We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Seafront | St. Mary's Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 2155 6606
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 163 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food, Great location

The wind was driving the waves onto the beach at the foot of the restaurant so there was atmosphere galore as we were tucked inside out of the elements. The service was prompt and helpful. My traditional fish soup was gob-smackingly generous and bristling with fish still in the shell resting on top... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 31, 2015
Nicola M
,
Sliema, Malta
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

The wind was driving the waves onto the beach at the foot of the restaurant so there was atmosphere galore as we were tucked inside out of the elements. The service was prompt and helpful. My traditional fish soup was gob-smackingly generous and bristling with fish still in the shell resting on top of the chowder. The aubergine entree was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

We visited restaurant for something to eat at dinner time. It was absolutely enjoyable and relaxed evening. Food was presented very well as the portions were very generous with all the sides dishes. The traditional fish soup excellent as the Gozo cheese raviolli. Staff was also very friendly. Till our stay will end we will visit again. It's worth it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The terrace of Otters must have just about the best view over Marsalforn Bay that is possible. The standard of the food is very good indeed and, as seems to be common in this part of the world, the portions are huge but well-priced, especially when you take into account the free appetisers. The service was sometimes a bit slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otters L, Owner at Otters Restaurant, responded to this review

Edmond, I apologize and am truly very disappointed more than you for the bad experience you had at Otters. We would like you to know that action was taken and the new assistant chef present that day was immediately replaced. Thank you for pointing it out to my concerns. Albert More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Very disappointed with this Lonely Planet recommendation. There were some bad tripadvisor reviews, but we still went ahead as the location was great. What a mistake! - Burger: not beef, not fresh, bun and meat were as hard as steel. You'll find it easier to cut through a thick wooden table than this burger. And they charge 12.5 EUR for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otters L, Owner at Otters Restaurant, responded to this review

Edmond, I apologize and am truly very disappointed more than you for the bad experience you had at Otters. We would like you to know that action was taken and the new assistant chef present that day was immediately replaced. Thank you for pointing it out to my concerns. Albert More 

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had a late lunch on the terrace and had AMAZING ravioli (Gozo cheese and fish). The fish ravioli especially (made with fresh pasta and a filling of cod, prawns and calamari) were amazing, with cherry tomatos and olive oil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otters L, Manager at Otters Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, very happy you enjoyed it. More 

Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I dined tonight at Otters with my cousin. We were drawn in by the daily special of octopus soup. We also ordered the baked potato with chorizo and cheese, gozo cheese salad, beef carpaccio and duck with chocolate and balsamic sauce. Every dish was beautifully presented, but presentation was easily overshadowed by the amazing flavors of each dish. Albert, our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otters L, Manager at Otters Restaurant, responded to this review

We appreciate your great comments, and it a pleasure to serve nice happy people like you, it makes the day brighter. Thank you Albert More 

Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Very well served fish, with extra seafood. Salads are not best combination, but are still tasty. Beautiful view on bay and town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
needham market
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Do not be fooled by the view at Otters, it was one of the poorest meals i have had for a long time.I ordered a pork starter which was luke warm, i sent it back to the kitchen but it returned little better and i left it,my partners risotto was like a rice pudding and she also left hers. i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otters L, Owner at Otters Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Crackermean While we respect everyone's opinion and would like to address you by your REAL name, I would like to draw you attention that the starter you had was marinated pork carpaccio(Served Cold) set on warm baked potato slices and set on shredded cold flavored cabbage, sending it back to heat everything up, thinking that it should be... More 

Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

She had calamari stuffed with octopus and prawn mousse, he had salmon in a crispy parcel and I had the Otter special pizza -chicken, prawn and pineapple. The day was Mothers' day and it was busy. We did not book but got the last table. The waitress was run off her feet but she insisted on being pleasant and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

A restaurant with a beautiful view which provides good food. 3 of us had baby squid salad. One opted for duck another white bait cakes and another salmon. Salad contained plenty of greens but little squid. Other dishes were more palatable. Local wine and coffee accompanied meal followed by coffee. Meal cost each of us €20. Worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Otters Restaurant also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Otters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Seafront | St. Mary's Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Gozo  >  Marsalforn
  • Phone Number: +356 2155 6606

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Mediterranean
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Otters Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?