We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
01226762324
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Lord Nelson and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 148 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 57
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Not a 'sound' choice

The food was fine, though for somewhere that styles itself as a country pub, somewhat pretentiously presented (chips came in a miniature frying basket, and the whole meal arrived on a wooden platter). The room was bland but comfortable, and our waitress was friendly, welcoming and eager to... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 16, 2015
Tourmalina
,
Peak District, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

The food was fine, though for somewhere that styles itself as a country pub, somewhat pretentiously presented (chips came in a miniature frying basket, and the whole meal arrived on a wooden platter). The room was bland but comfortable, and our waitress was friendly, welcoming and eager to please. So why the less than effusive tone of this review? In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for reviewing the Lord Nelson. I am sorry you did not enjoy the music at that time. We try and play a mixture of various artists from various years but I am affraid it is impossible to suit everyones taste. The sound level is set to create a little atmosphere in the pub, however on request we will turn... More 

chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Lovely place great location. Food was excellent couldn't fault it had the steak pie and chips wonderful food if I lived nearer I would go on a regular basis xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the Lord Nelson. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Having visited the Lord Nelson a number of times, I feel I should share my opinion. The food is always excellent, with friendly staff. The restaurant is set in a beautiful area, and has a really relaxing feel. The prices are competitive too, so all in all I would recommend a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. It is always nice to get good feedback from regular customers and if there is ever a problem then please let us know so we can rectify it. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

After an afternoon spent with family, we went to the Lord Nelson for dinner. Having eaten there in the past albeit not for a couple of years, we were impressed with the menus and the presentation of the food which was cooked to our liking and delicious. With good service, friendly welcoming staff and reasonable prices, we would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed the Sunday lunch and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Taken my wife and sister out to visit Penistone on market day (a Thursday). Afterwards driving round looking for somewhere for lunch 'in the country' we came across The Lord Nelson quite by chance. What a lucky find! We had a really relaxing lunch choosing from the set menu of 2 courses for £9.95 - amazing value for such good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

I've been to this wonderful positioned pub quite a few times now and everything about the experience is top drawer, staff always friendly, service, always a nice pace, food, beautiful and well presented,prices also reflect the quality and drinks are always nice and kept well, the location couldn't be better as the views are breath taking, only 2 minutes from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the lord nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and keep returning. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Visited the Lord nelson on Monday teatime on an unexpected whim, was pleasantly surprised by the standard of food and friendly accomdating staff. My wife had the homemade steak pie and I had the sirloin steak, both were presented lovely! We would definitely recommend this lovely country pub and will be returning again as it was a lovely little find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the lord nelson. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Disappointed with Sunday lunch hubby had fresh home made soup to start which had not been mixed i.e. still got powder in the soup also not very hot. Mum and me had prawn cocktail and had to ask if it came with bread they had forgot to bring it. And then the Sunday roast came puddings cold roast potatoes cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the lord nelson. I was sorry to here that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to the people on duty that day and have looked into the problems you encountered. We very rarley receive any complaints but we react to problems and rectify them imediatley when they do occur.... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Came away in the motorhome for a couple of nights to this little village. Had a voucher for four main meals at another place but that's an entirely different review. The food here was so good we had a starter and a main, must unusual for us. The black pudding stacker was gorgeous says my fella and the steak pie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was really pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and hope you re visit us soon. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We had a warm and friendly welcome on arrival.The starters we had were very good my partner had the black pudding stack which was very tasty I had the Indian platter which also was very good.For main we both had the Lord Nelson mixed grill which was cooked to perfection .I would highly recommend the mixed grill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here you enjoyed your visit. The mixed grill is very popular and was glad to here you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Travelers who viewed Lord Nelson also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
  • Phone Number: 01226762324

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lord Nelson and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Barnsley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Nelson staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?