasion early evening with family. They have a great early bird offer with a third off the menu prices. Really nice relaxed atmosphere, which is shown in the clientele as I've never seen a woman dining alone anywhere else other than here. Service is attentive but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

I do like this restaurant, the staff are friendly and kind and the food is well priced as are the drinks. I often prefer to order from the menu rather than the tapas but I have enjoyed all the tapas I have tried. I will be coming back soon again no doubt

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Qubana is the all round, best restaurant/bar in Wakefield. We have been visiting it frequently since it opened and can honestly say that we have never had a bad meal there. The tapas is always superb but the main reason for its popularity is the staff and in particular the manager who is never too busy for anything! They are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I was here 3 months ago just for drinks before dining elsewhere and said I'd be back, well on Wednesday gone I had a table booked for 4 @ 4 o-clock, after a couple of drinks (they have some nice beers) we were took to our table, we decided to have the tapas deal, 3 for £7 from a list... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We went here for our anniversary in December. We really liked the feel of the restaurant but the food was only very average, although the waiting staff were very friendly but messed up our drink order and then when we got the bill one of round of drinks from the table next to us had been added to our bill.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

Hello Sally Thank you for your review. It's great that you like the atmosphere of the Restaurant, but sadly thought the food was only average. I appreciate your feedback and realise that the food may not suit all tastes, but we do have some brilliant reviews on the food. I would be interested to hear what dishes you had, as... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Booked for works outing 2 month in advance yet still had to wait 2 hours to be seated. food ok but nothing special and seems all meals in Cuba must be covered in garlic?.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have referred this to the Manager who has confirmed we have not had any long delays in seating large groups of people over the Christmas period. Also we do not have the space to accommodate a large party for two hours to wait for a table. I therefore cannot make any further comments regarding... More 

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Visited qubana last week with a friend. They very kindly squeezes us in at short notice. The place was packed and they were turning customer away from the door so always a good sign. So I was hopeful. To be fair I was not disappointed. Atmosphere was good, there was a very good mix of customers including some very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

What a wonderful start to the New year. Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and have passed your compliments onto the staff. The steak night on a Monday is actually £12.00 per person, and does include a small glass of wine/lager, starter and steak. We also offer Early bird, Monday to... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here with my wife and in a group from work on a number of occasions and have always found it to be good value for money. It isn't authentic Cuban - others do that much better but the cuisine is good and competent, even if it is a little predictable. On my last visit, we had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. It is always great to have some positive feedback. The Restaurant is very busy at this time of year but I am so pleased you felt that the service was not affected by this. I have passed your comments onto the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

It's a couple of years since i was last year & remember the tapas being great. Went here with a few girls on Wednesday night & was a bit disappointed in the food. Ordered a sharing board which was nice, and then a selection of various tapas. Meat balls were dry, Chorizo was in such tiny pieces, about 3 prawns,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you were disappointed with some of the Tapas dishes. Your feedback has been passed to the head chef who will certainly look into this. As a Cuban/Spanish restaurant we do try out best to provide tasty tapas dishes and I am very grateful that you have taken the time to highlight... More 

West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Had lovely food here last month with work friends, tapas was good, lovely atmosphere, although sat too close to the bar! We had to wait a while for some of our friends to turn up and the staff didn't hassle us to order which was nice. We went for the early bird which is a third off the food bill,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It's great to receive such positive feedback, Next time you dine with us, let us know your preferred table and we will try our best to accommodate you. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Qubana also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Qubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qubana

Address: 25 - 27 Northgate, Wakefield WF1 3BJ, England
Phone Number: 01924 299000
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
Open Hours:
Sunday 1:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisine: Tapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Qubana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?