We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gartine

Taksteeg 7, Amsterdam 1012 PB, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    217
    46
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 NEW

Saw this place on trip advisor and everyone raved about the large breakfast. Had it and was not disappointed! Fried egg, French cheese, ham, crusty seeded bread with plum or orange & mango jam, large croissant and the most amazing French toast with apple & cinnamon jam! All washed down with tea and freshly squeezed orange juice for 12 euros!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 NEW via mobile

Tiny place romantic and delicious. Wilham and staff are nice and friendly. All the food is homemade and fresh and so tastful . ממליצה בחום. לא זול אבל טעים מאוד.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

In my previous trip to AMS I went to this place twice but they were full, this time I was luckier (this is a small place, so book if you can). I had breakfast there, their carpaccio salmon was delicious! Very cosy atmosphere and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a lovely little place! We got to Gartine around 11am and we were lucky enough to get a table, they get really busy, tables get booked in advance. We went for the big breakfast and so glad we did, it was delicious, the best French toast I have ever had wish I asked for the recipe. Great staff, fast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very small, cosy place. Very kind service. If you order the high classic tea, your little table will be entirely covered by excellent sandwiches, quiches, cakes...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The menu is small but there is enough choice for all tastes! We both had the salmon on pumpkin sourdough which was delicious! Well worth a visit and do book! As for the food poisoning comment I can only believe this was from an over partied visitor as all the food is prepped in front of you and it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was advertised in the easy jet magazine and it took some finding. Well worth the effort had the large breakfast which included coffee, fresh orange juice, egg, salami, sour dough toast, cinnamon French toast with homemade jam and a fresh croissant all superb & already booked for tomorrow. Service was attentive and friendly give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

everything was perfect (place, service, atmosphere) , but we started feel stomachache after soup, first thought was just because I didnt eat before hand during the whole day. unfortunately in few hours me and my sis felt worse((( take care

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hello12312, Eigenaar at Gartine, responded to this review

Dear guests, First of all we are very sorry to hear that you and your sister did not feel well after leaving our restaurant. As you can tell from the TripAdvisor site we never respond to posts placed by guests whether they are positive or negative. However after reading your review we were very shocked and felt we had to... More

Basingstoke
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my 3rd time dining for breakfast at Gartine. On the first 2 occasions we were lucky to walk in and get a table. This time we reserved one, and whilst eating they had to turn away about 7 people in the 90 minutes we were there. Nice buzz to the place, small and cosy. Friendly staff and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had tried to eat here before, but I didn't have a reservation and they were completely full. There are only a few tables, so either get a reservation or come at off-peak hours. After finally having eaten there, it was totally worth it. The breakfast is delicious and filling, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing