We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbanks Beach cafe

$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
sandbanks road, Poole, England
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 168 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Ok food in a great location

The food is ok and of a reasonable price given its location. I visited during off season and it was still busy so I assume during high season it will be very busy as it is not a big place.

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 25, 2015
jason r
,
manchester (uk)
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston Super Mare
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

Visited for coffee and cakes on 28 April. Premises and surroundings fantastic. Staff need training in customer services. Not one smile or peasantry from anyone. Drinks almost thrown a Ross counter. Kitchen staff observed eating in kitchen, a define no no.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

We are naturally concerned to read your comments as our staff are a happy and professional bunch. Our aim is that every customer enjoys a good level of customer service and we are sorry that you found your experience disappointing More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Great location overlooking the beach, we were lucky to be there on a sunny day in April. Fish and chips were well cooked, well presented and good value. Nice with a chilled Peroni. Toilet facilities were immaculate, the whole place was spotless. Nearby car park is pricey, free parking is available on many residential streets within walking distance if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. A lovely review thank you. Perhaps you'll pop in again next time you are in the area. More 

Kent, UK
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Visited for lunch on a Saturday in April. Had excellent fish & chips - super-light batter and perfectly cooked fish, lovely crisp chips. The view is fab and the large car-park right near by makes it easy to visit. Staff were pleasant and the food came out promptly after ordering. No complaints from me! My only slight complaint would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and posting your generous comments. We are glad you enjoyed your fish and chips and hope you will come back to try something else from our menu soon More 

manchester (uk)
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The food is ok and of a reasonable price given its location. I visited during off season and it was still busy so I assume during high season it will be very busy as it is not a big place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

A nice cafe on the Sandbanks beach, a lovely place to take in the lovely place Sandbanks is, when I visited it was very quiet but I can imagine once the summer season approaches this place will be mobbed. They had a varied menu and the prices seemed fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and posting your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Stopped her for the smallest worst full english breakfast i have ever had, eggs were raw bacon has been in a dish on the hotplate for hours... paid almost £30 for a full english, bacon sandwich and 2 coffees.. Will never be stopping here again.Dozy employees that just followed each other around like sheep ready to pounce on a empty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

We are naturally concerned to read your comments and that your were disappointed with your visit All our food is cooked fresh every morning and our eggs, to order. However ,it appears from your review that you have been overcharged and i would ask that you contact us direct so that we can try and sort this out with you. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We moved to Dorset recently and were just driving around trying out a few places. Having read some of the negative reviews I almost decided not to bother with this cafe, but actually it was fine. The location is fantastic, right on the beach, and it was a lovely day so we were able to sit outside. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we appreciate your comments. We continually strive to improve on our offer and value all customer feedback to help us achieve this. More 

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Over £6 for two very poor hot chocolates. I kind of expected higher prices for Sandbanks but the quality was poor and the staff have to be the most miserable I have been served by for years. Everything was an effort and they all looked as miserable as sin. If this is what they are like on a relatively quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Obviously we do not want customers to have cause to complain, however when things are not quite right we take all kinds of feedback on board, so that we can try to deal with the problem. We sell lots of hot chocolate this time of year and would have been more than happy to change it for you. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

went for morning coffee and at £3.50 was hoping it was going to be good but it wasn't. real shame as the view and parking are perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review the cafe. Our coffee is made from freshly ground beans and we get lots of compliments from our regular customers. Obviously, there are occasions when we have problems with our machines but please do tell us if your coffee is not right and we will be happy to change it for... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Wow this place is a wonderful find, the customer service is fantastic, the food is amazing best beach food ever in this country, lovely homemade cakes an scones, I would definitely recommend this place for family's. The Waltons

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Wow what a great review. We love it. Kind regards to you and your family from the team and come back and see us again soon More 

Travelers who viewed Sandbanks Beach cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sandbanks Beach cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: sandbanks road, Poole, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Poole

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 14

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandbanks Beach cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Poole, Dorset
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandbanks Beach cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?