We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bar Andre

French, German, Seafood, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Rue Saint-Jean-du-Perot, 17000 La Rochelle, France
05 4641 2824
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For over 70 years, le Bar Andre has welcomed diners aboard a ship "moored...
For over 70 years, le Bar Andre has welcomed diners aboard a ship "moored" at the foot of the towers in the old port of La Rochelle. The menu mirrors the restaurant, an abundance of the sea's treasures. The seafood and shellfish arrive daily direct from the local fish market. Like the two towers, Le Bar Andre is a La Rochelle landmark, embarking its clientele on a delicious seafarer's journey.--Situe sur le vieux port de La Rochelle, au pied des tours, le Bar Andre vous accueille depuis plus de 70 ans dans un "navire amarre" aux multiples ambiances. La carte est a l'image du restaurant qui defend corps et ames les joyaux de la mer. Les fruits de mer et coquillages arrivent donc quotidiennement en direct de la criee locale rochelaise. A l'instar des deux tours, le Bar Andre est une figure incontournable de la Rochelle qui embarque ses clients pour un voyage aux saveurs marines.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 801 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 191
    Excellent
  • 325
    Very good
  • 152
    Average
  • 87
    Poor
  • 46
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Splendid seafood

Wonderful seafood platter in authentic (ish) restaurant close to harbour. Food prepared on street which adds to the effect. Was VERY busy and service a little slow-booking advised

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2015
Ewan C
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Scenic view
  • Families with children
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Wonderful seafood platter in authentic (ish) restaurant close to harbour. Food prepared on street which adds to the effect. Was VERY busy and service a little slow-booking advised

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

I have eaten in Andre for twenty years now they have such a good reputation the staff think they need try any more what a mistake? only passable good food and bossy waiters try elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We're glad to read a comment about such a long regular of the Bar André. We're sorry about the service you experienced, it does not correspond to our standards. Could you come back to us in order to discuss it with our director ? Kind regards, Antoine B. avis@blanc.net More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Our host suggested we try the places off the main thoroughfare so we chose andre which is large and looked great. I had the crustacean dish, 1/2 lobster, 1/2 crab. langoustines and shrimp. the presentation is nice but I must have had the one that was sitting our for a while. The food was overcooked, floury and tasteless. Having grown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We're sorry to read that you didn't appreciate our seafood which is our specialty, even more for someone coming frome the Maine. However, you have to know that we give the best care in the choice of our products and seafood in particular. Could you come back to us in... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Situated just off, I mean just off, the Vieux Port we were hoping for some reasonable seafood. It was nice sitting out but its a busy thoroughfare so we moved tables to stop being bumped all the time. The service was efficient and attentive and the waiters nice. Food - it was OK , nothing to write home about but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your review with us. As you say it we profit from an exceptionnel and unique location in La Rochelle. However, this means also busy and as you describe it it can be very crowded on a hot summer day. It's true that that we have similar offer to other fish restaurant, but we pay... More 

UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

We came here at the beginning of August, on a recommendation from our hotel. It was only an okay meal. We had the mixed cooked seafood, smoked cod, bass and smoked salmon and cod salad. These were all good with the cold smoked cod in the salad being the best. The cuttlefish in the mixed seafood was very hard. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to read that you enjoyed our dishes. However, we're truly sorry to read that the service was below average. What you describe does not correspond to our standards, we expect from our staff a professional, yet polite and attentive service. Could you come back to us in order... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

I had a nice dinner at Bar Andre'. Good value for the money you spend. I went for seafood all the way (oysters and smoked cod) and the food was great. The seafood was fresh and well handled. The portionsizes were excellent (if you are hungry) and the wine I were recommended with the cod was a good match. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Nice place with a good terrace and great location. The service was perfect. The seafood ( oysters, prawns and langoustines) were perfect. The desserts we fabulous. Yes, may be a little overpriced, but old town in La Rochelle is not a chip place. Definitely will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muenster, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Compared to my 3 course dinner at 4 sergents, André offered rather plain meals which I found a bit deceiving. Service was strange: the first waiter seemed to be really annoyed and wasn't very attentive. The second was in a rush. Everything (meals, bread, cutlery) was basically thrown on our tables, and plates were taken away before the last of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're truly sorry to read that our restaurant didn't meet your expectations. What you describe does not correspond to our standards, particularly in terms of service : we expect from our staff a professional, polite and attentive service. Could you come back to us in order to discuss it with... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We have eaten at this restaurant a number of times so returned full of expectation. The cold shellfish were excellent as usual, but like a previous review (7th July) the Croustille was poor with mushy overcooked langoustines and hard cuttlefish...a disappointment. I note they don't accept that they have a problem which is unfortunate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Bar Andre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're truly sorry to read about your review. As you say it, this is not the first time that you didn't enjoy our Croustille. Could you come back to us in order to discuss it with our director and maybe find a solution ? Kind regards, Antoine B. avis@blanc.net More 

Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We had to eat oysters before putting my Mum on the plane home so came here. A good menu including a lot of seasonal dishes, a helpful waiter who recommended both oysters and an aperitif (which was knockout for lunchtime) and very good food with super fast and attentive service. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Le Bar Andre also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bar Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 5 Rue Saint-Jean-du-Perot, 17000 La Rochelle, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Poitou-Charentes  >  Charente-Maritime  >  La Rochelle
  • Phone Number: 05 4641 2824

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, German, Seafood, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Doing business

Description

For over 70 years, le Bar Andre has welcomed diners aboard a ship "moored" at the foot of the towers in the old port of La Rochelle. The menu mirrors the restaurant, an abundance of the sea's treasures. The seafood and shellfish arrive daily direct from the local fish market. Like the two towers, Le Bar Andre is a La Rochelle landmark, embarking its clientele on a delicious seafarer's journey.--Situe sur le vieux port de La Rochelle, au pied des tours, le Bar Andre vous accueille depuis plus de 70 ans dans un "navire amarre" aux multiples ambiances. La carte est a l'image du restaurant qui defend corps et ames les joyaux de la mer. Les fruits de mer et coquillages arrivent donc quotidiennement en direct de la criee locale rochelaise. A l'instar des deux tours, le Bar Andre est une figure incontournable de la Rochelle qui embarque ses clients pour un voyage aux saveurs marines.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Bar Andre and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Le Bar Andre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?