We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistrot Les Tontons

1 bis Place Saint Pierre, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 2 41 59 59 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: French, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A typical French bistrot serving seasonal fare freshly prepared on a daily basis. Enjoy quality cuisine and niche wines sourced from local producers and across France - a table reservation is recommended. Please enquire about private hire, small & large group bookings and wine tasting events.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    227
    73
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Great Service - Great Food - Great Location Ate here 2 nights in a row - really good service from Christian who recommended our Wine and made sure we were all happy - really welcoming place - good with e children & fab central location

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Sir, Many thanks for your lovely comment on tripadvisor and we are so please to read you have enjoyed our bistrot 2 nights in a row. Please note I have advised Christian, ans he asked me to say thank you to you. Kind regards Gérald Beaumont Bistrot Les Tontons More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I return here year after year and this was the best experience yet, made better perhaps by the the service which was probably quicker. Not that this should stop anybody experiencing St Pierre from the best spot on the square to watch the world go by with simply a coffee, or something a little stronger from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you so much for your kind comment very much appreciated. A bientôt Les Tontons More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Two adults 4 children take some pleasing and TonTon delivered. A special occasion meal for the two weeks away. The host treated us all as equals, was superb with the children, was a perfect without being over familiar. After we choose the food he advised the wines (I'm a dull ex Oddbins lad) they were superb. Jen says if I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your lovely message. We do hope seeing you soon. A très bientôt Gérald Beaumont More

Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I spent the last week of July in Saumur and ate in several of the eating houses in St Peter's Square, saving Les Tontons until last because of the high reputation. What a disappointment. The mushrooms in the galapetes tasted as if they had been boiled to death , the stuffings were ingenious and tasty. I ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy your experience at our bistrot. Let me try to understand what went wrong: 1) "The mushrooms in the galapete tasted as if they had been boiled to death, the stuffings were ingenious and tasty”. Galipettes are not boiled but slowly steamed to keep their firmness, boiling would not achieve... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very friendly manager, good food , foie gras was not ready make me bit desapointed ! Good kids menu, good wine, dessert list bit short

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am glad to read you have enjoyed bistrot les tontons. Sadly, our foie gras was not quiet ready wjen you visited us,and I have taken into consideration your comment regarding dessert! we will try to do better next season! Kind regards Gerald Beaumont More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had been looking forward to eating at Bistrot Les Tontons after reading all the reviews. We were not disappointed!!! There was friendly and welcoming service throughout the meal from all of the staff. They ensured that we were well shaded in the hot busy square to enjoy our meal and people watch.We followed Gerald's advice and suggestions for food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam/Sir It is always such a plesure to read from our client they have enjoyed their evening at Tonton. Hope to see you soon. Gérald from Bistrot Les Tontons More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Looked at the reviews - thought ok, lets try this as my wife and i don't get out much with the kids, certainly not in France anyway. Food fantastic, wine recommendation was made by Christian and he had it spot on for each course. We were welcomed with a glass of local Saumur sparkling wine which was lovely. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you so much for your comment. Christian has been advised of your comment towards him and have ask me to send his regards. Kind regards Gerald Beaumont Bistrot les tontons More

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I never felt the need to post a review in 30 years of travelling through France but the meal we had tonight was fantastic, made even better by the service of Christian and a Lady whose name I did not get. The value for money was outstanding and as someone who travels the world on business I have been to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir We have been very touch reading your comment on trip advisor, and I would like to thank you on behalf of our Bistrot team. This is the type of comment we like to read who make us all work harder and believe we are doing something right! Thank you Gerald Beaumont Bistrot Les Tontons More

Colac, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

You must book to ensure a seat at this gem of a restaurant. The owner and staff were just fabulous with a great understanding of their wine and food. We all went for the duck and were not disappointed. I can see why this place is number one on the tripadviser list

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir Many thanks for your lovely comment. Kind regards Gérald Beaumont More

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had visited Bistrot Les Tontons two years ago when visiting the Loire region for the first time, and enjoyed it so much that we were looking forward to returning on our most recent visit. We were not disappointed, the food and service more than living up to expectations. The location in the heart of the old part of Saumur... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Hello David Many thanks for your positive comment. It is nice to see clients backk after few years and have their opinion. Shall I say see you in 2 years? or before? Kind regards Gérald Beaumont Bistrot Les Tontons More

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Les Tontons also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Bistrot Les Tontons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Les Tontons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing