We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    14
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Me and my husband drove about and came across a sign for The Lord nelson. What a surprise we got when we walked in , the atmosphere and place is lovely, the staff we're pleasant and couldn't do enough to help you. As we went in on a Saturday night weirded out of the daily deals they do. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Is what Lord Nelson would have said after eating at "The Lord Nelson" pub. A superb American style menu complimented by a few old favourites. Nice friendly, helpful staff. And the prices are not too over priced either and they do have offers on if you can get hold of one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I have been to the Lord Nelson several times and the food as been great,so when some friends phone to say they were comming to visit and we should go for some food I said let's go to the Lord Nelson it's always been good when I have been before.I wish we hadn't gone it was poor the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occastion, however we have took your comments on board and have since inproved the quallity of certain products.Hope we see you again in the near future and thankyou for your valued feedback. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The Lord Nelson is my personal favourite pub/restaurant. I love the restaurant as the food is delicious. They have a brilliant selection of foods, drinks and deserts. The have a wide range of burgers as it is famous for them. I go to the Lord nelosn every Thursday because they have a fun and enjoyable pub quiz that goes on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking time to write a great review of the Lord Nelson More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Called in today after a walk at Lady Bower .We must have past here hundreds of times before but only noticed it today because of a sign on the road side so thought we'd try it.First impressions clean ,bar staff helpful and cheerful (believe me there are some miserable bar staff ) atmosphere OK although we were the only ones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review of the Lord Nelson. Your time to write a good reveiw is very much appriciated. More 

Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch 11adults and 3 children. Most of us had Sunday lunch, the children's lunch was better than the Sunday lunch the adults had and looked better value for money to be honest. It was pre cooked and cold. Will not be going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the lord nelson on this occastion. We do use locally sourced fresh cooked meat on our Sunday lunch and think of it as good value at £10.00 for two courses, however I am sorry it did not meet your expectations on this occastion. We would like to welcome you... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

we had book a table here for a table for 7 of us on a saturday evening we had not been for along time 5 years but what a change greated at the door sat at the table which was all sorted for for us drinks orders taken at table great service we was left for 10 to 15 mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your great review! More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We visited the Lord Nelson on Saturday, 11th October. We were greeted by a very amiable and polite young girl who showed us to our table, took our drinks order and gave us menus. All very professional and welcoming. Starters of mushrooms with a garlic dip and one of filled potato skins. When these arrived we couldn't believe what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul v, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Lord Nelson, however we took your valued comments on board and have significanly improved the presentation and the quality of our products. Hope you try us again in the near future. More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We visited the lord nelson on Sunday lunch with a party of eight. We were given a warm welcome by the manager and shown to our table. The food was delicious with homemade puds and fressh vegetables. A really enjoyable visit and exceptional value. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

It's more than 20 years since I last went into the Lord Nelson, but reading all the good reviews made me think it was time for a visit. It's really rather nice inside - not much in the way of character, but comfortable and modern. The menu looked ok - 2 courses for £9.95 and a reasonable choice for children.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Lord Nelson also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lord Nelson staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?