We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MAX Amsterdam

Travelers' Choice award winner
$$$$
International, European, Asian, Indonesian
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more hotels in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a...
Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 931 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 617
    Excellent
  • 253
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Nice Indonesian food

We saw the recos on Tripadvisor and wanted to have good Indonesian food. We came on a busy Saturday evening. The restaurant is very small, but service is well organized. We chose the Rice tafel. Overall, good choice. The service was very fast, too fast for us. The main course arrived in one go... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
Gabi H
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

We saw the recos on Tripadvisor and wanted to have good Indonesian food. We came on a busy Saturday evening. The restaurant is very small, but service is well organized. We chose the Rice tafel. Overall, good choice. The service was very fast, too fast for us. The main course arrived in one go. Hence, dishes got cold while on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. The city center of Amsterdam is old with many charming Streets and small restaurants. MAX Amsterdam is one of them, even we are quiet larger than the most of those charming places it's still an old Amsterdam canal area size. MAX restaurant is not a typical Indonesian restaurant. It has for years the same... More 

Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

I believe this is the first time I had Indonesian cuisine. We had a mixed platter and some of the dishes where great. We especially enjoyed one of the beef dishes, so we asked if we could get some extra, which they were happy to serve. The place is crowded and with hard walls the sound level is somewhat high.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

We went to Max's restaurant while staying in Amsterdam, for the first of two sittings on Saturday. Max operate with a two sittings system at 6.30 and 9.00pm. Staff were friendly and helpful and the service was very efficient. However, we hardly had the opportunity to start our our aperitifs before our starters arrived. The quality of the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Never had Indonesian cuisine before so gave this a try based on Tripadvisor reviews. Decided to find the place first to book for later same evening and was surprised at lack of signage on very understated shop front during closed periods. Upon our return at the allotted time, what a difference we found with the place buzzing and all tables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I booked this restaurant for my wife and I as a treat for a special occasion. On arrival we were treated to two glasses of champagne as a surprise on the house which was a nice added touch. There are approximately ten dishes on offer for each course on the menu but we took the recommendation of the waiter to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your good food experience at MAX Amsterdam and hope we can welcome you again when visiting Amsterdam. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

For a restaurant that was always sold out, while we were in Amsterdam, it is surprising how poor the quality of their beef was that they served. Sorry, it is not up to the standards of a top line U.S.A. steakhouse. Should have known immediately. as the rolls came out still partially frozen. You can do much better in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

I am not sure you have reviewed the right restaurant because you compared us with top USA steak house. We are not a steak house at all. You can eat very well Our Indonesian food with different kind of tastes and also good International specialities like seasoned raw salmon with mango or scallops with cinnamon caramel or rilette of duck... More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Well, where do I start? The front of house staff, where amazing, so attentative without being a nuisance. Max (we presumed that's who he was), was a fantastic host and incredibly helpful for me when choosing Gluten Free options from the menu - it seemed nothing was too much effort for him. Husband had the Indonesian 3 course, and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

And what can I say? Thank you very much for your for the beautiful words and really happy to read how much you liked the food. Hope to see you again. Max More 

maine
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We had a wonderful meal with great service at Max. We had the price fixed meal for four and each dish was terrific. The dessert is not to be missed as it was a highlight of the evening. The restaurant was pricey for Indonesian food but in my opinion well worth the extra Euros.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about MAX restaurant and glad to know that you liked the food very well and especially the Grand dessert what is included to the Rijsttafel menu. Thank you also for mentioning that MAX restaurant is not cheap but worth to pay more because it's good quality and it's taste. Try also our not Indonesian... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Booked online and as it turned out we were in the area 2hrs earlier than our reservation so decided to see if we could sit down earlier. Having read the brilliant reviews o kinda knew that it would be busy and we might be pushing our luck... Without any problems at all the front of house staff were great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the compliments about the food and service. We like to help our guests as good as possible and glad that we we had the possibility to welcome you earlier than your reservation time. Hope to see you soon again. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

As an American visitor to Amsterdam I thought it was a good time to try Indonesian food! The restaurant was beautifully decorated in modern style. The food was delicious, but almost uniformly spicy so please expect that. We had the tasting menu which included a chicken satay and a sampler plate followed by dessert. The service was very attentive which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam
  • Phone Number: +31 20 420 0222

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 41 - 50
  • Cuisine: International, European, Asian, Indonesian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business

Description

Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
6:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from MAX Amsterdam staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?