We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbanks Beach cafe

$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
sandbanks road, Poole, England
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 172 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 38
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Nice location, average food

Stopped here for breakfast which wasn't too badly priced, as it's right on the beach it's a great location and the food is fine. It's pretty much canteen style quality but nothing to complain about, does what it says on the tin. Service was okay, if a bit slow.

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 28, 2015
bodiddly79
,
Warwickshire, England
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

Stopped here for breakfast which wasn't too badly priced, as it's right on the beach it's a great location and the food is fine. It's pretty much canteen style quality but nothing to complain about, does what it says on the tin. Service was okay, if a bit slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

So we visited as a family over the Bank Holiday weekend on the Sunday morning for breakfast. The inside was pretty empty and a couple of people with dogs in tow were seated outside. My daughter (10 months old) was asleep in her pushchair so assuming this was a family friendly restaurant we thought this would be no issue at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

I believe you have the wrong venue. We are a self service operation and do not have front of house staff. We are child friendly and welcome children with or without buggies. We do not allow dogs inside the cafe and hope you will pay us a visit More 

corby
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Been here two or three times, overlooks the beach, cakes are very tasty and the coffees not bad either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

£3.65 for full breakfast in the week, bargain! Not!! Ordered full English, but no beans and wanted mushrooms as an extra, for £1, that's okay... out came my breakfast, with beans and no mushrooms! Waitress took plate away, came back 5 mins later with no beans. Apparently they didn't charge the £1 for the mushrooms so I can't have them!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. Our £3.95 Full English breakfast offer is specific to 2 slices of bacon, sausage, egg, beans, tomato and toast but unfortunately does not include mushrooms. However, i would like to assure you that we are continually trying to improve our offer and value all customer feedback to help us achieve this More 

Weston Super Mare
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Visited for coffee and cakes on 28 April. Premises and surroundings fantastic. Staff need training in customer services. Not one smile or peasantry from anyone. Drinks almost thrown a Ross counter. Kitchen staff observed eating in kitchen, a define no no.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

We are naturally concerned to read your comments as our staff are a happy and professional bunch. Our aim is that every customer enjoys a good level of customer service and we are sorry that you found your experience disappointing More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Great location overlooking the beach, we were lucky to be there on a sunny day in April. Fish and chips were well cooked, well presented and good value. Nice with a chilled Peroni. Toilet facilities were immaculate, the whole place was spotless. Nearby car park is pricey, free parking is available on many residential streets within walking distance if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. A lovely review thank you. Perhaps you'll pop in again next time you are in the area. More 

Kent, UK
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Visited for lunch on a Saturday in April. Had excellent fish & chips - super-light batter and perfectly cooked fish, lovely crisp chips. The view is fab and the large car-park right near by makes it easy to visit. Staff were pleasant and the food came out promptly after ordering. No complaints from me! My only slight complaint would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and posting your generous comments. We are glad you enjoyed your fish and chips and hope you will come back to try something else from our menu soon More 

manchester (uk)
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The food is ok and of a reasonable price given its location. I visited during off season and it was still busy so I assume during high season it will be very busy as it is not a big place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

A nice cafe on the Sandbanks beach, a lovely place to take in the lovely place Sandbanks is, when I visited it was very quiet but I can imagine once the summer season approaches this place will be mobbed. They had a varied menu and the prices seemed fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and posting your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Stopped her for the smallest worst full english breakfast i have ever had, eggs were raw bacon has been in a dish on the hotplate for hours... paid almost £30 for a full english, bacon sandwich and 2 coffees.. Will never be stopping here again.Dozy employees that just followed each other around like sheep ready to pounce on a empty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

We are naturally concerned to read your comments and that your were disappointed with your visit All our food is cooked fresh every morning and our eggs, to order. However ,it appears from your review that you have been overcharged and i would ask that you contact us direct so that we can try and sort this out with you. More 

Travelers who viewed Sandbanks Beach cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sandbanks Beach cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: sandbanks road, Poole, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Poole

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 14

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandbanks Beach cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Poole, Dorset
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandbanks Beach cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?