We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Fontanella Sistina

Neighborhood:
Colonna
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Via Sistina, 151, 00187 Rome, Italy
06 4880519
Website
Add hours for La Fontanella Sistina and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Local cuisine
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 301 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 64
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Horrible!

Lucky for the restaurant this doesn't offer free wifi, if this was the case we would have read the reviews online and left before we got ripped off and vastly disappointed. This was our last day in Rome, like most other reviews on here and we had just visited the Crypts of the Capuchin Order... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
Ian B
,
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Lucky for the restaurant this doesn't offer free wifi, if this was the case we would have read the reviews online and left before we got ripped off and vastly disappointed. This was our last day in Rome, like most other reviews on here and we had just visited the Crypts of the Capuchin Order. Great museum - just don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at La Fontanella Sistina, responded to this review

I have read your critique and you are seemed me very severe and few truthful. I am sorry a lot for the rough words that you have used for my wife, I have enough ages to understand that it is difficult for many people to be to the really place without offending other people that don't know. On the food... More 

Hamburg
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

The reason that we have entered this restaurant was that at lunch time it was raining very hard. Then we have got the first impression. The wife of the owner was standing infront of the entrance to smoke! Inside we have asked the waiter for fresh fish and we got offered ROMBO and LOBSTER. Of course the menu was only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at La Fontanella Sistina, responded to this review

Mister Alster Hamburg in my local lady is going to rub people. This is demonstrated by the fact that we have weighed the fish just to avoid the surprise after with the bill . in fact you could choose whether to take it or don't order it. It is important that I respond to this review to make everyone understand... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

We went for dinner on Thursday and everything was excellent: food, service and atmosphere. We have returned also on Friday...This is a family owned restaurant and I highly recommend it. Will definately be back on our next trip to Rome..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Presov Region, Slovakia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The owner obnoxiously convinced us to eat here, and we reluctantly agreed because we were in a hurry and other restaurants were closed. When we tried to order all we wanted was soup and spaghetti. For some reason, he told us it was not possible to eat here unless we order more food. When we told him we did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We picked this restaurant to eat at before we left rome, the food was okay but the service sucked. The waiter just took our orders bought the food and drinks and never came back to see how we were doing, or ask if we wanted anything else, not to mention that while we were waiting for the check they dimmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ristoranl, Proprietario at La Fontanella Sistina, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as if in our restaurant working automatons and not of the people. It was January 1 as you have mentioned in the title of your review ... maybe we were a little tired ... a bit of humanity please instead write a so ugly comment. at that time the lights are turned off because... More 

SOUTH WEST UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We were walking towards the Barberini and hopefully the Via Veneto. This is a wide boring avenue really with tourist eateries. We saw this place by chance by crossing the road. It is down a side street. It was very busy. It is a real restaurant rather than a pizzeria etc. They had to lock the door to stop customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Bad service price-ratio. i.g. 6 Euro for one small artichoke! On top they have forgotten our order for over one hour without any excuse.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Decided to try this place on Via Sistina for lunch. The place was fairly crowded and took forever to be waited upon. Food was priced reasonably but was pretty mediocre. The gnocchi was completely undercooked and was pasty. When the waiter was informed about this he dismissed it saying that is how gnocchi should be. Terrible service and to top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
connecticut, US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Rude service gradually changed to better. No wifi, no credit card and pretty tasteless food leaves nothing to recommend for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This place is just off Piazza Barberini, one of the first restaurants in Via Sistini (right hand side from Piazza Barberini). Took a peek at the menu when the waiter was talking to other potential customers (I hate it when they try to drag me in when I am just looking at a menu). Nevertheless gave it a try as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed La Fontanella Sistina also viewed

 

Been to La Fontanella Sistina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Sistina, 151, 00187 Rome, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Lazio  >  Rome>  > Colonna
  • Neighborhood: Colonna
  • Phone Number: 06 4880519

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Fontanella Sistina staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?