We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 271 Lucerne Restaurants

Restaurant Lapin

Museggstrasse 2 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
41-414188000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #33 of 271 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary, Brasserie, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lapin is a family run hotel-restaurant situated in the centre of Lucerne and is one of the city's leading restaurants. It has a cosy, rustic appearance and serves modern European cuisine specialising in regional dishes. The menu offers fish, meat and seafood dishes as well as traditional Swiss Käsespätzli (small dumplings with melted cheese) with chives and pumpkin potato strudel with parsley cream sauce. In addition to the standard menu, the restaurant offers a special every day and extensive 3 to 4 course weekly menus. The speciality of the house are the Ratsherrenspieße (a type of food served en brochette) with various types of meat and vegetables and are served flambéed at your table. Wine lovers can enjoy a selection of international wines to go with their meal. The Lapin also provides a traditional Lucerne setting.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

My friends and I ate at this restaurant, since we travelled in a group of 20, our food was only average. Was initially excited that this restaurant was a highly recommended place in Lucerne. Service is poor as we were herded into a large back room of the restaurant. Our preordered dinner was fish and Ratatouille which I was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your experience in our Establishment. It is the case that you had been in a group traveling who had booked a short 3-course budget lunch or dinner. These menus are prepared for the groups which usually do not have a lot of time. The restaurant with a la carte Menu... More

north carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Forget about the negative reviews, this is an excellent restaurant. We had Wild, deer saddle. absolutely perfect. Two plates, as usual in Switzerland, the waitress asked me if I wanted my sauce left on the table or kept warm until the second plate arrived. Asked for extra cranberries, appeared instantly. English spoken, no problem. very friendly, each item on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

The day we arrived in Lucerne was quite naturally tiring. We had flown all night and eager to see the beautiful city of Lucerne we hit the deck running during the day. By nightfall we were tired but still hungry and wanted to eat. We were happy to eat anything/anywhere. Lapin was convenient to our hotel and thus became first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband I had a most charming meal at Lapin during a recent trip to Lucerne. The restaurant has an old word feel and most sumptuous meals. The service was friendly and the owner stopped by to ensure the quality. A very civilized evening! Highly recommended and can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your nice and lovely Review. We glad you had enjoyedy our meal with us. I was delighted to meet you and hope to welcome you on another Occasion. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I had the most terrible experience one can have... My wife and 3 yr old son went first and selected a table. Even after saying that 3 more people(me and parents) are coming, the waitress was extremely rude.. (Basically since we were Indians). She was smiling at all other tables... After ordering 2 dishes ( which were pathetic and stale)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you had a unpleasant experience in our Restaurant. I am surprised due to the fact that we have so many clients from India in our Restaurant. We are definitively not racist. We are very happy to welcome all nations and all colour of clients in our restaurant. I believe there... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

it was fine with good and clean tables Chicken varieties was less........... Otherwise the food was fine with many bread varieties available.........

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your Review. We hope to be able to welcome you on another Occasion here in Lucerne. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and Lapin Team More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food was excellent, with generous portions, so good that we ate here 2 nights in a row. Prices seem in line with the other local restaurants. Staff very friendly. Pity it's not in uk !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Hello from Lucerne Well well, thank you for your nice review. We shall think about opening another Restaurant Lapin abroad. For the time beeing we want to surprise our clients with a very good service and our dishes freshly prepared. It is one of the best compliments if a client from abroad comes two times in a row to enjoy... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful salad bar, soups to die for and the sweets... ohhhh. Excellent variety on half board for main course, although there is a superb A La Cart menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your good reciew with full points. It seams we match your taste. We do have a very good Kitchen crew with experienced chefs. They are so good in creating the dishes. In one way traditional in the other way with local products. Thank you again for your nice words. We will pass on the comments. Hopefully... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant Lapin made room for our party of 8 Americans with great attentiveness. The manager helped with our orders, since he spoke excellent English. I had the Jubilee Menu (3 course prix fixe), which was delicious and a very good value. Gazpacho was unusually presented (cold broth with diced vegetables to add in) but very tasty. Roast saddle of rabbit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you very very much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you with us. I did serve your table. I was very pleased to see that you had followed some of my suggestions and did try our house specialities. I hope you had a good ongoing holiday and hopefully you can make it back sometimes.... More

Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant on our walk back from the Lion Gate. What a wonderful find. Himself had the 100 year old recipe for veal while I had the lapin leg. His was perfect and mine was so tender. We could not have been more pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this review

Hello And thank you very much for your nice review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your meal with us. Yes our Kitchen is preparing with great effort the dishes and our service cares about our clients. We wish you a good summer and maybe see you soon here again. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Lapin Team More

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lapin also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Lapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Lapin

Address: Museggstrasse 2 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number: 41-414188000
Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Lucerne  >  Lucerne
Average Prices: USD 19 - 48
Cuisine: Swiss, Contemporary, Brasserie, Fondue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing