We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chef Squillante al Ghibli

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Marina Piccola, 49, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
+39 081 878 4063
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Chef Squillante al Ghibli and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 514 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 372
    Excellent
  • 84
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Chateaubriand is a DO NOT MISS!

After some research on this site I was excited to try Chef Squliiante. We asked our hotel if they would recommend something for dinner and they suggested Chef Squliiante so we thought we made the right decision. A short taxi ride and brief walk we were seated at beautiful table on the water. I... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 31, 2015
DebboHB
,
Huntington Beach, California
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

After some research on this site I was excited to try Chef Squliiante. We asked our hotel if they would recommend something for dinner and they suggested Chef Squliiante so we thought we made the right decision. A short taxi ride and brief walk we were seated at beautiful table on the water. I came specifically for the Lemon Pasta... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Visited chef squillante during our stay in Sorrento. Easy to find - just opposite where the ferries go from. The lady that runs the restaurant was really friendly, service was good from all the staff and the food was top notch. We had a free pre-starter and petit fours after our desserts! Lovely little touches - would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for visiting us and for the excellent review! Thank you also for your compliments to the food and the staff. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, The Squillante family More 

Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The man at the front desk of our hotel recommended this restaurant when we asked where to go for seafood and told us they had a free shuttle that would pick us up. I work at a hotel and when people ask me where to go I tell them my honest favorites. It became evident after the meal that he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

After reading the reviews we decided to give this restaurant a visit and we were not disappointed. The welcome was friendly and we were shown all of the fresh fish that was on offer. The manager was extremely helpful and made us feel completely at ease. All 3 courses were beautifully presented and tasted magnificent! I would personally recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Proprietario at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, it’s a great incentive for us to keep working hard. We are glad to read that you are fully satisfied with our service and food and that you noted and appreciated the freshness of our products, as well as the presentation and the taste. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

The staff were very friendly and attentive to us though the meal, they picked us up from the hotel, which was nice. They started by bringing us live lobsters and sea bass caught on the day and we picked the lobster for main. The 3 courses we had were all well cooked, but the flavours seemed to be lacking somewhat,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

The food was good but there are better choices in Sorrento. The location is very nice but the wait staff leaves much to be desired. Their cocky, dismissive attitude made it seem as if they don't like tourists. We liked the owner and the young waiter who came to pick us up at the hotel but, otherwise, it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I have mixed feelings about this restaurant. It was recommended by out hotel staff as being on the beach - it really is, around a corner and in the back, having some dirty storages as neighbores. The lady who welcomed us and took our order was nice and friendly, but I could not get rid of the impression that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Direttore at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry to read about your review, it gave me mixed feelings, too . Obviously we can’t choice our neighbors, but we work very hard to give our guests the best experience with us; therefore I am disappointed that you mention the bottle issue, since you asked me to have it cooler, because 4°C was not enough and that... More 

West Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The restaurant is located right on the beach in Marina Piccola but do not be put off by the so called difficulty of finding this lovely place, they can arrange to collect you from your hotel and take you back up the hill after your meal. Once off the mini bus my wife and I were greeted by the co-owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Staff at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that, in both occasions, you have appreciated the food and the quality of the service we provide. Every day we work hard and full of enthusiasm, tring to offer our guests the best we can and they deserve. We all look forward to welcome you back in... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

The food is delicious and far outweighs the service which was indifferent verging on "not bothered". However as stated the food was worth it and the location which was right on the beach can't be beaten. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Staff at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for recommending us. We are pleased you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and look forward to welcome you in the very near future. Best regards, Ghibli's staff More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We've just had the best meal of our Sorrento trip and it was here. Very easy to get to either by bus or the lift down to Marina Piccolo. Don't understand the people on here who said it was out the way - it really isn't. Walk straight past the restaurants who have people outside trying to drag you in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant_Ghibli, Direttore at Chef Squillante al Ghibli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for calling us “Little gem”. Thantk you for mentioning in particular me and my way to look after my guest. Every day all my team, work hard to assure the best experience to our guests. We are glad to read that you are going to come back so we look forward to see you... More 

Travelers who viewed Chef Squillante al Ghibli also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Chef Squillante al Ghibli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Marina Piccola, 49, 80067 Sorrento, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Campania  >  Province of Naples  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +39 081 878 4063

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 40

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chef Squillante al Ghibli and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chef Squillante al Ghibli staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?