We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Sakura

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
+356 2132 2886
Website
Today
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Quick Bites, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the...
Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 170 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Best meal in Malta

My wife and I were staying in a hotel close to this restaurant in Sliema so we decided to give it a go as we have dined in Japanese restaurants in Spain and in the UK. The service was excellent and we totally enjoyed our experience in an otherwise mediocre location. Our choice of the menu was great... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 20, 2015
Chris T
,
Scarborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

I was there for dinner, food was fine, out of blue, the chef and waiters are together, having a long. Laud conversation insulting my Country and Chinese right infront of my face. There is no respect in this place. This place, food is second, insulting is the first! 吃饭,被厨师和服务员无故人身攻击!不可原谅,没有基本的原则和素质!!居然在顾客面前开批斗会……已经在微博上曝光了这种不道德的行为,希望能够告诉大家我的经历,引以为戒……

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit at Cafe Sakura. Naturally, we are disappointed that you had such a negative experience. Without going into each point you mentioned please accept our apologies, your experience is not indicative of what the large majority of our customers experience, however it would appear we... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Sakura restaurant is in the north part of Sliema, very modern and comfortable atmosphere. I had 10 pieces in total: 2 temakis, 4 big makis and 4 small, for 16,5 EUR (without drink). The service is efficient and friendly, the food came quickly (less than 10 minutes), and the presentation was elegant. They also delivery or you can order as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to keep our return guests happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you on your... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in a hotel close to this restaurant in Sliema so we decided to give it a go as we have dined in Japanese restaurants in Spain and in the UK. The service was excellent and we totally enjoyed our experience in an otherwise mediocre location. Our choice of the menu was great and value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Chris T We would like to thank you for your great review.! It is of great satisfaction reading such reviews, as our aim is to give our clients an awesome culinary experience. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance, as this is what we are constantly striving for. We thank you once again for your recommendation and we look forward... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Very poor service. Won't go again. Staff appeared in a trance or something. Ignored us initially and then got menu wrong. Service was terrible. food ok. Don't waste ur money here go elsewhere. Only place on my trip that I didn't leave a tip...no chance

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit with us. We are very disappointed that you had such a negative experience at Cafe Sakura. Without going into each and every point you mentioned please accept our apologies, your experience is not indicative of what the large majority of our customers experience, however... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

Sakura is just the perfect place for sushi/ Japanese food lovers like I am! This restaurant has it all; Friendly helpful staff, warm environment, impeccable sea view and most important the food! Nevertheless, have never tasted a better coffee, since it's the ideal place to discover new coffee tastes. Super!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear kirsten12344 We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to read such reviews, of happy & satisfied guests, with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you some time... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with a couple of friends for a saturday dinner. The service was excellent and the food was delicious especially the sushi! Will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear TeTeletta Thank you for your excellent review, and for sharing your positive experience at Cafe Sakura, with all of us! Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team! We are constantly striving for meeting all our guests expectations. We look forward to welcome you some time soon! Many best regards Mandy Vella Revenue & E-Commerce Manager More 

Malta EUROPE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

With such lovely weather in Malta, outdoor seating is a plus point for any restaurant here and Cafe' Sakura doesn't fail in this respect. Parking might be a problem, situated as it is on Sliema front, but the quality of the food and the setting makes it more than worthwhile. The manager was considerate enough to pull down one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Mixx Thank you for your excellent review, and for sharing your positive experience, with all of us! Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team! At Cafe Sakura, we have a special agreement: with a minimum spent of Eur25, we give 1 free parking voucher at Towers Parking. Voucher needs to be used on same day.... More 

Valletta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Once you visit this place, you can never have enough of it! A big well done to the chefs for the delicious sushi and hot plates and also well done to the staff and management for the great service and teamwork shown. We truly felt at home!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Xantel We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback with our guests on TriipAdvisor. It is very rewarding for us to read such comments, and learn that your expectations have been met. It is what we are constantly working for.  We thank you once again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you in the... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Been there many times and it never fails to impress me. Tried many other local sushi places and I must say that Sakura is unbeatable . Freshly prepared sushi and great service. Sushi deluxe platter accompanied with some sake well designed for couples. Keep it up :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Jake1007 We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to keep our return guests happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you some time soon.... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This place used to have very good sushi but they must have replaced their chef's or they are under new management. The sushi tasted like bad fish so we couldn't finish it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Eriksve1 Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit with us. We are disappointed to learn you had such an experience, as our produce is fresh, and we ensure best quality products. All comments and suggestions received, are discussed with our team. Our aim is to constantly improve our services , product, and meet... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sakura also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Sakura

Address: 122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
Phone Number: +356 2132 2886
Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Sliema
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 6 - 39
Cuisine: Japanese, Cafe, Sushi, Asian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Sliema
  • Phone Number: +356 2132 2886

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 39
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Cafe, Sushi, Asian

Description

Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sakura staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?