We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Al Tuguri

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Via Maiorca 113, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 079 976 772
Website
Add hours for Al Tuguri and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 303 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 157
    Excellent
  • 76
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
A Michelin Guide restaurant

This is a sweet little restaurant. I really wanted to take the lunch menu (25 Euros) but I was misunderstood and got the 4 meals menu (45 Euros). We ordered one menu with the local Sardinian specialities and one with the fish specialities. This is a very clever way to taste as many plates as... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 16, 2014
Oscar_from_Denmark
,
Denmark
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I really wanted to love this place - it looks the part, great reviews but I was just disappointed. We had the lobster tasting menu. The starter 5 'tastes' of fish: 1 was great, 1 awful (tasting of those lemon hand towelettes to me) & the others bland but ok. The steamed skate with pasta didn't work for me, fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We kindly respect your opionion... Anyway, an opinion is an opinion... As for the lobster, for instance, we really do not understand what you mean... Expecially this part... ''lots of white cooking protein on show and (worryingly for a Mediterranean lobster) was served with claw meat''... Not because we do not understand your words... Words are clear... On... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Went here for dinner expecting something special, given the restaurant has a Michelin star and was even mentioned in our DK Eyewitness guidebook. The experience started pleasantly enough with the chef/owner coming out for a chat, making some recommendations and taking the order. The recommendations felt a bit overly insistent though and he was pressuring us to order more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We have already expressed regrets by sending you a private message... We renew now what we wrote to you days ago... It would have been better if you wrote us back... It should be polite to answer when someone express regrets, but... That's it, you did not... Till now, in years, we have fortunately received only 19 bad... More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Have been at this restaurant two days ago .old house in the ancient city.The chef by him self took our orders.We were two persons with two dishes And they mixed one.Instead of pasta with mussels they brought me only mussel.I had to wait untill they did the right order.At the end Instead of the right bill wich was75 euro, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al_Tuguri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Al Tuguri, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We respect your opinion but we think you are ''a bit'' exaggerating things... Firs of all, you spoke a good Italian and during the order you asked for ''Cozze'', using the Italian word for mussels... As you can easily check on our web-site, page ''Menu'', Pasta with mussels doesn't exist... The correct voice is ''Trenette per il dio... More 

newyork
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

This small, charming restaurant in an old house (steep steps) serves excellent seafood and meat dishes, with some vegetarian options. The very hospitable proprietor chef keeps a close eye on everything, sign of a well-run restaurant. Cozy, intimate, delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Callao, Venezuela
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Wonderful food experience, fresh and delicious Mediterranean meal. Perfect to celebrate a special occasion. My birthday here was memorable. The atmosphere was lovely and magical. Good wine and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Nice intimate restaurant. Good service. Nice wine. Quite expensive for what we got. Nothing at all wrong with the food we were given but it didn't match up to the pics on the website. We both had different degustazione menus. Nice but not as nice as we hoped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

My husband and I, along with 2 frIends went to this restaurant for a birthday lunch today. Our treat. Outside the restaurant is a board advertising a 25 Euro lunchtime special. When we entered the premises we were met by a tired, miserable head waiter who pointed to a table in a corner. He did not attempt to show us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Took some friends for a birthday lunch treat after viewing their lunchtime set menu for €25. Nice little restaurant but things went downhill from there as the beautifully attired Maître De waived us to a table for four and went off. My friend went to get a chair to sit on! Return of the MD and handed the full menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denmark
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is a sweet little restaurant. I really wanted to take the lunch menu (25 Euros) but I was misunderstood and got the 4 meals menu (45 Euros). We ordered one menu with the local Sardinian specialities and one with the fish specialities. This is a very clever way to taste as many plates as possible. I wasn't disappointed. Everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by the guide book we sought out this intimate Catalan restaurant and weren't disappointed. We went for the seafood tasting menu and had wonderful personal service from the patron. Each of the three fish courses were a delight - an initial plate of small morsels with 5 types of fish, the main course of three types of fish, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Al Tuguri also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Al Tuguri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Maiorca 113, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Sardinia  >  Province of Sassari  >  Alghero
  • Phone Number: +39 079 976 772

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 77 - 170
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Al Tuguri staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?