We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Nelson

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
Website
Add hours for Lord Nelson and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 133 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Rough with the smooth

Definitely a rough with the smooth evening meal.. Initially met at the bar by a friendly barman, who took our drinks order and allocated our party of five a table.. My father had the New York burger which he later commented on was probably the best burger he'd ever had! Quite an accolade. I... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Falcata
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Definitely a rough with the smooth evening meal.. Initially met at the bar by a friendly barman, who took our drinks order and allocated our party of five a table.. My father had the New York burger which he later commented on was probably the best burger he'd ever had! Quite an accolade. I had the 'Full Rack Of Ribs'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking time to write a review of the Lord Nelson. I am sorry that the ribs were not good on this occastion and have looked into the problem with this batch. Glad to here that you enjoyed the homemade burger and the other meals. We don;t charge for sauces the extra £1.00 on your bill that goes through... More 

Manchester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We have had two recent pleasant meal experiences at The Lord Nelson. It's nothing special but worthy of a visit. Friendly service, good food and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the Lord Nelson and I am glad you enjoy your visits. Hope to see you again soon. More 

sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Had Sunday lunch and should have known when it appeared within five minutes of ordering what to expect. Tinned veg and cold. Also partner had one tiny slice of beef. Also ice cream very old as full of ice crystals. Really if you can't be bothered to prepare anything fresh then don't be surprised that customers won't return. Sorry but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the lord nelson. I can assure you that all our vegetebles are sourced from hoylandswaine farm shop and are cooked fresh on the day, as is our meat and yorkshire puds. Our two course Sunday lunch for £10 is very popular and I was sorry to here that it did... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Had a trip to the Lord Nelson, party of 8 , was amazed at the menu, an American theme. Staff was friendly and service was good at the right price too. A nice country pub offering great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review More 

Leeds
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Went to the Lord Nelson for Sunday Lunch. Restaurant was about half full so was able to choose our table. Prawns in my prawn cocktail had clearly been frozen as they were not fresh and were very rubbery. The sauce was watery. Roast beef dinner was ok but the Yorkshire was not edible as it was so overcooked. The 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the lord nelson. Your points have been taken on board and tweeked to ensure they do not re occur in the future. Thankyou for your comments and I hope you will try us again in the future. More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Me and my husband drove about and came across a sign for The Lord nelson. What a surprise we got when we walked in , the atmosphere and place is lovely, the staff we're pleasant and couldn't do enough to help you. As we went in on a Saturday night weirded out of the daily deals they do. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit and will reccomend us. If you would prefer homemade chips as a pose to fries we would be more than happy to swap them when we take your order. Thanks again. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Is what Lord Nelson would have said after eating at "The Lord Nelson" pub. A superb American style menu complimented by a few old favourites. Nice friendly, helpful staff. And the prices are not too over priced either and they do have offers on if you can get hold of one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I have been to the Lord Nelson several times and the food as been great,so when some friends phone to say they were comming to visit and we should go for some food I said let's go to the Lord Nelson it's always been good when I have been before.I wish we hadn't gone it was poor the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occastion, however we have took your comments on board and have since inproved the quallity of certain products.Hope we see you again in the near future and thankyou for your valued feedback. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The Lord Nelson is my personal favourite pub/restaurant. I love the restaurant as the food is delicious. They have a brilliant selection of foods, drinks and deserts. The have a wide range of burgers as it is famous for them. I go to the Lord nelosn every Thursday because they have a fun and enjoyable pub quiz that goes on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking time to write a great review of the Lord Nelson More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Called in today after a walk at Lady Bower .We must have past here hundreds of times before but only noticed it today because of a sign on the road side so thought we'd try it.First impressions clean ,bar staff helpful and cheerful (believe me there are some miserable bar staff ) atmosphere OK although we were the only ones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the Lord Nelson. Your time to write a good reveiw is very much appriciated. More 

Travelers who viewed Lord Nelson also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lord Nelson staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?