We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistrot Les Tontons

1 bis Place Saint Pierre, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 2 41 59 59 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: French, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A typical French bistrot serving seasonal fare freshly prepared on a daily basis. Enjoy quality cuisine and niche wines sourced from local producers and across France - a table reservation is recommended. Please enquire about private hire, small & large group bookings and wine tasting events.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    206
    65
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We ate here on our first night in saumur after reading some hot reviews. It was 14th July so I'm not sure if that had something to do with it, but although the staff were friendly, it was clear that they didn't want to be there. We arrived at 8.30. The tables and chairs were removed around us leaving us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

As we were staying at the owner's cottage we were confident that dinner at his bistro would be a good experience and it was. We were welcomed with a glass of bubbles as an aperitif and then savoured stuffed mushrooms followed by melt-in-the mouth duck and potatoes baked with a special, secret topping. Although we really had had ample we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great service and food. The owner/manager really made us feel welcome. The menu is typical french food - we had snails which were delicious. Great atmosphere, not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Sir; Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Yes you are totally right we are an authentic french old bistrot... serving fresh food (limited choices...) Very please to hear you haveenjoyed your time at our bistrot. Regards Gérald Beaumont More

Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great reviews for this bistro on Tripadvisor, so pre-booked a table by email for the first night of our three-night stay in the Loire Valley, chateaux-visiting. Very friendly welcome in this small but atmospheric restaurant. Only a limited choice on the menu, as befits a bistro, and our first choice was sold out, but what we did have was totally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Propriétaire at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Sir, Thank you very much for your comment. Bistrot les tontons is a small establishment, where we are trying to welcome as much as we can (25 maximum per service). It is our priority to have a good friendly and professionel service in a relax bistrot! simple fresh local food is what clients come to us search for!... More

aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ate here on a Friday ‘midi’ as part of a visit to the owner’s gite in a nearby village. Do a google search for the words 'Annie's House Saumur' to find the wonderful property listed in Trip Advisor. As is often the case with good French cuisine it is all about having the best ingredients at Bistrot Les Tontons.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam Thank you so uch for your lovely comment regarding your experience at Bistrot Les Tontons. Regards Gerald Beaumont More

Greater london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As part of our wine tour with Loire valley uncorked we stopped for lunch with the owners Gerald and Sarah-Jane, so we don't know the prices. We had an excellent lunch with some lovely wine which they selected from a superb list they keep. There is a choice of where to eat in the square and we tried a different... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Sir Thank you for your lovely comment regarding your experience at our Bistrot. Kind regards Bistrot Les Tontons More

Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Myself and my wife visited here a couple weeks ago and if you want a typical French meal with fine wine in a lovely location then Bistrot Les Tontons won't disappoint. The food is excellent quality and value for money. The welcome from the owner Gerald and his staff is very warm and friendly (they all speak very good English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Sir We are happy to read you have enjoyed your venue at our bistrot. Thank you so much for your positive comment. A bientôt Gérald Beaumont More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal in this restaurant last nights terrific meal and great service. Only 3 choices for each course which makes life a lot easier, all local dishes and ingredients No wine list, owner asks you what you like and recommends a really good wine at good price All in all a great experience, Christian the waiter a great character

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your lovely message. As you have stated, bistrot les tontons offers at diner time the choice of 3 starters, 3 main course, and 3 desserts. we also offer the choice of fresh fish salad. We are not a restaurant, but a bistrot, you can also enjoy a little plat of charcuterie, or cheese.. Thank you... More

Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We came here because of the number one ranking for restaurants in Saumur and were very disappointed. A very limited menu, and the food was decidedly average. On our post dinner wander round town we saw people enjoying food that looked considerably better than that which we had had. I would urge you to have a wander around town before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoireValleyUncorked, Owner at Bistrot Les Tontons, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madam, I am sorry to read you did not appreciate your venue at our Bistrot. Clearly you have not appreciated our menu board ( 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts) + fresh salad of the moment. Sadly, by reading your comment I cannot assess what went wrong during your venue ( food, service, wine list, atmosphere, terrasse...).... More

Rhode Island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Located on a leafy square in the historic center of Saumur, my wife and I were lucky enough to get a dinner reservation at Bistrot Les Tontons, steps away from the lovely Hotel Saint Pierre, where we stayed during our visit to Saumur; thanks to the help of our hotel manager. It was the first evening of our 10-day visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Les Tontons also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Bistrot Les Tontons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Les Tontons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing