We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roaring Meg Harvester

$$
British, Grill, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
01438 743391
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour...
At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 172 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 40
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good but poor service

Food is lovely wish there was one on hertford! Had the fish and chips excellent value and great portion. Salad bar sometimes lacks and the rolls are indestructible! ! Manager was great when dealing with a query. Staff are less attentive and seem some me what disinterest in the job in hand... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
jack91saunders
,
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Takeout
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

The decor is old and tired, the restaurant desperately needs updating!! We waited an hour for our table, then 49 mins for food to arrive. Quality was not good at all! Save your money and don't bother with this place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Food is lovely wish there was one on hertford! Had the fish and chips excellent value and great portion. Salad bar sometimes lacks and the rolls are indestructible! ! Manager was great when dealing with a query. Staff are less attentive and seem some me what disinterest in the job in hand. Thankfully the food brings me back hopefully staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn garden city
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The food is excellently priced and therefore some leeway is allowed concerning the quality, starter and pudding were excellent, the extremely helpful waitress told us the menu was new and therefore some puddings weren't available, she did her best to help us and is truly an asset to the business Salad bar was well stocked however the sides could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Busy Sunday afternoon rang for a takeaway and personally wasn't expecting too much. At £20 to feed a family of four it is the same price as KFC or Favorite Fried Chicken in town and both are not at all good for food. We were given a selection of chicken pieces, chips and a choice of bottled drinks opted for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Last Tuesday my friend and I had a day out as a birthday treat, late afternoon we decided to go for something to eat. Recently I had tried the Harvester in Milton Keynes and it was excellent. However, this was a totally different experience. Firstly, the salad bar was totally depleted and there were no bread rolls. I ordered BBQ... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I held my wedding lunch in here ,it's brilliant very friendly and helpful,great value for meals very hot too .they even move tables for bigger party's .my friends loved the way our lunch was served and I go back each September for a special meal .plus weekends to for dinner ,very welcoming .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback and we have sent you a personal response. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Went on mother's day for the first time. Had a wonderful experience in the service by the staff. I will come back and will recommend to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you were happy with your recent visit. We will reply to you personally, as all the feedback we receive really helps us to ensure that our guests are not disappointed. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This hillbilly restaurant is a joke! The food was disgusting and the pineapple in my burger still had the skin on it! It was cold and horrible and the bun was soggy. The chips looked like they were straight out of a chip shop and tasted disgusting. The salad bar was a shamble! There was hardly anything there and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you left disappointed following your meal at Harvester The Roaring Meg. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best experience possible. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Arrived here just before 9am and there were already people waiting, we had heard the breakfasts were good quality and value. We were seated by a friendly waitress and our order was taken by Billy- really helpful and friendly. We went for the £4.99 cooked & continental breakfast and added the £2.25 drink deal. The drinks available were tea, coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

What a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and we will be contacting you personally. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

It was OK, nothing remarkable, but OK. When we got the right order it was OK, fortunately it was not too busy and when the food arrived it was OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvester The Roaring Meg. More 

Travelers who viewed The Roaring Meg Harvester also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Roaring Meg Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: 01438 743391

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 22
  • Cuisine: British, Grill, Family Fare

Description

At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Roaring Meg Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?