We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hatch Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Forest Row, Coleman's Hatch TN7 4EJ, England
01342 822363
Website
Add hours for The Hatch Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 120 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 58
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Enjoyed - but mixed messages

This was the lunch stop on a gorgeous ramble. We were a big group and I know the staff were wary of catering for us. However they did really well and we all had our meals well within the hour. Not the cheapest but great choice. My cheese and pickle sarnies were generously filled chunky and tasty... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 28, 2015
Veronica H
,
Dartford
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This was the lunch stop on a gorgeous ramble. We were a big group and I know the staff were wary of catering for us. However they did really well and we all had our meals well within the hour. Not the cheapest but great choice. My cheese and pickle sarnies were generously filled chunky and tasty brown bread with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The food was superb, the service was superb the staff are all excellent. This is without doubt my favourite pub of all time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We visit this pub regularly and although the food and drink is always great the staff really make this pub , nothing is ever to much trouble and always with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We go here a lot and enjoy it every time - it's the perfect English country pub: picturesque, cosy and welcoming. The food is always excellent and there is a better than normal selection of wines and beers. The pub gets deservedly busy at peak times and we've not been able to get a table on several occasions when popping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We have been before and enjoyed good food including Sunday lunch. Great friendly service and nice atmosphere. A few weeks ago we both had the Sunday lunch but found the beef hard to cut and stringy for want of a better word. The roast potatoes were disappointing. We felt this was a one off experience so went again and ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicksand, Owner at The Hatch Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam I read with disappointment your recent review but appreciate your comments & that you are firm supporter of the Hatch Inn. We always welcome feedback give it good or otherwise. Unfortunately, on this occasion I was aware that we had issues with our supply of sirloin of beef & have already spoken to my butcher who has... More 

South West
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Good service despite the pub being really busy, excellent helping size and tasty food. They do the business! At a quieter time, one would be able to enjoy more the olde world pub atmosphere etc. It is certainly important to make a reservation at busy times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

The Hatch Inn dates from 1430 and is tucked away in Ashdown Forest. The low ceilings and fires make it a warm and friendly place, as do the staff. The food is honest and home-made and not expensive. Everything is good quality - the well conditioned cask beers, the properly sourced ingredients and the standard of cooking. Wirth a detour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

For a public house with no parking it is very popular. We took our dog with us because it advertises that it is dog friendly, but our dog is nervous of others approaching him , we had a problem as a lot of others were running free. We ended up putting him back in the car. We went back as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Good food. Nice Gardens. Parking can be difficult and opening hours are not always helpful. They were just closing for the afternoon last time I visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

For my brothers 22nd we decided to go a little out of town and visit the Hatch. My family had all been before but this was my first experience! Walking in and ducking heads, I immediately got a warm feel from the cosy little pub and was greeted kindly by the barmaid. Being a waitress myself - i highly value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Hatch Inn also viewed

Hartfield, East Sussex
Withyham, East Sussex
 
West Hoathly, West Sussex
Forest Row, East Sussex
 

Been to The Hatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatch Inn

Address: Forest Row, Coleman's Hatch TN7 4EJ, England
Phone Number: 01342 822363
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Coleman's Hatch
Average Prices: USD $16 to $44
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Forest Row, Coleman's Hatch TN7 4EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Coleman's Hatch
  • Phone Number: 01342 822363

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $16 to $44
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hatch Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?