We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roaring Meg Harvester

$$
British, Grill, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
01438 743391
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour...
At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Breakfast

Not impressed with the quality and quantity of food, sausages burned, eggs small and broken, not good quality, staff helpful but overworked, this resteraunt is what can happen when proffit are chased over quality

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 1, 2015
Alan S
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 NEW

After my previous review i was contacted directly by restaurant and sent an apology email that got my my name wrong and promised to send me an E- voucher for ...........................£10 to make me feel better!! Wouldn't cover a round of drinks!! Well the email with the e voucher never turned up, I sent a mail to customer service with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

My husband and I popped in here as we were nearby and remember having a good meal here a few years ago, unfortunately things have changed. We were left waiting for a table for at least 5 minutes completely ignored by the staff walking past. On being seated the table was dirty with sticky sauce over one side, so had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your visit to Harvester The Roaring Meg and we have replied to you personally about this. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Staff were rushing around like headless chickens. Food was cold and food was rotten. New potatoes were black bits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the recent visit you had at Harvester The Roaring Meg was not as good as you would have expected. We want all our guests to be satisfied and we always welcome your feedback. We have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

We have been to Harvesters for breakfast before and been quite happy, but we won't be coming back here again. We waited around 25 minutes for our hot food and some items were missing. There were no cups or glasses available and very little bread for toast. The continental buffet wasn't anywhere near as varied as in other locations (no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester The Roaring Meg. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help up to achieve this. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Not impressed with the quality and quantity of food, sausages burned, eggs small and broken, not good quality, staff helpful but overworked, this resteraunt is what can happen when proffit are chased over quality

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

My family and I went there at lunchtime today for the first time in a year (after a previous poor experience) as we were hoping it had improved so we could take my son (for his 18th birthday) and our wider family for a meal there in a few weeks. I'm saddened to say that we were once more disappointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Come here quite often and always enjoy a lovely meal. The food is always great, and the staff very pleasant. You can't get better value foor money than the £9.99 meal deal, an absolute bargain and is totally yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Walked in to this aging building that once maybe had some pride... Waited for 5 minutes for someone to attend us then to be told we would have to wait 15 mins to be seated. Thank God! In this 15 mins wait I wandered past kitchen on the way to the toliet. I was shocked at the state of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Friday night, the children's were on holiday, I forgot, noise and so busy. A short wait before the table was ready, I ordered a chicken bby meal, put it this way I have had far much better, it was over cooked and very dry and actually tasteless. I never complained but I should have, but considering the waitress was running... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you left disappointed following your meal at Harvester The Roaring Meg. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best experience possible. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Went for breakfast - absolutely disgusting. Bacon salty in the extreme, eggs overcooked however you have them, tomatoes uncooked, sausages burned. Despite advertised as unlimited they ran out of bread before we had opportunity to have any, ran out of coffee due to lack of attention by staff - waited an eternity (15 minutes) for both before requesting the bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right. More 

Travelers who viewed The Roaring Meg Harvester also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Roaring Meg Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: 01438 743391

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 23
  • Cuisine: British, Grill, Family Fare

Description

At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Roaring Meg Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?