We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carmel Bistro

17 Craig y Don Parade | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
+44 1492 877643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 156 restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $31
Cuisines: British, Bistro
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    120
    7
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW via mobile

We stayed at the hotel and ate at the restaurant on the night that the two below reviewers were there. We can confirm that the managements response to both reviews is 100% correct and we can add that whilst the management was out of the room the couple were discussing how they were going to attempt to get a free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Cant recommend to anyone, not great experience at all. Food was not nice, owner's attitude is wrong. My answer is 100% no.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neilpond, Owner at The Carmel Bistro, responded to this review

This review has been posted by, the Partner of the previous reviewer.....!! More

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

MICROWAVE FOOD! Please be aware of it! Nobody will ask you how you prefer your steak - their steaks are only well done or medium well cooked - this is a good proof that food is prepackaged. French fries....- its a shame for a place with 5 stars reviews to serve frozen fries.. If you need more info - please... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Neilpond, Owner at The Carmel Bistro, responded to this review

Hi there, let's just get the FACTS straight shall we!! You arrived full of liquor, you ate everything we put in front of you, then stood up in front of the whole restaurant and stated " The food was horrid and if we presented you with a bill for payment, you would " Put a BAD review on Trip Advisor... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A lovely meal and brilliant service. My only complaint was that you encouraged my husband to buy a narrow boat which I still haven't heard the end of 😄 In all seriousness after spending a week on a narrowboat we just wanted some good food and a relaxing evening which is exactly what we got. I'm still trying to figure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Four of us went for a meal on Sat 31.05.14 and we all enjoyed the food, most of us had steak which was excellently cooked - we all like it on the rare side. There is a limited menu - choice of 3 starters, about 7 mains (4 of which are steak), with a set price for these two courses.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were so disappointed not to go here after I had rung and booked a table for four several days previously. On our arrival at our accommodation we were told the Bistro would not be doing meals that night. We had to make alternative arrangements at the last minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Neilpond, Owner at The Carmel Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer We are so sorry that we had to cancel your booking for this week. We did try to contact you on the number provided, hence the call to you accommodation. The reason we had to cancel was that we were undergoing extensive electrical work all that week. Unfortunately, on the day in question, due to the age of... More

Wirral UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Enjoyed a superb meal once again at the Carmel Bistro. Neil is a superb host and can't wait to go back there again. As we live in Llandudno and have tried many of the restaurants that we have here I can honestly recommend this gem of a restaurant to anyone who visits the area and is looking for an excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have eaten at the Bistro several times, and have never been disappointed. The food is wonderful, beautifully cooked and very reasonable with two courses for a set amount of £17.50, if I recall. The service is second to none and and Neil is an exceptional host . Thank you Gillian and Neil for several great nights. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our second visit to The Carmel, we had such a nice meal last time, that we decided to visit again and we weren't disappointed. The menu is limited, so you have to pretty much like everything. But for a unique and intimate dining experience, The Carmel is well worth a visit. The food is cooked to perfection and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We chose the Carmel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we're not disappointed. The service is friendly and helpful and although the menu is limited the quality of the food served is really good. Our steaks were delicious, the best we have eaten for years. I was a little hesitant about the wine selection - there isn't one, apart from by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Carmel Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Carmel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carmel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing