We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roaring Meg Harvester

$$
British, Grill, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
01438 743391
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour...
At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 189 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 27
    Poor
  • 46
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Dinner

Visit here earlier this week. It is what you pay for, cheap food! Our waitress was friendly and was very busy so at times it was hard to get her attention but she was always polite. The salad cart as always was being re stocked so there were a few items missing that took a while to reappear. We... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 15, 2015
Rosie_2209
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stbalbans
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

My last review resulted in harvester contacting me asking for me to email them directly. I did this but did not get a reply. We called into harvester today, bit reluctant after the last visit, but it was convenient and we needed something quick. Shown to a table by a lovely waitress who was lovely throughout our visit. My previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Well thank you to the Harvester in Stevenage. After an hour and half wait you win the award for the worst meal ever served. Stale cold chips& meat . Stone cold jacket potato and peas and missing food for the main plates. I will never go there again. Service was terrible took 20 mins + just to get a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Having visited a load of times before hand over the course of the year or so i must say this 1 visit seems to stick out far more than the rest as it seems to have gone down hill big time , the bar area is good until you step up for your table where there is more food on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Sadly not up to the standard of some harvesters I have visited. Wait ok, but lots of tables empty. They seemed to be short staffed, waiter ok and pleasant and efficient but food not great. Steak was tough and chips not their usual lovely seasoned fries. Missing my onion rings. Tables and cutlery grubby, floor a mess. Condiments on tables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Visit here earlier this week. It is what you pay for, cheap food! Our waitress was friendly and was very busy so at times it was hard to get her attention but she was always polite. The salad cart as always was being re stocked so there were a few items missing that took a while to reappear. We tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

As there was a new menu and one or two different things on it, we thought we would give it a try. In the end it turned out to be a bit disappointing. When it came to it, there was little that seemed very different although I was pleased to see that corn on the cob did not feature as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

we went for a colleagues retirement dinner because she had been before and had enjoyed it. Well it certainly has changed it turned out to be very embarrassing for her.when seated we were given a long list of what was not available .the portions were small and the steak and chicken were very dry. Unbelievably the bar had no gin.and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

After my previous review i was contacted directly by restaurant and sent an apology email that got my my name wrong and promised to send me an E- voucher for ...........................£10 to make me feel better!! Wouldn't cover a round of drinks!! Well the email with the e voucher never turned up, I sent a mail to customer service with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

My husband and I popped in here as we were nearby and remember having a good meal here a few years ago, unfortunately things have changed. We were left waiting for a table for at least 5 minutes completely ignored by the staff walking past. On being seated the table was dirty with sticky sauce over one side, so had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your visit to Harvester The Roaring Meg and we have replied to you personally about this. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Staff were rushing around like headless chickens. Food was cold and food was rotten. New potatoes were black bits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Roaring Meg Harvester, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the recent visit you had at Harvester The Roaring Meg was not as good as you would have expected. We want all our guests to be satisfied and we always welcome your feedback. We have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Roaring Meg Harvester also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Roaring Meg Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: London Road, Stevenage SG1 1XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: 01438 743391

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 23
  • Cuisine: British, Grill, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

At The Roaring Meg Harvester in Stevenage food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stevenage, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Knebworth, Aston End and Todd's Green, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Roaring Meg Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?