We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 316 Eastbourne Restaurants

The Cricketers Arms

Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
01323 870469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 316 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    10
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

Today my wife and I drove from London to visit a friend in Hastings, and then we headed west on the A27 towards Brighton. We saw a road sign for the Cricketers Arms, and then a signpost pointing down the lane (good idea!). We didn't know it was on the planet until then, so my review is completely honest. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Our favourite place to go for a pub meal. The food is generally very good (especially the banoffee pie) but we really go for the surroundings, which are the quintessential English countryside experience. In the summer there is a beautiful garden full of a variety of sweet smelling flowers and blossom throughout the season, many of the tables sit in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Even though we live in the area, we'd not been to this pub before, but how glad am I that we did! I had a really tasty pumpkin soup and my partner a traditional steak pie. Both were served by friendly staff. The little details were spot on and made what we planned to be a quick pub lunch much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Fancied a change from our local pub and wanted a pub that served food so thought we'd try The Cricketers Arms. Weather was pretty good for the time of year so we went to get some drinks and then we were going to get a table. So got served by a female member of staff. She asked for the money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your comments but regular visitors will testify that all our staff give exemplary service and are always polite to members of the public , we are really surprised about this comment and must question it's authenticity . Most people who are attracted to Trip Advisor take great satisfaction in leaving negative comments and don't realise how much... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been to the Cricketers Arms a number of times, as I have relatives living nearby. Aside from a nasty experience over 10 years ago, I've generally found the food to be nice, sometimes really nice and the staff to be friendly. My dog and I have always felt welcome whether sitting inside or out in the pretty garden. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Your comments are incorrect on many aspects, we open at 6pm midweek, as stated on our website, unfortunately for your party we were fully booked last night and we observe the licensing laws regarding children to the letter, there simply wasn't an area available to facilitate youngsters. There are many families who use the Cricketers and knowing the size and... More 

South Coast, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Across two visits we were very content, good Harveys Old and Bonfire Boy. Meat/hot sausage/cheese platters, great terrines, confidential duck, steak/kid pie - with good pickles/sauces/pastry and homemade cheesecakes deserve a mention. Glad I live locally, lucky to have them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your review and we are pleased that you have been satisfied with the food and drink served at our pub. We hope that you can find the time to visit us again shortly. Regards The Cricketers Team More 

Arequipa, Peru
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We entered this pub, dripping from a long, wet and windy walk along a South Downs ridge, and what a pleasant destination this proved to be - a true hostelry located in the time warp that is Berwick Village. We tucked into pints of beautiful, hoppy Harvey's Best Bitter of perfect, crystal clarity - as others have mentioned, it's drawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to write such a glowing report, we have received lots of praise from our customers re the winter menu on offer so we are very pleased you agree that there is something to please most people. We hope you can return again to see us very shortly. Regards The Cricketers Arms More 

East Sussex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited here with a relative from Canada. She was keen to sample an English roast dinner. Unfortunately this was not on the menu. The menu states 'traditional' pub. Therefore one would expect a roast, especially on a Sunday. There was a lack of vegetables too. I asked a member of staff who said they only serve roasts in the Winter.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Owner at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not able to sample our Sunday roast, maybe another time it would be prudent to phone up before you visit to make sure what we have on the menu what you require. We have been serving our Sunday roast since the beginning of October and we have received lots of compliments so hopefully you... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We visit this pub a lot especially to enjoy a fine pint of Harveys Best Bitter straight from the barrel. We often end up eating as there is always something to tempt us from the traditional pub menu or the 'specials board'. Never disappointed but this is not fine dining but traditional pub grub at its best! There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Manager at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoy frequenting our pub for our delicious food and local ale. We hope to see you again during the winter months. Regards The Cricketers Arms More 

Hassocks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

If you can brave this stretch of the dangerous and busy A27 it could be worth your journey. This little hostelry is tucked away in a country lane and has a garden with views of the downs to the east. Lots of outdoor seating for the enjoyment of a sunny day, and sensibly placed tables to retain garden character. Plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brown5, Manager at The Cricketers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us over the last 15 years, we must be doing something right. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the A27, but once you turn into the lane you are in a lovely hamlet with stunning scenery. We hope to see you again during the winter months when it's not quite as busy on the roads. Regards... More 

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers Arms also viewed

Polegate, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 
Milton Street, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers Arms

Address: Berwick Village, Eastbourne BN26 6SP, England
Phone Number: 01323 870469
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Eastbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cricketers Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?