We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Refugi Alpi

$$$
Latvian, Fondue
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Avinguda Meritxell, 73, Andorra la Vella AD500, Andorra
+376 808 100
Website
Add hours for El Refugi Alpi and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 367 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 154
    Very good
  • 72
    Average
  • 29
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Had a great meal

We stopped here for dinner on our last night in Andorra and were not disappointed. We had a cheese fondue and grilled meat on a hot stone both were exceptional. My only regret is that. I did not try the racelette. My daughter ordered off of the kids menu and had a nice pasta dish and the chicken... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 13, 2015
Nosneb1234
,
Barrie, Canada
Add Photo

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stopped here for dinner on our last night in Andorra and were not disappointed. We had a cheese fondue and grilled meat on a hot stone both were exceptional. My only regret is that. I did not try the racelette. My daughter ordered off of the kids menu and had a nice pasta dish and the chicken prices both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

thankyou very much to be in our restaurant More 

Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

On a Sunday in Andorra there aren't many choices for lunch... we finally went here and were pleasantly surprised by the food. Everything was delicious -- veggies, wine, raclette and chocolate fondue. It's true the waiters weren't very friendly - but the food was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

Thank you very much and see you soon More 

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

We were stupid enough to drop in for lunch in this restaurant despite all the negative comments we had read about it on TriAdvisor. Our encounter with the waiters and the guy who seemed to be in charge was really impressive though very short. The place was totally empty at 2 p.m. but they sent us to the second floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review
Google Translation

Le contestare para que quede constancia de lo que es un maleducado. Ha entrado usted en el restaurante a gruñido... More 

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

To end an excellent trip in Andorra we had the perfect dinner. The food was excellent, we tried the Raclette Royal, the classic cheese fondue and another type of Raclette. The three were excellent, from another world. It was that good we order another goat cheese fondue. The service was really nice and friendly. The only problem we had is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

I wish we were able to get online and check out the trip adviser reviews before our group of 6 decided to have dinner here. All the negative feedback below is still true. Only four others in the restaurant, but they seated us at an uncomfortable corner, then ignored us. Throughout the meal we had I chase them up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review
Google Translation

No,nos vamos a disculpar por un comentario engañoso;Tiene usted razon nos acordamos de ustedes y los otros clientes tambien se... More 

Stonehouse
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We night stopped in Andorra and after looking hard for a restaurant that was more than a cafe we came upon this restaurant , my husbands rule of thumb being Tablecloths ! This seemed to fit the bill . The food was average just but the service was poor , waiting staff that you got the impression were doing you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

Sorry this misunderstanding and invite you to come forward on your next visit,to have the chance to Exchange views with you to improve our services.Thank you very much. ( We do not share your version ) More 

Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This was a pretty bad choice, the pizzeria next door would have been much safer. I'm saying this because the food was horrible and very fat. Especially avoid pork feet! The service wasn't very nice either, they were acting very preoccupied with anything else than making us feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

Sorry this misunderstanding and invite you to come forward on your next visit,to have the chance to Exchange views with you to improve our services.Thank you very much. ( We do not share your version ) More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The restaurant looked good from the outside and the menu looked adequate. Our initial waiter was good but we had a different one half way through. I had moules marinere for starter which was very nice and my husband had asparagus which he enjoyed. For the main meal I ordered macaroni cheese. When it arrived there was a dish of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review
Google Translation

Ya es lo que nos faltaba por ver en sus comentarios en tripadvisor,a ver si se ponen las pilas y... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It's difficult to have a great evening if you have the feeling that you are not welcomed. We have always had the same problem in this restaurant and eventually we have stopped going despite liking...sorry, loving the food. The problem being that every time we went there the waiter, no natter which waiter, told us that the restaurant was fully-booked,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

thank you very much More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A cool evening, so we decided to eat inside. Pleasantly surprised with the open airy, upper floor, dining area with views over the river. Food was generally good but nothing exceptional. Thought about making this a 2 star review because of the very off-hand service. However despite this we still had an enjoyable meal.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Refugi Alpí A, Gerente at El Refugi Alpi, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Travelers who viewed El Refugi Alpi also viewed

Escaldes-Engordany, Escaldes-Engordany Parish
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 

Been to El Refugi Alpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Avinguda Meritxell, 73, Andorra la Vella AD500, Andorra
  • Location: Europe  >  Andorra  >  Andorra la Vella Parish  >  Andorra la Vella
  • Phone Number: +376 808 100

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 19 - 38
  • Cuisine: Latvian, Fondue

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of El Refugi Alpi and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Refugi Alpi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?