We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Sakura

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
+356 2132 2886
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the...
Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 198 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A place to meet, chat and sample Japanese Cuisine

Although at times the staff seem stretched the food is unique, the menu varied and the welcome is warm. If you want sushi this is the place to visit.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Safenoble
,
The Hague, The Netherlands
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although at times the staff seem stretched the food is unique, the menu varied and the welcome is warm. If you want sushi this is the place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Safenoble
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is seating inside and outside, which adds to the atmosphere, but the food was slow in coming and definitely not the best tasting sushi I have ever eaten. The service left a lot to be desired: waitresses who were not entirely versed in the contents of the menu and who were not around for long periods of time when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElliotHiller
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Wish to thank the staff of Cafe Sakura for an excellent service. A nice place to have a light meal or coffee, but also a very good restaurant specialising in Sushi. I must say that even if you are not fond of sushi, they offer a good variety of other food. I had salmon and rice which was very well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caramella Belly... M
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for your positive review, and for sharing your experience at Cafe Sakura, with TripAdvisor. Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team! We look forward to welcome you some time soon, for another great meal :) Many best regards Mandy Vella Revenue & E-Commerce Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Food is generally good & fresh, however the desserts not always as fresh as the rest of the menu. Service is good, although some servers feel unnatural/scared, maybe because they are mostly of a younger age. Would recommend for good food and casual atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B Thank you for taking time in reviewing Cafe Sakura, your feedback is of utmost importance to us. Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team, and the management will be looking into your feedback as well! We look forward to welcome you some time soon at Cafe Sakura Many best regards Mandy Vella Revenue... More 

Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

i's been there many times and always when i go i had the best service and the best food quality :D a place to visit if you love japanese food :D

Helpful?
Thank AngelaCalderon
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear AngelaCalderon We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Cafe Sakura, and for dining here. It is delightful for us to read such great comments about our quality of food and services. It gives us job satisfaction and motivates us to keep pursuing what we are constantly striving for. We thank you once again, and... More 

Pieta, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Is difficult to call this place "restaurant". Is more or less a lounge bar. The service is slow, very slow....for a normal sushi order I had to wait 55 minutes, and when I kindly ask the waitress how long it going to take...she was a little bit rude and try to convince me that is because they use only fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank ungattaccio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

I brought my girlfriend here on one of my few nights off in a week so understandably I like my evenings with her to go off without a hitch. It started off well and we ordered some sushi and appetisers to start off with which I can't fault; they really were excellent. The waiter was very pleasant however when my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cillian C
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Cillian C, Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your recent visit at Sakura. We are pleased the level of food was to your satisfaction. Naturally, we are disappointed that you had such an experience when it came to service. Your experience is not indicative of what the large majority of our customers experience, however it... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

The staff are very incompetent and rude. I'll never go back here again! As I am allergic to some shellfish I needed to know what kind of sushi they had on my plate, but they couldn't even tell me. The girls (staff) went really angry and upset when I asked a second time. Even the sushi-chef refused to tell me.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malinny
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your visit at Sakura. We are disappointed to learn that your visit at Sakura did not meet your expectations, and would like to apologize on behalf of all the team. Rest assured that we work very hard at improving our product and... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

I was here couple of time and I have to say thy this is one of the best place where I ate at Malta. I never was disappointed here.

Helpful?
Thank nikiyo
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear nikiyo We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review towards Sakura Restaurant. It is of great pleasure for us to keep our return guests happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Japanese food doesn't really come to mind when you think of Malta but we were tired of gigantic poor quality dinners and this was a good change. Very fresh and beautifully presented. The duck was really outstanding but everything we tried was good. Very friendly waiter.

Helpful?
Thank trippychix2
PrelunaHotel, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Cafe Sakura, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest We would like to thank you for your time, and for the positive review. It is of great pleasure for us to have our guests happy and satisfied with our food, service and overall experience. It is what we are constantly striving for! We thank you once again, and look forward to welcoming you some time soon.... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sakura also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 122 Tower Road | Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1605, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Sliema
  • Phone Number: +356 2132 2886

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 40
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Cafe

Description

Sakura offers luxurious surroundings both on the terrace and inside the premises where besides an area allocated for clients having a quick coffee there is also seating for those wishing to dine. A Japanese Fusion cuisine is the main attraction being served for lunch and dinner daily whilst snacks such as baguettes, sandwiches and salads are also offered daily. Plasma screens and appropriate music will help to create an intimate atmosphere.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sakura staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?