We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alaturka

9 Great Colman Street, Ipswich IP4 2AA, England
+44 1473 233448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 318 restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $76
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    166
    57
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW via mobile

Another wonderful evening at alaturka. Been several times and never disappointed. The food was yummy . . I had the meze and vegetable moussaka and although im not a vegetarian it is nice to have a non meat dish now and then. Would highly recommend a visit :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Alaturka. We really appreciate all our reviews and it is great to know that our customers respond positively to the hard work we do here. Our mousakka is prepared to order so is always very fresh and many of our customers choose it, not just the vegetarians! We are currently working on... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

We visited the restaurant on July 26th to see the belly dancing. I was impressed initially as the restaurant had called to see whether we would like to watch the dancing so that they could seat us this area. When we arrived we ordered drinks and in amongst this was 2 gin and tonics, when it arrived the lady said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your visit and feedback. We can only apologise for what you experienced at Alaturka. The waitress concerned generally receives excellent feedback from our diners, but on this occasion we are very sorry that you were not satisfied, and we understand why this is. Thank you for bringing your family and for getting up and dancing –... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

I chose this through reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The service was charming and helpful, although we did have to ask where our main course was after a long time - several big parties to cope with. The food was very nice although not exceptional and the bill more or less what we were expecting Central London... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all our feedback very seriously. Many of our main courses contain chicken or lamb which is cooked over charcoal in our kitchen, and our excellent chef makes sure that he takes the time and care with every dish to ensure it is prepared to perfection. We are glad you enjoyed your visit overall... More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

4 of us from Worcester were on a weekend break in Ipswich and were told about this nice little Turkish restaurant. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel at home. The staff quickly found us our table and we were soon looking at the varied menu enjoying cold beers and wine. The menu caters for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

We’re really glad you enjoyed your visit to Alaturka. We do have several vegan dishes on our menu and we have a printed vegan menu which is available on request. With regards to air conditioning, we are now looking in to installing a permanent system. It only gets very hot in the restaurant for a short time in the summer... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A fantastic evening - on arrival greeted with a very warm welcome- a very hot evening but fan was placed near table to try and keep us cool- staff attentive and chatty which was great. The food was fantastic- very fresh- well presented - and tasted lovely. Would really recommend you finish your evening with a raki which was served... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are very pleased to have your fantastic feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our Raki, the traditional after dinner liqueur. It has become very popular with our customers. We hope you come back and enjoy some more Turkish food with us soon! Best regards, Team Alaturka More

Beijing, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went as a large group and the lady at the door was very accommodating for us... She gave our group great recommendations on what to order and she and the other staff were brilliant throughout our meal. Absolutely beautiful starter mezze that we shared- I would definitively recommend this! The whole menu was appealing and hard to choose from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Alaturka, we really appreciate it. We love to share our knowledge of the food with our customers because we feel it can really make a difference to the dining experience, especially for diners who have not tried a lot of Turkish food before! We loved having you at the restaurant and look forward... More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We knew about this restaurant but had not previously visited, big mistake! Managed to book a table for dinner at short notice on Saturday night and had a lovely evening, good Turkish beer and wine, and very good Turkish food we only managed a few starters and a main course each, we will have to wait till next time to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback; it was a pleasure serving you. We are glad you enjoyed our traditional Turkish beer and wine, which hopefully created an all-round traditional Turkish experience for you, when accompanied with the food and decoration. We greatly look forward to the next time you dine with us, hopefully with room saved for dessert,... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Another fantastic meal, have been to Alaturka on several occasions and have never been disappointed with meals, Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere, service fast but not pushy and love the complimentary Olive and breads. Have recommended Alaturka to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thanks for such positive feedback; Team Alaturka is delighted to know you had such a good experience. Thank you again for the comments on the friendly atmosphere, we feel Team Alaturka is only part of the reason for this atmosphere; it is also created by our wonderful customers, such as yourselves whom are always a pleasure to serve. We are... More

Ipswich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I ate here for the first time on a Saturday after hearing good things about it. We had a reservation, arrived before most diners, and there were only 4 of us, but it took half an hour for our order to be taken and 1.5 hours to be served our mains - we didn't get to eat til 9.30 which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

I can only apologise for what you experienced on Saturday night. On that particular evening we had a large amount of diners ordering at the same time, which meant the kitchen was not able to perform as productively as it normally would. However, we understand there is no excuse for us in not meeting your expectations. As a result of... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

14 of us arrived to a wonderful welcome and great attention. Everything was explained clearly, and no quibbles about giving extra olives or bread. We had a choice from a set menu. The person who was eating gluten free products was very well catered for and complimented that the restaurant was willing to meet their needs. Even the person who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback, we were more than happy to accommodate for the dietary needs of your party. We are aware of the importance of our customers dietary requirements and have created separate menus for non-gluten, onion free, dairy free, as well as a host of other dietary needs, to ensure our customers are well looked after. As well... More

Travelers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaturka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing