We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 460 Rouen Restaurants

Restaurant La Couronne

31 place Vieux Marche, 76000 Rouen, France
Tél : 02 35 71 40 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 460 Restaurants in Rouen
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    122
    63
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We loved the historical features, notoriety and décor as much as the food choices. Service was surprisingly good. The staff was very polite and helpful. Our language was somewhat of an obstacle, but we managed. Of course we spent a great deal of money, but enjoyed ourselves and the French cuisine while we were dining. By the way, the cheese... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We had the gourmet meal and the wine. The atmosphere was great, the service impecable and the food brilliant. Everything was at should be in an establishment such as this. One of the best meals we had on our latest trips to France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Arisaid, Thank you for notes you have given us and also for your kind words. We are delighted that you have had such a good time with us and that it helped make your visit to France (and Normandy) even more special! We hope to have you someday with us again. Kind regards, More

Anna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This dining event was truly one of the highlights of our River Cruise! Our 3 hour plus, experience started with a warm welcome upon arrival. Drink orders were taken and arrived with a "bonus" appetizer that we enjoyed while we studied the menu! Being a Chef, I like to really READ the menu without being rushed. We ended up choosing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jane P, What can i say? i am left speechless by your comments. Your words describe exactly what we have been aiming for since day one (my parents bought a derelict La couronne in the early 90's with vincent Taillefer, our head chef to this day, as a then sidekick) and the road has been long and difficult.... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

What a wonderful dining experience I had in this historic and oldest inn in France. Such atmospheric surroundings and a fabulous warm welcome. The staff were extremely friendly and easy to interact with. I chose the gourmet menu which was priced at around 49 euros for four courses which Included a cheese course. i was not disappointed. It was one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

good afternoon Annie. thank you very much for the high note you have given to La Couronne. I am delighted to read that you have had a good time with us and enjoyed our locally sourced cheese plater. Kind regards. More

Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We have been to this resteraunt many times and it never fails to deliver. If you want to wind away a few hours eating lovely food in a amazing atmosphere go here when passing through. There New Years eve event is great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good morning Mark. thank you very much for your kind words. I'm happy that you enjoy La couronne this much. Your words describe very much what we want to achieve; helping people 'winding away" when visiting! Kind regards. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The "La Couronne", this restaurant is not of a superior or top quality as they claim they are, the bill for two was over 200 Euros which we were more then happy to pay for a quality meal in a quality restaurant in France. The waiter was arrogant and rude, the wine waiter lacked knowledge, (when asked for a recommendation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Robert. I am saddened to read that your evening with us wasnt the great evening out it is for most. i will certainly investigate this with our duty manager. I find it odd that the waiter was rude, as we have very very little staff turn over at La Couronne. Actually most have been with us over ten... More

Rouen, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Dreadful. A great building with a wonderful atmosphere is let down by very slow service, tasteless food and an erroneious bill. Having failed to deliver the te and coffee despite waiting nearly an hour, they still included them on the bill and added an additional meal which wasn't ours. 3 hours for a disappointing meal is way too long. check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudence L, Responsable réception at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Guy. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of La Couronne. I am very sad to read that the meal was not up to what you expected. As much as we do not want to rush our customers out of the restaurant i agree that an hour for your tea to reach your table is... More

Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Wonderful gourmet restaurant oldest restaurant in France a must if you are traveling to Rouen. Beautiful old world setting. Delicious Dover sole.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prudence L, Directeur général at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Dear Francined, thank you very much for your kind words regarding your visit at La Couronne. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Dover Sole (the main course julia child enjoyed when she came). We have been working with the same team of fishermen for a long time now; Belly from Dieppe, a nearby sea town. Hoping to... More

East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Where do I start....? So nice to be out of Paris, where Parisians can be a lot like New Yorkers - I'm sorry but any city in the world is the same and those that think the French arent too friendly to foreigner just have it wrong and need to come to this fine establishment. Our waiters, Thomas (a.k.a. Jeff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CAROLE L, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Hello LCHAND, thank you very much for your kind words. I am printing your message to show to Thomas. He has been with us for a long time now and last year he was promoted to assistant head wine waiter. He is now responsible for our great wine cellar. I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Went there for a celebration occasion with my husband and we had a great time. I love this restaurant because of its history and its ambience. As for the food I must say not more not less than food at this price range. Reading some negative comments on this site I realize maybe we were lucky as we went there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CAROLE L, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Hello Leslie. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that it was a bit quiet that night but as you know this happens sometimes. Anyway we hope to see you again! kind regards. More

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Couronne also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant La Couronne

Address: 31 place Vieux Marche, 76000 Rouen, France
Phone Number: Tél : 02 35 71 40 90
Location: Europe  >  France  >  Normandy  >  Haute-Normandie  >  Seine-Maritime  >  Rouen
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cuisine: French

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing