We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
01226762324
Website
Add hours for Lord Nelson and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 146 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 56
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Pleasant Sunday Dinner

After an afternoon spent with family, we went to the Lord Nelson for dinner. Having eaten there in the past albeit not for a couple of years, we were impressed with the menus and the presentation of the food which was cooked to our liking and delicious. With good service, friendly welcoming staff... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 21, 2015
David B
,
Bedford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Having visited the Lord Nelson a number of times, I feel I should share my opinion. The food is always excellent, with friendly staff. The restaurant is set in a beautiful area, and has a really relaxing feel. The prices are competitive too, so all in all I would recommend a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. It is always nice to get good feedback from regular customers and if there is ever a problem then please let us know so we can rectify it. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

After an afternoon spent with family, we went to the Lord Nelson for dinner. Having eaten there in the past albeit not for a couple of years, we were impressed with the menus and the presentation of the food which was cooked to our liking and delicious. With good service, friendly welcoming staff and reasonable prices, we would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed the Sunday lunch and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Taken my wife and sister out to visit Penistone on market day (a Thursday). Afterwards driving round looking for somewhere for lunch 'in the country' we came across The Lord Nelson quite by chance. What a lucky find! We had a really relaxing lunch choosing from the set menu of 2 courses for £9.95 - amazing value for such good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

I've been to this wonderful positioned pub quite a few times now and everything about the experience is top drawer, staff always friendly, service, always a nice pace, food, beautiful and well presented,prices also reflect the quality and drinks are always nice and kept well, the location couldn't be better as the views are breath taking, only 2 minutes from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the lord nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and keep returning. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Visited the Lord nelson on Monday teatime on an unexpected whim, was pleasantly surprised by the standard of food and friendly accomdating staff. My wife had the homemade steak pie and I had the sirloin steak, both were presented lovely! We would definitely recommend this lovely country pub and will be returning again as it was a lovely little find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the lord nelson. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Disappointed with Sunday lunch hubby had fresh home made soup to start which had not been mixed i.e. still got powder in the soup also not very hot. Mum and me had prawn cocktail and had to ask if it came with bread they had forgot to bring it. And then the Sunday roast came puddings cold roast potatoes cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the lord nelson. I was sorry to here that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to the people on duty that day and have looked into the problems you encountered. We very rarley receive any complaints but we react to problems and rectify them imediatley when they do occur.... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Came away in the motorhome for a couple of nights to this little village. Had a voucher for four main meals at another place but that's an entirely different review. The food here was so good we had a starter and a main, must unusual for us. The black pudding stacker was gorgeous says my fella and the steak pie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was really pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and hope you re visit us soon. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We had a warm and friendly welcome on arrival.The starters we had were very good my partner had the black pudding stack which was very tasty I had the Indian platter which also was very good.For main we both had the Lord Nelson mixed grill which was cooked to perfection .I would highly recommend the mixed grill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased to here you enjoyed your visit. The mixed grill is very popular and was glad to here you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Convenient access just off main road. We called by chance on Monday lunchtime. Friendly staff, prompt service. Quite a wide range of dishes on the menu but we opted for the very reasonably priced lite bites at £5for a main course. Nothing pretentious just good honest pub food. Would certainly visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. We hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

It's quite a while since our last visit, but we really enjoyed our time here and will be back again. A very comprehensive choices of traditional pub favourites and a good number of more modern dishes on the menu. Great service - food was quick to arrive, well presented and tasty. Good portion sizes too, especially for the reasonably priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw and reccomendation. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and will return in the near future. We will look forward to seeing you. More 

Travelers who viewed Lord Nelson also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
Phone Number: 01226762324
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
  • Phone Number: 01226762324

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lord Nelson and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Barnsley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Nelson staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?