We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bar la cepa

Calle 31 de agosto, #7, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
943426394
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Making dinner plans? Search availability and book online
Find a restaurant
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    65
    78
    32
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great place to sample the region's wines and tapas plates. You can choose an assortment based on what looks good and the price ends up being very reasonable. We enjoyed it. It's only a 10 min. walk from oceanfront hotels. Wonderful spot to enjoy the typical cuisine and people watch, and the staff were very friendly and helpful even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed with us. Hope you also enjoyed the city. See you soon!! Thanks a lot! More

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A wonderfully atmospheric bar with friendly service and OH... The Iberico ham! It is Melt in the Mouth Marvellous. Gorgeous other tapas available too but you'll never forget the taste of that ham... Incredibly good. When you're in San Sebastian don't miss this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The ham is one of our specialties, so we are happy that you liked it so much. Hope you enjoyed San Sebastian. See you soon again, thanks a lot! More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We are on a 5 day visit to San Sebastian, and plan to go back for more every day until we leave... get the "racion entera" of their ham (enough for 2-3 people). It's amazing! The fried calamari was perfect was well - if you like them light battered they are the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Good morning! Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you liked our food -the ham is probably one of our best dishes-. It will be nice to see you again before you part. We hope that you are enjoying your visit to San Sebastian. Thanks a lot! More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

While wandering around the old town we stopped in and enjoyed lunch here. With 10 people we had a big range of dishes ordered and every one was a simple dish on a plate, no frills and quite delicious. Don't forget to order the sliced jamon iberico. Very reasonably priced and charming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for sharing your opinion. We are happy that you liked the food -iberics are one of our best dishes- and the atmosphere. Hope you enjoyed San Sebastian and the old part. See you soon! More

Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Packed each time we came past here...good traditional pintxos in a cheap informal setting (the bar area has shared bench seating and a very international as well as local crowd), The restaurant is more formal, but we filled up quickly and cheaply in the bar with stuffed mussels and peppers, croquettes, ham and some other snacks (including an excellent ham/roquefort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Hello Brian, Thanks a lot for your visit and for sharing your opinion. Its an honour that you came three times, as there are great places in the old part. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and the atomsphere. We are happy everything was fine with the language and the atention. We hope that ypu enjpoyed the old... More

Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off for some tapas in the early evening when the place was quiet.Wonderful potato and jamon as well as red pepper croquettes and morcilla with peppers.Friendly bar staff,good selection of wines and reasonable prices.One of the better places in the Old Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thanks for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed you visit to our bar. It is a big honour that you consider La Cepa one of the best places in the Old Part, because there are other great stablishments. Thanks a lot, we hope to see you soon! More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

La Cepa is far from the worst restaurant in this renowned foodie region but there are a lot better to be found. For those looking to sample local dishes there's plenty to choose from but overall our visit was a disappointing experience for the $$$. While the crab and veal we had for mains were both ok, these, a simple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thanks for sharing your opinion. We are sad that your experience was not as good as we would have liked. We hope that you enjoyed the city and the old part. Thanks again. More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

La Cepa was located a stone's throw from where we were staying but it wasn't just convenience that made us come back more than once. A great atmosphere with interesting decor and some really lovely pintxos with table service. Menus in multiple languages are great for beginners and a friendly smile when you return is just what a tourist needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for sending your opinion. We are glad to see that you liked our bar and our food, and that you also enkoyed San Sebastian. Hope to see you again soon, thanks a lot!! More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Now I must confess to having had a few calimochos with nothing to eat since breakfast. But I do remember the food being really good, however the dearest meal I had during the week by sum margin, a bigger margin than the increase in quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review

Thanks a lor for your opinion.We try to adjust the price to the quality of the product. Hope that you enjoyed San Sebastian and to see you again, thanks a lot!! More

Blueys Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We dropped in to Bar la Cepa for coffee while waiting for La Vina to open and enjoyed a totally delectable Tarta de Manzana. Not sure if La Vina would be open at all on Easter Monday we decided to order a main course. We shared a dish of Veal Cheek which was 17 euros, not too bad but definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaCePa, Propietario at Bar la cepa, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por enviarnos tu opinión. Nos alegramos de que estuvieseis a gusto y de que os gustase nuestra tarta.... More

Travelers who viewed Bar la cepa also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Bar la cepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar la cepa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing