We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roaring Meg Harvester

London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
01438 743391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 107 restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    16
    37
    23
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Very busy Saturday afternoon, food was good but not enough staff so service was very slow. Bar was also busy and the white wine was not chilled. Barman offered to put ice cubes in the wine, which we declined.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments. More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The starters and free salad bar were great, can't fault it but the quality of the mains were a little disappointing, I ordered the steak sandwich, nowhere on the description did it mention the steak would be smothered in Mexican type spices and red pepper and onions and the bread that it is served in was just ridiculous! the sloppy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Front Office Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this. More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Was pleased with the service was told about the salad bar and had my order taken as soon as we were ready.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Your positive feedback is very encouraging, and the staff here love to hear when they have done a good job. We have replied to you personally to thank you for taking the time to let us know. More

Bishops Stortford
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We called in mid evening on a Sunday. The service was good, but one of the meals, the chicken was not that well cooked, the other was cooked well. It was not up to the usual Harvester standard, so may decide to go elsewhere in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As always a pleasant lunch and the staff were very friendly and helpful the food was cooked lovely and the salad bar as always the highlight of the visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We have replied to you personally as we were so pleased to see your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It means a lot to all the staff, as the aim here is always to ensure that our guests enjoy their visits. More

Baldock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This restaurant is not in nicest of locations but the interior decor is very nice for the where it is situated, The temperature was great inside as it was a hot day out. There is a very nice salad bar which seemed to be replenished regularly. The food was quick to come out I ordered a Chicken Burger and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

May we thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally. More

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very slow service, food ok - had to track down our waiter twice once to ask if we could order sweets and again to pay where he disappeared from sight with my credit card, got up after a few minutes to find him. Customer should not let their cards out of sight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right. More

herts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great meal at the Stevenage Harvester would recommend this one, have the ribs they are really delicious. Salad always fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. More

letchworth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food always a pleasant welcome . Clean and easy to move around staff helpful, Friendly pub atmosphere pleasant. Always a nice time in this pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Do not eat here. The plates are dirty, the crockery is dirty. The whole place needs a deep clean. Dirty Dirty Dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Travelers who viewed The Roaring Meg Harvester also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Roaring Meg Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roaring Meg Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing