We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Damindra

Holbergsgade 26, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Indre By)
33 12 33 75
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 1,434 restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Indre By
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Indre By
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    129
    39
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

Damindra is a treat for sushi lovers...the chefs creations are not the standard fare you get in normal sushi places. There are too many great rolls to describe, but if you don't mind paying a bit more, Damindra is excellent! Location is near Nyhavn in central Copenhagen and parking is difficult. Best to take a taxi or use metro....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

We dined there with a friend last spring. This restaurant was surely pleasantly surprising. The presentations of the dishes were nice and the ideas for the courses were fantastic. I think this is without a doubt the best Japanese restaurant I have ever been to. Next time I´ll visit Copenhagen this restaurant will be one of my destinations. The price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

World-class sushi experience. Best parts: salmon sashimi with enoki and ginger, lobster gunkan, tuna futomaki, petit fours (yes, petit fours)... Excellent sake selection. Good service. Pleasant design and location. If you like Japanese cuisine, or want to discover it, you must go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went here on business. The name does not remind one of a sushi restaurant but inside the food was outstanding. Creative sushi dishes, that were both visually interesting as well as very delicious. The owner seemed to oversee everything for the guests and made some recommendations. In the end we chose to have the Chef choose for us and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holte, Denmark
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Only a hundred meters away from one of the busiest places in Copenhagen, Nyhavn, this is an amazing restaurant in a quiet surrounding. The place itself is very nicely decorated with a true eye for detail. Service overall is very good. We tried the surprise menu and we were very pleasantly surprised. Very tasty and beautifully served. The owner from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have previously had very good experiences with Damindra, but this time i experienced that i called in 3 months in advance, booked a table and then called on the day to recheck the table and it turned out they very closed!!! Extremely poor control and coordination! Write in your booking book, when you are open and closed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RestaurantDamindra, Owner at Damindra, responded to this review

Dear Morten, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a very good experience with us in the past, and we are sorry to hear about the incident you mentioned. Yes, we are closed on Sundays and Mondays, and we always have been. We mention this both on our website and on our Facebook page, and... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I visit this restaurant following the recommendation from the guide "Where the chefs eat". The restaurant is located very close to Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv but a bit hidden in a side street behind the Royal Danish Theatre. We had a Lunch Plate (275 DKK) consisted of salat with tempura squid, salmon and tuna sashimi in garlic/soya... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had dinner at Damindra last night (a Wednesday - no reservation). Food: Fresh and creative sushi (amazing salmon sashimi, lobster with spicy dressing, excellent scallop), lovely atmosphere ( big flower arrangements, jasmine scents everywhere including in the spotless bathroom), service: discreet but efficient. I've tried 6-7 sushi restaurants in CPH incl 3 different Sticks and Sushi, Sashi Sushi, shufoku,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oelsted, Denmark
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went for a late business dinner and was amazed with the excellent quality of the sushi. The tasting menu gave samples of different types of sushi and it was very delicious. The main course and dessert was not above average but the rest was amazing. The ambiance is average, service is flawless. The wine selection somewhat limited. All in all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Food there was really delicious. We enjoyed a lot. However, other aspects of the restaurant were quite disappointing. Firstly, lack of heating. My feet were never warm after staying in the restaurant for 3 hours. It's obviously not the right place to go during cold winters. Secondly, owner of the restaurant is very greedy. I was asked to pay 60... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RestaurantDamindra, Owner at Damindra, responded to this review

Dear Zhisk, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the food, and we are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with other aspects of the restaurant. We have extra heaters available in the restaurant for our customers who are cold during the winter. We believe we are the right place to visit... More

Travelers who viewed Damindra also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Damindra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damindra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing