We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brook Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
+44 1473 730531
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children
Description: Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in...
Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 130 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 89
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Just Brill!

Homemade Pulled Pork, Beef Roast, Slow Roasted Belly of Pork, Chorizo, Bean & Chicken Stew…. Just a few dishes our group had. All gluten free too which my partner was happy about. She was in food heaven having tried a little of everyone’s meal…As a Coeliac she is not confident eating out, but here... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Toby T
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Homemade Pulled Pork, Beef Roast, Slow Roasted Belly of Pork, Chorizo, Bean & Chicken Stew…. Just a few dishes our group had. All gluten free too which my partner was happy about. She was in food heaven having tried a little of everyone’s meal…As a Coeliac she is not confident eating out, but here she is. The Yorkshire puds were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toby T
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Toby. Thanks for the kind review after your visit to the Brook with your partner. Pleased we ticked all the boxes, do come again soon - Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our party of 10 had a great night at the Brook on Thursday, listening to three very talented buskers and eating delicious chilli!! Can't wait for the next busker evening in February.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments Lindsay - come again next month on the 11th? More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great evening, good food the Chilli was wonderful and the Pub was buzzing. The four Buskers made a great sound and played a variety of numbers both old and new. Anyone who didnt come missed out on a great evening. Look out for the next one in February.

Helpful?
Thank burlcharlottes
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Cheers for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the Buskers night at the Brook Inn. We're holding another one on the 11th February so do come along again More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

The First menu ever, in 24years, which had a fantastic choice of dishes ( including, staters, mains and desserts!) which were gluten free or could be made gluten free! No more feeling like an outsider as there was only one main dish, which was a game pie, which was not gluten free! And none of the rubbery tasteless gf stuff,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo J
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jo - thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Brook Inn...do come again soon, kind regards Ian Evans More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Excellent car parking facilities .food not excellent but tasty disappointed no batters served with the chicken roast and no Guinness available. .now off my wish list..but others may fine it worth a few more stars than I clocked. ..

Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Anthony - thanks for writing a review of your experiences at the Brook Inn. While I'm pleased you liked the car park we'd rather you liked the food, drink and ambience more. Did you speak to the manager at the time about the food and lack of batter? We're always interested in feedback both good and constructive, kind regards... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Not only was the food great the service excellent you all did a magnificent job as there was 17 of us with all different choices, we were all made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank Rosalind G
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rosalind - thanks for the kind review and I'm pleased you enjoyed the 70th birthday party at the Brook. Do come back for the 71st or any other celebration for that matter. Kind regards Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

Excellent midweek lunch. Very varied menu to suit many tastes and a choice of smaller portions for those like my wife who do not eat large meals. My only slight disappointment is the lack of carpet and curtains which seems to be the current fashion. The result is when it is busy the hubbub of conversation is very loud. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael N
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael - thanks for the review and the kind words about the food. Sorry about the lack of a carpet and curtains...we do have blinds in the pub but we took a decision not to lay another carpet after our January refurbishment because the previous smelt after the amount of food and beer spilt on it. Hope it doesn't... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

We were staying in Ipswich and wanted a pub meal. Trip advisor led us to the Brook. Staff are charming and the chef pops out to see how people are getting on. The food was well cooked and the specials board offered choices like duck and cherry sauce. My steak was excellent. I'm sue if we lived nearby we would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul - thanks for taking the time to write a review, always appreciated. Hopefully you'll return soon...it's not that far along the A14! Thanks again, Ian Evans More 

Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

This pub is a real gem offering gluten free food that is safe and carefully prepared. The staff are very knowledgeable about gluten free requirements--which is very reassuring. Tucking into my first fish & chips in 16 years was a mouthwatering experience, and one that I repeated several times during my family visiting stay in Suffolk. Knowing that the food... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HelenF2013
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Helen - thanks again for writing a review of your experiences at the Brook Inn. Come again soon...just a shame you live so far away! Kind regards Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

The food was fantastic, and the staff where very helpful and accomodating. I have an autoimmune disease and unable to eat certain foods. I was happy to eliminate the foods from the meal, the chief personally came out without knowing why I was eliminating the foods and asked if he could give me other foods in its place. He was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise311
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Louise and thanks for taking the time to write the review. Pleased you liked the food and service so please do come again soon - cheers, Ian Evans More 

Travelers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Tuddenham, Ipswich
 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730531

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 20
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?