We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Al Tuguri

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Maiorca 113, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 079 976 772
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Al Tuguri and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 330 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 174
    Excellent
  • 83
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very delightful

Great little restaurant with a few tables and excellent food. Price was good and mix of dishes and wine was perfect. The host/owner was very helpful and we took the chefs recommended menu and was really nice. would definitely go back when back in Alghero.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 7, 2015
oliver s
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

I highly recommend this place for excellent food! small, nice interior, very friendly service, we were very delighted! :) Not quite sure what to say about dessert - vanilla ice cream with alcoholic basil sauce - liquor. it was very... disturbing ;) but interesting

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We booked a table 3 days in advance. When we arrived at the restaurant we didn't know where to go, as there wasn't anybody to direct us or show us to our table. We finally find our way upstairs where a very unpolite waitress told us that we were half hour late and they gave our table to other people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Please, be serious... You booked a table for 7 people at 19:30 and you arrived at 20:15... You reserved by phone 3 days in advance and so, the evening of the booking, in the moment you discovered it took longer than you thought to reach the restaurant, you could easily give us another phone call to warn us... More 

Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Excellent food and nice staff. Small restaurant but very friendly and warm. You have to like fish to come here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Great little restaurant with a few tables and excellent food. Price was good and mix of dishes and wine was perfect. The host/owner was very helpful and we took the chefs recommended menu and was really nice. would definitely go back when back in Alghero.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I really wanted to love this place - it looks the part, great reviews but I was just disappointed. We had the lobster tasting menu. The starter 5 'tastes' of fish: 1 was great, 1 awful (tasting of those lemon hand towelettes to me) & the others bland but ok. The steamed skate with pasta didn't work for me, fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We kindly respect your opionion... Anyway, an opinion is an opinion... As for the lobster, for instance, we really do not understand what you mean... Expecially this part... ''lots of white cooking protein on show and (worryingly for a Mediterranean lobster) was served with claw meat''... Not because we do not understand your words... Words are clear... On... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Went here for dinner expecting something special, given the restaurant has a Michelin star and was even mentioned in our DK Eyewitness guidebook. The experience started pleasantly enough with the chef/owner coming out for a chat, making some recommendations and taking the order. The recommendations felt a bit overly insistent though and he was pressuring us to order more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We have already expressed regrets by sending you a private message... We renew now what we wrote to you days ago... It would have been better if you wrote us back... It should be polite to answer when someone express regrets, but... That's it, you did not... Till now, in years, we have fortunately received only 19 bad... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Have been at this restaurant two days ago .old house in the ancient city.The chef by him self took our orders.We were two persons with two dishes And they mixed one.Instead of pasta with mussels they brought me only mussel.I had to wait untill they did the right order.At the end Instead of the right bill wich was75 euro, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We respect your opinion but we think you are ''a bit'' exaggerating things... Firs of all, you spoke a good Italian and during the order you asked for ''Cozze'', using the Italian word for mussels... As you can easily check on our web-site, page ''Menu'', Pasta with mussels doesn't exist... The correct voice is ''Trenette per il dio... More 

newyork
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

This small, charming restaurant in an old house (steep steps) serves excellent seafood and meat dishes, with some vegetarian options. The very hospitable proprietor chef keeps a close eye on everything, sign of a well-run restaurant. Cozy, intimate, delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Callao, Venezuela
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Wonderful food experience, fresh and delicious Mediterranean meal. Perfect to celebrate a special occasion. My birthday here was memorable. The atmosphere was lovely and magical. Good wine and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
182 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Nice intimate restaurant. Good service. Nice wine. Quite expensive for what we got. Nothing at all wrong with the food we were given but it didn't match up to the pics on the website. We both had different degustazione menus. Nice but not as nice as we hoped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Al Tuguri also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Al Tuguri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Maiorca 113, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Sardinia  >  Province of Sassari  >  Alghero
  • Phone Number: +39 079 976 772

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 77 - 170
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Al Tuguri staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?