We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT

#319 of 6,082 Restaurants in Berlin
#344 of 6,349 Places to Eat in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Neighborhood:
Mitte
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Platz der Republik 1 | Im Deutschen Bundestag, 11011 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 22629933
Website
Today
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 417 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 175
    Excellent
  • 160
    Very good
  • 48
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Very good food and you get to see the Reichstag

As part of our German experience our guide took us to the Reichstag followed by lunch at Dachgarten restaurant. The restaurant was fairly crowded but service was efficient if not friendly. Since the menu is fairly limited we opted for the Veal meatballs which was a rather filling choice. A... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2015
Michael G
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

As part of our German experience our guide took us to the Reichstag followed by lunch at Dachgarten restaurant. The restaurant was fairly crowded but service was efficient if not friendly. Since the menu is fairly limited we opted for the Veal meatballs which was a rather filling choice. A better suggestion might've been to share the meatballs and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

We are happy that we convinced you of our high quality intentions and our good service! It was a pleasure for us welcoming you and your guests and really hope for a next time! www.feinkost-kaefer.de More 

Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

Our concierge managed to secure a reservation for 4 people at 6:30 on a Thursday evening. Reservations provided access to the glass dome of the Reichstag that we greatly enjoyed visiting after dinner. Because of security to the Reichstag a reservation is necessary. Passports are checked at the security screening before being ushered upstairs. The hostess was very pleasant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

We wanted to visit the Reichstag and visit the dome, but had heard all about the long queue times. Booking the Käfer restaurant for breakfast was a great way to do it. Having a restaurant booking meant you can skip the queues, and booking for breakfast (our booking was 9.30am) meant that we were up there before the crowds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and your positive feedback. We are really looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. www.feinkost-kaefer.de More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Asparagus season in Germany means you cannot avoid this overrated veg, but this restaurant made it tasty, but the star was a fantastic beef fillet. Nice wine and dessert made for a great meal, so multiply this with the unique venue, and fantastic view it's a winner for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Round Rock, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We arrived a minute or 2 before our reservation time and were ignored by 2 or 3 people who walked by for at least 10 minutes. We were finally seated at a nice corner table with a good view. A large party of about 60 were having drinks on the balcony and dinner inside and then two other groups of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Many thanks for your mail and your feedback concerning your stay a few days ago in our Käfer rooftop restaurant in German Parliament. We are really sorry that were disappointed during your stay in our restaurant. We always try to satisfy our guests and fulfill all their wishes; therefore we would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Sometimes there are... More 

Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We made reservations here for my husband's birthday and were disappointed with the overall experience. The waitstaff were very pleasant, but the menu is lacking in options. We had the flank steak which was plentiful but tough and not very tasty. However, the asparagus soup was delicious but quite pricey. Unless you were seated in a window seat, you really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Many thanks for your mail and your feedback for your stay in the Käfer rooftop restaurant. We are really sorry for the inconveniences you had and that you could not enjoy your stay in our restaurant. We really hope to convince you of our good quality of food, the excellent service and the perfect view over Berlin during your next... More 

Midlands
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

A brilliant experience eating at this restaurant on the viewing platform of the Reichstag building. Advance reservations are needed due to securty reasons,(and take your passport to gain entry) however if you book a meal you by-pass the queues to get into the building. Great service and superb food, beautifully presented served in a stylish but simple setting. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and your positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Realised we would not be able to book a tour of the Reichstag Dome so booked this restaurant for breakfast.. What a good move. We had a table booked for 9am. Had to arrive at 0830 to get through security. Avoided all the lines and went straight up in the lift. Had time to go round the dome - which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and your very positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

For a restaurant with a high reputation, this was very disappointing experience. We had a set menu, which was certainly not Germanic at all. Wine was nice, but overall certainly nothing spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your complain. We were glad if you give us a second chance. Best wishes More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Sipping a glass of Sekt watching the morning sun over the Berlin rooftops. Perfect way to start the day. Celebration brunch was memorable. It is expensive (€35 per head for brunch I think), but really a special meal and we didn't need to eat again until evening. Also you get into the Reichstag without queuing for a ticket. REMEMBER YOUR... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jan B, Geschäftsführer at Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and your positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Travelers who viewed Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Platz der Republik 1 | Im Deutschen Bundestag, 11011 Berlin, Germany
  • Location: Europe  >  Germany  >  Berlin>  > Mitte
  • Neighborhood: Mitte
  • Phone Number: +49 30 22629933

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 80
  • Cuisine: German

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
6:30 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kaefer DACHGARTEN-RESTAURANT staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood