We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2,374 Brussels Restaurants

Mumtaz

Chaussee de Wavre 64, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 2 512 54 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,048 of 2,374 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    6
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have been coming on and off to this resto since it opened in 1986.. The experience is not at all like it used to be. firstly there is no atmosphere to the place, no back ground music and the no alocohol at all. You have to go across the road and BYO and then pay 5 € corkage which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We found this place as was looking for a halal restaurant in brussels ( thank you trip advisor community). Although the price was a little more than if you visited an Indian restaurant in the U.K. the portions were ample. They added a little more spice than usual at our request. The chicken jalfrezi had good sized pieces of chicken.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have nothing to say about the food - That's why my family and I love to go to that place. But having a meal without a nice wine or beer... We are just missing a flavor to our meal. If it does stay that way... well, unfortunately we will have to go some places else...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the delay in responding. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Mumtaz, however I have some GOOD NEWS as we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and I have pleasure in announcing that customers can now BYO (bring your own... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We eat in Mumtaz regularly and it's always great food and the manager and staff are very attentive. Recently they stopped selling wine and beers which was a surprise, but apparently they will start BYOB in September so you can bring your own booze if you want. My favourite restaurant in Brussels so hopefully people won't be put off by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Dear Dermot Thank you for feedback on Restaurant Mumtaz. I appreciate your warm regards and am glad to hear you enjoy our food. GOOD NEWS sir, your favourite Indian Restaurant have revised their recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and as you rightly expected we now allow customers to BYO (bring your own bottle). We look... More

Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Same shock as reported by fellow members. Mango lassee is no substitute for a cold Kingfisher, especially to accompany already over-sweetened dishes. I don't see myself going back any time soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Dear Pete Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the delay in responding. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Mumtaz, however I have some GOOD NEWS as we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, so you can now BYO (bring your own bottle). I hope this... More

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been going to this (excellent) restaurant for more than fifteen years. Food is quite good, service is perfect, decoration is in very good taste, but... But lately a new management has decided to go halal - which is fine for me as the food goes, I don't eat pork, but for taste reasons, and the food as of yesterday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the delay in responding. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Mumtaz, however I have some GOOD NEWS as we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and I have pleasure in announcing that customers can now BYO (bring your own... More

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

What was one of my favorite indian restaurants in Brussels has by owner's decision gone dry. No beer and no wine. The food is very good, service is great, but attempting a Vindaloo without a Kingfisher is hopeless. Still takeaway is an option and they sell Kingfisher across the street. What a shame...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Dear Jon, I am sorry to hear about your experience during your recent visit to Mumtaz. GOOD NEWS as we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and I have pleasure in announcing that customers can now BYO (bring your own bottle). So you can once again enjoy your meal with a glass of... More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Brassdoff's review is absolutely right, I know because I went there with friends the night before he did and what a shock. It was never really an absolutely blow-your-mind Indian restaurant, but it was always acceptable, comfy, nice staff, and now...no Cobra, no Kingfisher, no-can-do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. My sincere apologies for your recent experience at Mumtaz. On the positive side of things, I am please to announce that we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and have pleasure in announcing that you can now BYO (bring your own bottle). We hope you can accept our... More

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've been going to Mumtaz for years and never had a bad experience. Great food, nice atmosphere and friendly, welcoming staff. But when I went again last night with friends, imagine our dismay on being greeted with a sign in the doorway warning that 'this restaurant no longer serves alcohol'. All three of us enjoy a Kingfisher (beer) or two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Azam A, Manager at Mumtaz, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the delay in responding. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Mumtaz, however I have some GOOD NEWS as we have revised our recent change in policy relating to alcoholic beverages at Mumtaz, and I have pleasure in announcing that customers can now BYO (bring... More

Benevento, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've found this restaurant on trip advisor and I can say I've done a good choice. Kind staff and really polite owner. Delicious chicken tikka and biryani. Great dinner for a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Mumtaz also viewed

 

Been to Mumtaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Mumtaz?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing