We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricketers Arms

Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
01323 870469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 305 restaurants in Eastbourne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
4 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    27
    33
    9
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

For most of us, a lazy afternoon relaxing under a shady tree in a garden full of old English flowers, the air filled with the sound of birdsong and the aroma of lavender, roses and honeysuckle would represent England at it's best, but throw in cooled ales and dressed crab salads and, for some of us, paradise beckons. Ok -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Second visit to Cricketers today en route to visiting my friends in Hastings. Never fail to be impressed by lovely setting of this pub and its picturesque appearance. However, feel pub relies on this for its business. Menu very standard and disappointing and a little dated. However, praise must go to the lovely young man who served us and indeed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The dishes were very tasty and well presented. The atmosphere was comfortable. The ale and cider hit both spots! Nice indoor or outdoor seating with lovely gardens and birds. A great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing report on our pub. We all think we have a little oasis just off the A27 and are pleased you feel the same. We work hard to deliver good local ale and source as much as our food locally as we are able. We hope to see you again soon. Many... More

Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stopped here after a hard days walking the South Downs Way, and it was a welcome oasis. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the ales were local and delivered from the cask rather than gassy and mass produced. We booked a table for the evening and enjoyed a lovely meal with plenty of choice, local produce and specials.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

I was very pleased to read your review of our pub, we spend a lot of time inside and out to make our pub an enjoyable place to spend some time and I am grateful that we have hit the mark. Hope to see you again during the summer Many thanks The Cricketers Arms More

Sussex
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited this very scenic pub for our Sons Birthday lunch and fathers day and although it was very busy we were quickly shown to our table and our meals were served without waiting very long. The food was attractively presented and plentiful and the service friendly and attentive without being intrusive. we all enjoyed our main and the desserts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable meal with us on Sunday but I am very sorry that you found the coffee not to your liking, if you had brought this to our attention at the time we would have refunded you the cost of it. Hopefully we... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I just wanted to thank the Cricketers for continuous great food, beer and service every time I visit! I live in London but often try to pop into the Cricketers when I come to visit friends in Sussex. It really is a great pub, with a brilliant garden and the best beer in the area! The staff are always very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your informative review and we are so pleased that you visit us when you are down in Sussex. Many thanks from all the staff The Cricketers Arms More

Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Limited menu but excellent standard of food and good size portions. Served quickly and efficiently. Very busy even mid week so book first. Not cheap but certainly good value for money, you can pay considerably more for a lot worse. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We are sorry that you didn't feel there was enough choice but we do have a small kitchen and feel quality is better than quantity. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards The Cricketers... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After a long cycle ride up the south downs, we stopped here for lunch. It had good outdoor seating. The food was very nice, everyone enjoyed it. And they had good beer and cider. Very good service! They also had the traditional Sussex game of toad in the hole, which we were allowed to take outside to play. This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear Gemma We were delighted to read your review and are very happy that you sampled our local beer and cider and also played a Toad in the Hole on our cottage garden. We hope to see you back again very soon. Kind regards The cricketers arms More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed a family, weekday lunch here. The food was fresh, generously portioned and pretty good value. My vegetarian salad with grilled vegetables and goats cheese was first class and came with delicious, warm bread. I also tasted the seafood platter which was varied and plentiful - albeit that the dressed crab was, to my taste, overly chilled which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear Richard I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Please can I just clarify that we have to keep the crabs in a chilled fridge and only take them out when the order is being prepared , so I am sorry if you found them a little cold. We are however very pleased that you enjoyed... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stopped by here to have a burger, it was late but we still managed to get our order in. A very disappointing choice on the menu though, as there were only three items on the board, one was a veggie option, the other one a fish option and finally a house burger option. I didn't really fancy any of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear sir I do find your rant about our burger very upsetting and completely untrue If you had taken the time to look you would have seen that the Fish dish, burger and vegetarian option were the three main meals we had on our specials board, we also have a very extensive bar menu, which is displayed on every table... More

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers Arms also viewed

Polegate, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricketers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing