We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Potiniere

38 Place Balmat, Chamonix, France
0450530284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 165 Restaurants in Chamonix
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
31 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    42
    24
    15
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We chose La Potiniere becuase the great location it had. It is on the main street in chamonix center, which is full of shops, cafe and restaurants. We ordered italian menu unless chicken nuggets for the kids. We had vegetables Pizza, Onion soup, Lasagna, Spaghetti and chicken nuggets for the kids. I can rate the food as average, the Lasanga... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Average food, service ok not a long wait for food and drinks even though quite busy outside, very similar prices and food as most of the restaurants in the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Conveniently located on the Main Street in Chamonix, this outdoor dining establishment serves less than average food. My wife's arrabiatta pizza was one of the poorest tasting she's ever had. My mussels were plentiful but overlooked in a bland broth. There are so many other choices in Chamonix to try. Don't waste your time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Group of three enjoyed dinner here last Friday night. We ordered 2 pizzas and a large "salade du marché" to share. With three pints of beer, the bill came to 61 euros which seemed pretty reasonable for Chamonix - and we were stuffed! Service was friendly and the food arrived quickly. Pizzas were well-topped (see photos) and the salad was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I couldn't possibly recommend this dump to anyone. Even the pigeons walking around your feet were ignoring the food - now that's saying something. My grossly overpriced burger comprised the cheapest possible meat that wasn't cooked properly and the bun used to soak up the fat that had come out of it. Even the fries were poor! The pizzas eaten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
franck d, Propriétaire at La Potiniere, responded to this review
Google Translation

bonsoir j espère un jour ne pas devoir attraper les pigeons sur ma terrasse pour les mettre dans les plats... More

Gaillard, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Starting with the good points. The location is absolutely fabulous, great for people watching (which we had plenty of time to do while waiting for some service), however once the waitress came she was lovely and very sweet. The food however, was just gross. I had about 2 bites of my salad and after all the dirt, just let it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had our first lunch here and it was lovely! Good value it just lacks atmosphere. I would still recommend due to the food being great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Waiters were very friendly and made sure we were happy with the service and food. Food was tasty and the atmosphere was nice too. we went there for dinner and was very satisfied with the food and the experience. Try it !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not sure where to get lunch in Chamonix, we stopped in La Potiniere. It turned out to be a good choice. The menu was easy to understand, our waiter was very helpful and knew English, and the food was excellent. In the end, we had more food and drink than needed. Cost, per person, for main dish, drinks, and desert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went there for a late lunch. The restaurant was empty, service was quite good. The onion soup was very good, pizzas on average and fondue from Raclette to tasty for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed La Potiniere also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Potiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Potiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing