We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbanks Beach cafe

$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
sandbanks road, Poole, England
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 178 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 44
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Motorbike ride out

Fab location right opposite the beach food is very good if a little expensive but that's the location its a lovely place lots to do

3 of 5 starsReviewed June 14, 2015
MattEdwards2014
,
Maldon, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

Visited on the 1st July. We knew they didn't open til 10am, WAKE UP Poole Council, this is a holiday destination and you advertise breakfasts! We asked to enter 15 minutes early as staff sitting around on Terrence and in Cafe, but told we couldn't. WAKE UP! However when we were allowed to enter at 10 am not one minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

Local to us but first time we have eaten anything other than scones! We had the fish and chips and burger and chips, really lovely food and great service. Only niggle I would have but wouldn't stop me going again would be portion size in relation to cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Great food and excellent location. Stopped off here several times over the past few years. Excellent service cakes are lovely service excellent and with a smile. Scones and coffee or a full meal. Clean and tidy the staff are quik to clean up any mess. Well worth a visit. Gordon & Julie Bournemouth

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Fab location right opposite the beach food is very good if a little expensive but that's the location its a lovely place lots to do

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Went for a breakfast ,place nice and clean welcoming staff ,food was average but not expensive terrific position. Good coffee,you get what you pay for everything edible so that's how it is,would return

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Fabulous location, great homemade cakes and scones a great place to go summer and winter. I think they do a seniors meal deal in the week as there seem to be a lot of older people at certain times. Some things quite pricey but usually good quality. It's self service with a large indoor and outdoor area. It's licenced with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Stopped here for breakfast which wasn't too badly priced, as it's right on the beach it's a great location and the food is fine. It's pretty much canteen style quality but nothing to complain about, does what it says on the tin. Service was okay, if a bit slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

So we visited as a family over the Bank Holiday weekend on the Sunday morning for breakfast. The inside was pretty empty and a couple of people with dogs in tow were seated outside. My daughter (10 months old) was asleep in her pushchair so assuming this was a family friendly restaurant we thought this would be no issue at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

I believe you have the wrong venue. We are a self service operation and do not have front of house staff. We are child friendly and welcome children with or without buggies. We do not allow dogs inside the cafe and hope you will pay us a visit More 

corby
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Been here two or three times, overlooks the beach, cakes are very tasty and the coffees not bad either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

£3.65 for full breakfast in the week, bargain! Not!! Ordered full English, but no beans and wanted mushrooms as an extra, for £1, that's okay... out came my breakfast, with beans and no mushrooms! Waitress took plate away, came back 5 mins later with no beans. Apparently they didn't charge the £1 for the mushrooms so I can't have them!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sue b, Public Relations Manager at Sandbanks Beach cafe, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. Our £3.95 Full English breakfast offer is specific to 2 slices of bacon, sausage, egg, beans, tomato and toast but unfortunately does not include mushrooms. However, i would like to assure you that we are continually trying to improve our offer and value all customer feedback to help us achieve this More 

Travelers who viewed Sandbanks Beach cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sandbanks Beach cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Beach cafe

Address: sandbanks road, Poole, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Poole
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 6 - 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: sandbanks road, Poole, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Poole

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 14

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandbanks Beach cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Poole, Dorset
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandbanks Beach cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?