We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Principe Cerami

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Piazza San Domenico, 5/59 | San Domenico Palace, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942613111
Improve this listing
Add hours for Principe Cerami and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 91 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Fell short of expectations

This Michelin 2 star restaurant was to be our treat at the end of a 3 week holiday. No doubt the food is good, the ravioli outstanding and the service perfect. But for these prices the food should all be absolutely sublime and it wasn't.

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 7, 2015
TEPEFLAUNDEN
,
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Having eaten at restaurants such as the fat duck, le Manoir, the Waterside inn we were very excited about going to the above restaurant whilst on honeymoon in Taormina. Our experience fell well short of our expectations. Initially we were left in the bar waiting for half an hour and had to go ask if our table was ready. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank BEAS25
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

This was by far the worst main fish course I have ever eaten. The fish can be best described as an Iceland fish finger as opposed to marks & spencer. I am not sure what it came with it appeared to be composed of cardboard. This was returned and replaced with breaded balls which contained mainly cheese and what was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

This Michelin 2 star restaurant was to be our treat at the end of a 3 week holiday. No doubt the food is good, the ravioli outstanding and the service perfect. But for these prices the food should all be absolutely sublime and it wasn't.

Helpful?
Thank TEPEFLAUNDEN
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear TEPEFLAUN, Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us. Outstanding ravioli and perfect service are wonderful compliments, and ones which I will be sure to share with the rest of the team. I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit... More 

India
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

This is a Two Star Michelin restaurant and I would describe my experience as 'a huge disappointment'. I booked well ahead and was eager to dine here only to be let down. I opted for the Euro 145 'Once upon a time' tasting menu and except for the Prawns the rest of them were a shame. They flood you with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

SagarVS, thank you for the time that you have spent to leave a review on Trip Advisor . We are very sorry to know that our service was not good as per our normal standards, please accept our apologies. We are glad that your companion appreciated the “Once Upon a Time” menu that was modify for her with vegetarian dishes.... More 

chennI
Level Contributor
459 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

The hotel itself is amazing and the views over the balcony where you are seated is breathtaking. Very limited seating and in good weather, it was really great to sit outside ,soaking in the views for 2 odd hours. Have nothing to complain or complement on the food. Expected a lot and was really average. Presentation was elegant..but taste did... More 

Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear Waldshut , Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your evening with us at the Principe Cerami Restaurant, we are very sorry that you have not enjoy it, especially we are sorry to known it thru Trip Advisor. Our Maitre came several time at your table to ask about the dinner and you did not... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

I just had dinner at this 2 star Michelin Restaurant. 360 Euros worth of tasteless, ordinary food. The worst meal I every had in Italy. The Sicilian wines were great but the food was not creative and they did nothing to make things better. Many times throughout the meal we were alone with no one to ask to help. I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank waldshut
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear Waldshut , Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your evening with us at the Principe Cerami Restaurant, we are very sorry that you have not enjoy it, especially we are sorry to known it thru Trip Advisor. Our Maitre came several time at your table to ask about the dinner and you did not... More 

New York City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

This is a typical fine dining experience: very solid tasting menus, snappy service, knowledgable staff, overall very fine experience. There are only seven or eight tables on the terrace of this converted monastery. In such a crowded city as Taormina in August, this is a nice respite. The view sweeps from the Greek amphitheater across town to the ocean below... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarrenCampo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful dining experience at Principe Cerami. it's typical formal dining you'd expect from a place of its level. The service is perfection, the guests were a mix of people from around the world, only 7 tables but still, a good mix, and the wine that was chosen for us was perfection. The food was good, but was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RyFy
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your impression left on Trip Advisor regarding Principe Cerami Restaurant. I am very sorry that our staff did not spoiled you as La Capinera ones. Best regards Luisa Cacopardo Assistant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

We visited here at the end of our 11 day visit to Sicily and experiencing a fine dining version of the excellent local cuisine rounded off our trip perfectly. The food was beautiful but lacked any real "wow factor"- we didn't come away with tastebuds doing somersaults and raving about any particular element. I know the ethos is supposed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank James A
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Principe Cerami Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that the general feel of the dinner was good and that you have appreciated the extra courses(amuse bouche, palate cleansers, predesserts ecc) even without WOW factor. Thank you again for the time you have spend to leave your impression.... More 

Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

This restaurant has a great location and an excellent view of the sea and Etna. We had the largest tasting menu, and it was excellent with the wine pairing. The sommelier was very friendly. We celebrated a birthday, and they had prepared a surprise cake, free of charge. A great evening!

Helpful?
Thank Anebry123
Luisa C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Principe Cerami, responded to this review

Dear Anebry123, than you so much for you review. It was a great idea to choose the testing Menu because gives you a better idea of the general concept of Massimo Mantarro kitchen. I will pass your compliment to Alessandro (our Sommelier) and the entire Team of Principe Cerami Restaurant Sincerely Luisa Cacopardo Assistant Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Principe Cerami also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Principe Cerami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Piazza San Domenico, 5/59 | San Domenico Palace, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Sicily  >  Province of Messina  >  Taormina
  • Phone Number: 0942613111

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Principe Cerami staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?