We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arcano

Mercaders, 10 | La Ribera - Born, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 95 64 67
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 5,913 restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!Open Monday to Sunday from 6:00 p.M. To 2:00 a.M. Kitchen open until 24:00 hs
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    372
    121
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

Loved the atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and attentive. And was really good value for what we got. It is more expensive and more of a sit down meal than say most places you would expect to eat in Barcelona, but the food was fab. Would definitely return and recommend to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Definetly one of the best experience I´ve never had in a restaurant, actually everything was on the way, my girlfriend and me were tired about tourist tapas in la rambla, and we found this lovely restaurant hidden in the middle of "borne", when we came in and discovered an old stables reconverted as a restaurant, was a big surprise for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

We are delighted that you liked the "Arcano experience". Thanks for your words. Hope to see you again suddenly. Greetings! More

Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

Very very good food, wine and cocktails at reasonable prices combined with excellent service; in short a great experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

Thanks DK-Reiziger for your comments. We are glad to have served you. Thanks for coming, and remember that you can follow our news and events on Facebook/arcanorestaurante. Greetings! More

Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We had a very good meal here. It is difficult to judge the service because we went during the finals of the World Cup Soccer and the chef and all the servers were literally glued to the TVs. The food was very good, however, and our waiter, who was French, was very kind and helpful. I want to go again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

CATravelingfool, Thanks for coming. We regret that the service has not lived up of what you deserve (It was a strange night). Please, keep your promise and come back soon, we want to show you the real "Arcano experience". Greetings ! More

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

I have mixed feelings regarding this restaurant. The Sangria de cava ... excellent. The craft beer (??) that is homebrewn according to the staff is so sweet - it tastes like a mix of beer and fruit juice. Not very "beery" to me. The selfmade Ravioli were really excellent. As was the catalan sausage tapas. My friend was not very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

We regret that the atmosphere and the service was not liked. This is not the usual "Arcane Experience." Thanks for coming and apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you visit us again to serve you as we usually do. Best Regards More

Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

My mom and I stopped here without reservations and fresh from the beach with salt in our hair. Despite this, the waiter was happy to seat us for what I can safely say was the best meal I've had in recent memory. The ravioli with four cheese sauce was phenomenal, but of course the best part was the steak. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

Laura, Thanks for visiting and for your comment. If you've lived a special night, our goal is compliment. Hope to see you soon! . Greetings ;) More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW via mobile

Frankly I was treated so rudely when entering this restaurant, I never had opportunity to try their food. They insisted I had no reservation even though our hotel booked it, and I had the confirmation paper. We were then told we could sit and wait, while the staff then when about their business and forgot about us. We then went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Just a few streets off a main tourist avenue is a restaurant that serves five star meals in a small beautiful place, The meal is expensive but if your going to treat yourself you won't be disappointed. We had three different entrees but they were all amazing. The chocolate mouse pyramid will never be forgotten. They have a wide range... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

Thanks for coming, Hope to see you suddenly ;) More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I started off our honeymoon in Barcelona and we checked tripadvisor for a good place to go for dinner in walking distance. Arcano was AMAZING the food the service the whole look of the restaurant. We loved is so much that even thought we were only in Barcelona for 4 night we went back to Arcano for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

Comments like yours, drive us to continue giving the best. Thank you!. We're waiting for you ;) More

eastbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We chose the 15€ set meal, it was good,but next time I would choose the chicken rather than the steak because the steak was rather chewy for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We really appreciate it. Please, next time, just tell us what doneness you prefer and we will take care of it. Hope to see you soon! More

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing