We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cricketers Arms

Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
01323 870469
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #119 of 293 restaurants in Eastbourne
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Most recent review
- Apr 17, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    22
    27
    7
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Polegate
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 NEW

Well what a lovely picture postcard pub, that is where the niceness ends, went there with my husband and 4 yr old entered from the back garden, lovely sign as you enter CHILDREN ARE NOT PERMITTED IN THE BAR AREA UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE, well that made us a bit apprehensive but thought we would give it a go,dining area there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Having failed to get food at the nearby Sussex Ox we decided to try the Cricketers Arms instead. What a great choice. It was really busy, and the atmosphere was great - a mixture of families with young children, hikers, local couples, visitors etc all enjoying a decent pub lunch in the gorgeous countryside. The car park was overflowing. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful report, we are all very grateful that you took the time to write it. Yesterday was indeed a very busy day and we always strive to offer good service and wholesome food and it looks like we got it right for. Many thanks and we hope you have a very happy... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It was a bright sunny day and they were clearly busy as the carpark was overflowing and almost every outside table full however the staff were lovely! We managed to get a table in the garden and before long our food had arrived. Excellent value for money highly recommend the sausages they were delicious! Shall definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear Harriet Many thanks for your kind comments and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your meal at our pub. Our sausages are from a local butcher made especially for us with only high quality meat and we are pleased that you enjoyed them. On April 5th we will be rolling out our summer menu and will also be... More

Lewes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were a group of four walkers, for a Tuesday lunchtime it was moderately busy with all tables taken. Nice country pub with a good atmosphere and they serve Harveys real ale. The service was prompt and pleasant and the steak and ale pie was excellent. The only downside was the vegetable lasagne which whilst tasty, was too dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear Yachtmate Many thanks for your productive review of our pub. We are pleased that you enjoyed your steak and ale pies and I have passed your comments onto the chef. I have also advised him that although you found the lasagne to be very tasty you also found it rather dry and I apologise for this. We hope to... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I had lunch for the first time today on a glorious winter's Sunday. We really enjoyed the eclectic mix of patrons, fashion sense and numerous dogs. It was great to chill with good wine, open fires, nice food and people watch in a traditional pub. We liked it and will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for taking the time to write you review of the pub and we are pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the people watching, we hope to see you again very soon as the weather is getting warmer and our garden is beginning to blossom. Regards Claire More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The arrival of a big party of ravenous walkers at 3 in the afternoon would not be most landlords' idea of fun but Peter and his staff welcomed us with the most charming aplomb and served us huge plates of the most delicious Christmas menu food as if by magic. The atmosphere in the fire-lit room was delightful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your superb review of our pub and also for taking the time to send a lovely thank you card from you all. All the staff at The Cricketers take customer satisfaction very seriously and we are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves. Kind regards Claire More

Guildford UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Super little pub with a welcoming atmosphere and good food. Dog-friendly as well - in fact there were more dogs than people in there. The food is well prepared and hot and there is ample choice. My only one negative, and it is a small one, is that the filet steak was a little thin but that is a really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal.we have spoken to our Butcher to try and rectify the size of the fillet steaks but as they are all hand cut they don't always come out as a uniform size but the weight should all be the same. We roll out our summer menu... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

So disappointing... The crab corn and cod chowder has potatoes and corn... not much else. considering it had half a tin of corn and a potato in it.. it was very poor value at £6.50. The vegetable lasagne was glutinous and had potatoes in it. The rest of the menu was more suited to a poor quality cafe. No concern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but I felt compelled to reply as you have written a very scathing report on our pub. My husband was on duty on Sunday and he was told by the waitress that you had said the food was 'average' but all the plates were clean and there was no mention of you asking to see... More

Sutton England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is wonderful old pub dating back to 1790, very pretty with a gorgeous garden in front. Inside the pub is very quaint with lots of wonderful old Cricket memorabilia and a nice but very clean, old world feel to it. In addition to the usual range of beers they stock three excellent real ales from the pubs owners, Harveys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your time spent at our pub and that the food was to a good standard. We work very hard to source as much local produce as we can and are currently offering a variety or deals to entice our summer regulars to... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As mentioned in previous reviews, the Cricketers is a traditional English pub with real ales and low beams! We booked for a Saturday night and by 7.30pm it was packed. The pub was quite noisy, with a great atmosphere and obviously very popular though not a venue for a romantic meal for two (which is what we planned!!). Although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our pub, however we are sorry that you found your Spanish platter not value for money. We source all the ingredients for this from a local supplier who in turn buys it from Spain so all the ingredients ie manchego cheese, Palma ham, chorizo, balsamic onions, olives, sundried tomatoes etc are good quality and... More

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers Arms also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricketers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing