We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Opus

Banhofstrasse 16, Lucerne 6003, Luzern, Switzerland
041 226 41 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 269 restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $23 - $90
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    29
    55
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was only in Luzern for one day and discovered this restaurant as I was wandering round the town. It had outdoor seating overlooking the river and it was lovely just to sit and admire the view. I went for the menu of the day, which was reasonably priced by Swiss standards, and a glass of the local beer. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear Chris L Thank you for your recommendation. We're pleased to see you soon again as our guest. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Einmalige Kulinarik. Einmalige Lage. More

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

With some friends, we spent a day in Lucerne and had dinner in this restaurant. The service was nice and friendly. We ordered a starter (selection from different Salamis, Olives, etc) which was very nice. As a main dish I chose Entrecote with fries. The entrecote was unfortunately quite cold. The rest of the food was okay, but I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear Crumpelstilzli H We’re very sorry about your experience in our restaurant. Actually, we didn’t know what really was wrong, and the counsel from our employee was not perfect but quiet right. We never had such an incident and we’re sure, that there was nothing wrong with our dishes. If there’s a food poisoning the responsing time of the body... More

Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very good Mediterranean food (terrific bouillabaisse), very nice cheese plate, serve-yourself bread table with just excellent breads (about 7-8 varieties), and a good cold foods buffet bar. Wines by-the-glass were few, but good. The setting is great (outdoor seating riverside, on the quiet side opposite old Town) so perhaps whereas someplace else the service might be considered a little slow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear DrGreis Thank you for the nice feedback. We're always striving to serve the guests the best of the best. We would be happy to see you again. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Einmalige Kulinarik. Einmalige Lage. More

Herts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you like cold food, the buffet is excellent, several cold fish dishes and numerous salads. You won't need a main course. The service is indeed a bit slow, but in this beautiful riverside setting, that doesn't matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear Martinsco Thank you for the flowers. Our Antipasti buffet is indeed a speciality of our restaurant. We're happy that you had a nice stay and it would be nice if we could they dine again. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Mediterrane Gefühle im Herzen Luzerns More

Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been to Opus a few times now, and each time has been enjoyable. It has become one of our go-to girls' night restaurants. There is a delicious "salad" plate. It is 26.-CHF for this monster plate that you can fill to the rafters with shrimp, muscles, olives, artichokes, cold pastas, and of course normal salad stuff with delcious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear ctepper Thank you for the flowers. You're allways welcome and we're happy to see you soon. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Einmalige Kulinarik. Einmalige Lage. More

South Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our group of 6 ate lunch here upon arriving in Luzern. The food, except for the burger, was really good. Order a local food and you will enjoy it. The chicken pot pie was very good, cooked in red sauce which was different. The service was an issue. A waitress that could speak English took our order but then the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear KisaMesue Thank you for the compliment to our citchen. We just started in the summerseason, that's why we have a lot of beginner stuff. They have many things to learn. Perhaps there was a little communication Problem and we are really sorry about it. We're looking forward to see you again. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Mediterrane Gefühle im Herzen More

Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here last Friday night. Our waitress was absolutely awful. She was inattentive, slow, and made several mistakes with our meal. My husband had a very mediocre hamburger, and I ordered one of the chicken specials which was plain and underwhelming. We wouldn't return for a meal. However, we did stop by the next night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opus_Manager_GP, Geschäftsführer at Restaurant Opus, responded to this review

Dear L M We are very sorry for the little desaster... The summerseason just started and we have many new employee. They have to learn many things at the same time and some times they couldn't learn as fast as they should. We hope, that you will be our guest again. Your Restaurant Opus-Team Einmalige Kulinarik. Einmalige Lage. More

Vaughan, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very centrally located, perfect to sit down in the middle of the city stroll. I had salad and the rest of my family had chicken pies and everybody was very happy with the meal. Desserts were amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Okay wines are very expensive in Switzerland. So unwinding in a vinotek would be short of being suicidal. However if you are prepared to splurge a little, savouring the the local wines in a friendly atmosphere with an equally friendly service is not a bad idea. You can drop in even late to taste the wines you like either by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had lunch in Opus many times before, so we knew that the food is excellent there. The place seems to have a quick staff turnover, you rarely see the same waiters again. This time the service staff was beyond poor. The girl swore at our table as she was clearly not focusing on her job. Later we saw how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Opus also viewed

 
Lucerne, Switzerland
Waedenswil, Switzerland
 

Been to Restaurant Opus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Opus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing