We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DO & CO Stephansplatz

#180 of 2,906 Restaurants in Vienna
#194 of 3,042 Places to Eat in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood:
Inner City
International, Sushi, Pub, Asian fusion, Central European
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Stephansplatz 12 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
+43 1 5353969
Website
Add hours for DO & CO Stephansplatz and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Drinks, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The DO & CO Stephansplatz Restaurant is located on the top floor of the...
The DO & CO Stephansplatz Restaurant is located on the top floor of the hotel and there is no place more beautiful to relish life. The backdrop of Vienna's St. Stephen's cathedral and the culinary presentation seduce at highest standards. The savoury spices from Asia, the best of Sushi and Sashimi, the freshly caught fish and of course the classics of Viennese cuisine leave nothing to be desired.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 547 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 238
    Excellent
  • 174
    Very good
  • 86
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Best view of stephen church, great coffee, yummy cake, cute waiter...

It was a must do on my list. Amazing view on stephen church. I was lucky to have a seat although I did not book! I went there for afternoon coffee: a "melange" with a cake (cherry on "my cake" was the waiter, pleasant & cute :) )

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 21, 2015
Mame317
,
Ghana
via mobile
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Bar scene
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Go experience this place! Wonderful, up-close view of St. Stephen's cathedral. Top-notch service. The staff are so nice and friendly. You'll love this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Loved the restaurant, helpful service, superb food & wine. Nice outdoor terrace with stunning views. Worth a visit for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Yes the views are lovely and the restaurant is very pretty. However, I felt I was in some trendy, expensive restaurant in any large city. We found the food to be just okay, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear David E, thanks for taking your time to review our restaurant. We very sad to hear that we could not meet your expectations with our international menu. I can assure you that only highest quality ingredients are used and no efforts are spared to meet our high standards. We hope you consider visiting us again at your next stay... More 

Ghana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

It was a must do on my list. Amazing view on stephen church. I was lucky to have a seat although I did not book! I went there for afternoon coffee: a "melange" with a cake (cherry on "my cake" was the waiter, pleasant & cute :) )

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear Mame317, thank you very much for your review of our ONYX Bar. We are glad you enjoyed your typical Viennese Melange and your cake and of course the service of our staff. We hope to see you back anytime. Kind regards, the Team of Do & Co Stephansplatz More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The food will surprise you with quality, service is professional with the astonishing Stephans dom panorama on top! We went with couple of vip customers for a quick business lunch while in Vienna. All was a nice surprise in this restaurant on a sunny Friday. The menu was simple with couple of asian choices. Well prepared, clean and generous portions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear Martin A, thank you very much for you kind words. We are glad we could meet your expectations. We hope you consider our restaurant again for Business Lunch or Dinner. Kind regards, the team of DO & CO Stephansplatz More 

den bosch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We had lunch here at two different days. The first time we took the big sushi plate it was excellent, so we were so pleased and returned on sunday when it was crowded with Vienna residents. The same sushi plate was totally different in quality, so we could only eat less than half of it. When we asked for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear flyingdutchie, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our restaurant with us. We would like to apologize that the sushi platter did not meet the standard the second day you dined in our restaurant. I forwarded the comment to our head chef and we will make sure to avoid a mistake like this in the... More 

McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This is a wonderful restaurant on the top floor of the Do & Co., property. To start, we found the restaurant to be quite clean (including the bathrooms). You have the option of eating indoors or on the verandah overlooking the plaz and Dom. The choices of food are diverse, all of the dishes ordered by members of our table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear 22101, Thank you very much for taking your time to review our restaurant. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your food, the ambiance and the service. Cleanliness in a restaurant should go without saying and we are glad we could meet your expectations in this matter. Thank you very much as well for your nice review about DO... More 

Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

They place was dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned for the dinner the night before. There was no one there to take our order and we had to go up to the chef at the open kitchen to order. No one knew where the waitress was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear SuzTed, I am sorry to hear about your experience at our restaurant. Unfortunately I cannot respond properly to your complaint since you stated that you visited us in september 2014 which was about 6 months ago and it is hard for us to find out what went wrong back then. I hope you give us a second chance next... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Visited here on a Wednesday evening in March. You have to take a lift to the 6th floor. The staff are all very competent and helpful. I had a lobster for a main followed by a hazulnut meringue for dessert. Now. When I say small portions, I am not being barbaric, it's actually a good thing for me. I prefer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience in our restaurant. Our portion sizes are meant for guests to be able to finish it even after they had a starter. Your lobster is actually a whole lobster, out of the shell. I can tell you that we are among the restaurants with the... More 

Manchester
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This restaurant exceeds expectations. We came for a pre-show meal and it was superb. For starter I had caramalised figs, which were incredible. For mains I had lobster, which was so tender. When it first arrived, I thought there wasn't a lot on the plate but I was full after eating it so they did the job. Finally for desert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLDoCo, Manager at DO & CO Stephansplatz, responded to this review

Dear daveyh87, Thank you very much for your kind words. Our dishes sometimes look like a small portion indeed, which is mainly due to the fact that we use very big plates. The lobster is a whole Canadian lobster, out of shell. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our latest addition to the Aperitif-menu, the Pearini. We... More 

Travelers who viewed DO & CO Stephansplatz also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to DO & CO Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Stephansplatz 12 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
  • Location: Europe  >  Austria  >  Vienna Region  >  Vienna>  > Inner City
  • Neighborhood: Inner City
  • Phone Number: +43 1 5353969

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International, Sushi, Pub, Asian fusion, Central European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients

Description

The DO & CO Stephansplatz Restaurant is located on the top floor of the hotel and there is no place more beautiful to relish life. The backdrop of Vienna's St. Stephen's cathedral and the culinary presentation seduce at highest standards. The savoury spices from Asia, the best of Sushi and Sashimi, the freshly caught fish and of course the classics of Viennese cuisine leave nothing to be desired.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from DO & CO Stephansplatz staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Inner City

Neighborhood Profile
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera), Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral) and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’ former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the center. The Imperial Apartments and the refreshingly demystifying Sissi Museum are must-dos at Hofburg. Spacious squares such as Am Hof and Freyung often host beautiful seasonal and antiques markets.