We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Sakura

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
+356 2132 2886
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Quick Bites, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the...
Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 179 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 62
    Excellent
  • 53
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Nice sushi , even better long island ice tea :)

Been here a few times and will certainly visit again , cheap eats very good quality sushi, drinks and nice BUT very strange opening times,,,,,service is not the best but is ok,,,,well its a good place to have sushi at

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
Sergio A
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Had a great dinner at Sakura, sushi was lovely. There is seating inside and outside. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

The food was of a good quality, but unfortunately my experience with the service was poor. I ordered 4 pieces of sushi to start and then the dumpling soup. I was by myself and after 40 minutes doing absolutely nothing I managed to attract the attention of a waitress to ask what was happening with my order. She replied that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Been here a few times and will certainly visit again , cheap eats very good quality sushi, drinks and nice BUT very strange opening times,,,,,service is not the best but is ok,,,,well its a good place to have sushi at

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Sergio A We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to keep our return guests happy and satisfied with our food, and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! Our opening ours for Cafe Sakura is from 9am till 2400hrs The restaurant kitchen... More 

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Very clean and modern joint with indoor and outdoor seating. Very Accommodating even with a Toddler! Good view of the boardwalk. I ordered 3 Sushi rolls: The Crab roll (very sweet), The Tempura Calamara (great), and the Salmon Avocado (Great) I enjoyed my sushi and starters. I did not get a chance to try out any of their other food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to learn our guests were happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you some time... More 

Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My husband and I just had dinner at cafe Sakura for the first( and it will be last) time.First of all we went in end we were ignored so we just pick a table to have a seat and the service was slow even if there was just a few customers.The prices aren't expensive and if the quality of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Loved this place. Great food, great value for money, but service was too slow! But that appears to be the norm now in Malta! Preferred this place better than Okurama in St Julian's!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear A N O We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to learn that your experience at Sakura, was a positive one, and you were satisfied with our genuine cuisine, and value for money. We ensure that all our produce is a fresh, and of high... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

I was there for dinner, food was fine, out of blue, the chef and waiters are together, having a long. Laud conversation insulting my Country and Chinese right infront of my face. There is no respect in this place. This place, food is second, insulting is the first! 吃饭,被厨师和服务员无故人身攻击!不可原谅,没有基本的原则和素质!!居然在顾客面前开批斗会……已经在微博上曝光了这种不道德的行为,希望能够告诉大家我的经历,引以为戒……

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit at Cafe Sakura. Naturally, we are disappointed that you had such a negative experience. Without going into each point you mentioned please accept our apologies, your experience is not indicative of what the large majority of our customers experience, however it would appear we... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Sakura restaurant is in the north part of Sliema, very modern and comfortable atmosphere. I had 10 pieces in total: 2 temakis, 4 big makis and 4 small, for 16,5 EUR (without drink). The service is efficient and friendly, the food came quickly (less than 10 minutes), and the presentation was elegant. They also delivery or you can order as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to keep our return guests happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you on your... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in a hotel close to this restaurant in Sliema so we decided to give it a go as we have dined in Japanese restaurants in Spain and in the UK. The service was excellent and we totally enjoyed our experience in an otherwise mediocre location. Our choice of the menu was great and value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Chris T We would like to thank you for your great review.! It is of great satisfaction reading such reviews, as our aim is to give our clients an awesome culinary experience. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance, as this is what we are constantly striving for. We thank you once again for your recommendation and we look forward... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Very poor service. Won't go again. Staff appeared in a trance or something. Ignored us initially and then got menu wrong. Service was terrible. food ok. Don't waste ur money here go elsewhere. Only place on my trip that I didn't leave a tip...no chance

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit with us. We are very disappointed that you had such a negative experience at Cafe Sakura. Without going into each and every point you mentioned please accept our apologies, your experience is not indicative of what the large majority of our customers experience, however... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sakura also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Sliema
  • Phone Number: +356 2132 2886

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 39
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Cafe, Sushi, Asian

Description

Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sakura staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?