We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Liffey Irish pub

#189 of 2,172 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
$$
American, Irish, International, British
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Stora Nygatan 42 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm, Sweden
08-21 80 25
Website
Today
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Good for:
Bar scene
Breakfast/Brunch
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 79 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 41
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Authentic irish

Very nice beer, cool live music the waiter called Mike made our night fantastisk . What a great guy. Worth a visit if you are in old town. Ill. be back

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 21, 2015
Zio95
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Very nice beer, cool live music the waiter called Mike made our night fantastisk . What a great guy. Worth a visit if you are in old town. Ill. be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

Been there last night dining with my family and I can definitely admit I had the worst experience ever in a pub. We noticed the pub as on outside board god reported live music from 9pm. We get in, someone gives us a table and all fine. order for drinks comes after few minutes, even though pub wasn't busy yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Went there almost every night for a work project out there for a couple of months. Serious 'back at home' feel and the bar staff are incredibly friendly. Pretty much any football match including an English team is on (and can be requested if not) and the atmosphere is always bubbly and friendly. Food was really good on the few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stopped by with my girlfriend after the recommendation from TripAdvisor application and effectively very nice place. The burgers were delicious the atmosphere cosy and we even got a concert of a guy and his guitar. I could complain about the noise but what do you expect? This is an Irish pub ;) !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The meal is good, the service is good, but the best part in my opinion is the Pub Quiz. I was here with some friends and we had fun, but you need to get early, it is usually crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Ate lunch here last Saturday afternoon. What a disaster. A costly disaster I might add. The food was the worst I've ever had anywhwere. I had a steak sandwich which was so destroyed with salt in the sauce that I almost gagged on it. My son ordered a burger with cheese and stressed to waitress NO salad or vegetables and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Liffey S, Public Relations Manager at The Liffey Irish pub, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you didn't have a good experience at the liffey, We have our pay in advance system when people sit outside to avoid people leaving without paying, as this is a big city and a tourist area it happens from time to time, so it was impossible to offer a refund, however you were given the option to... More 

Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nice Irish Pub in Stockholm, situated in Gamla Stan (Old Town). It's lying on a calmer street, and the interior is giving you that real pub-feeling. I have been here twice, and I really liked the visit both times. The food is really very good, and the staff is friendly. It's really worh a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Was in Stockholm on business during the early stages of the World Cup, and my Irish colleague recommended The Liffey for both atmosphere and food. Happy to report he was right. The atmosphere was great for a World Cup match, with the place filling up starting around 5 minutes prior to kickoff. The beer selection is decent, featuring Scandinavian and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Excellent food and good service in the old part of Stockholm, worth a visit. Cost about £60 for 2 courses each and 1 alcoholic drink each.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portlaoise, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Me and my boyfriend called into this pub to watch a football match while we were away. It's really nice pub, lovely interior, more than one toilet which I was pleased to see and another quieter bar downstairs. However how it can call itself an Irish Bar I have no idea. The furniture was dark and square exactly like what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Liffey Irish pub also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Liffey Irish pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Stora Nygatan 42 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Location: Europe  >  Sweden  >  Stockholm County  >  Stockholm
  • Phone Number: 08-21 80 25

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 22
  • Cuisine: American, Irish, International, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Tuesday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
7:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
7:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Liffey Irish pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?