We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matermatuta

Via Milano, 47 | Rione Monti, 00100 Rome, Italy
+39 06 482 3962
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #81 of 7,940 restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $35 - $90
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: 40 seats divided into 4 rooms furnished in 70's glam style.Mediterranean cousine, especially fish, with selected and strictly seasonal products, it does not fail to wink to the traditional Roman dishes.The wine list is constantly evolving, careful to offer Italian excellence in the right quality / price ratio.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    321
    114
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of our two best meals during our Italy trip and easily the best in Rome, by a wide margin. The appetizers were good but not great, but the mixed seafood platter was simply wonderful - fresh, great variety and perfectly cooked. The wine list was amazing and very reasonably priced, and our server recommended a little known... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Outstanding and very creative food and service. The location is cosy and quite. Chose your dining room according to your favourite color! Best restaurant in Rome for us, and we have tried 6-7 different ones in 4 days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We travelled around Italy for 8 days and this was by far the highlight of our trip. We had a very charming young Italian waiter. We were seated in a room with only one other table in it. We enjoyed three courses. To start we had baked artichokes and beef carpaccio. Both dishes were amazing. For starters the servings were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was here for dinner with friends, we had excellent food, mostly raw fish, in a nice atmosphere. "Dadolata di tonno" and "gnocchi viola" are definitely something to try. The quality is very high and price are very reasonable. Good choice of wines. A place you must go if you want fresh fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The fruity icecream was insanely good. And the main course was good as well. Service ws friendly....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Honestly the best meals we had on our trip. Ate here two nights in a row we were that impressed! Great quality and value food, with fantastic staff and a unique atmosphere. Perfect for any trip and occasion, can't wait for next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Campania, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I read several wonderful reviews, and decided to give it a try. I was disappointed when the items I ordered did not come out as described. For example, I ordered a pasta that was supposed to have scallops and roe. When the dish arrived it had mussels and clams, no scallops at all. Neither mussels or clams were mentioned in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
matermatutarist, Proprietario at Matermatuta, responded to this review
Google Translation

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review on TA. I just want to something about your food. As you write,... More

New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went here for dinner one night based on a recommendation by our hotel as someplace both close and with a different menu. We did not regret the referral. The restaurant itself is effectively below street level, and the dining area we sat in was quite tiny, with huge chairs, but the space was reasonably bright and we didn't feel too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is one of the best meals we had during our four days stay in Rome. The ingredients quality is amazing and are prepared with creativity and talent. The service is excellent as well. We were seated in a little intimate alcove. The wine list is great. We will definitely visit again on our next trip to Rome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall, food is good, they need more staff and some of the dishes are a big miss. I wanted to rate Matermatuta higher but unfortunately we made poor choices with the food and the service was sub par. Suggestion: order the tuna tartare, orecchiette, and steak - you will be very happy with your meal - the steak was out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
matermatutarist, Proprietario at Matermatuta, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm so sorry for your bad experience in our restaurant, expecially because your food wasn't so bad, as you wrote. I really don't remember when you came in our restaurant, so that I can't understand where was the problem with the service. I appreciate your criticisms because they permit us... More

Travelers who viewed Matermatuta also viewed

 

Been to Matermatuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matermatuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing