We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant La Lieutenance

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
12 Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France
+33 2 31 89 07 52
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 381 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 172
    Excellent
  • 139
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great food in a great position

Visited this restaurant on a 4 day trip to Honfleur. It was by far the best restaurant we visited during our stay. Great food and great service. It is situated in Place Sainte Catherine opposite the old church and bell tower. It is a quiet square, an oasis, just a little way from the crowds and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 27, 2015
uktravellingwoman
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

We decided to avoid the 'formulaic' restaurants along the waterfront which cater for the 'touristes'. BIG MISTAKE. This restarant from start to finish was a disaster. We were given the English menu, however when we came to order, we were told that the French menu had recently been changed, but thay hadn't got around to changing the English menu. Consequently,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lalieutenance, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Lieutenance, responded to this review

OK : So you didn’t enjoy your meal in our restaurant (I’ll be answering your complaints later on through this), let's say : fair enough, but under no circumstances are you to say that we are not welcoming english-speakers properly, to do segregation or even prioritizing our care due to nationality or tongue, like you said : between french and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

The best gazpacho I have ever tasted. Main of Dourade was fabulous. Great texture fish fine tastes. Lovely setting in the square opposite the church (a gem of a building not to be missed). And slightly away from the masses of people further down on the harbour side, so much more conjusive to eating and relaxing. We stayed in Honfleur... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Set in a pretty square overlooking the town church we sat outside on a pleasant July evening. We had been recommended this restaurant by a friend and it certainly lived up to our expectations. For main course we had the duck dish and a lamb dish both of which were perfectly cooked. For pudding we had a caramel soufflé which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We visited in May and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We visited again this month and it was even better - small changes to the menu and new ideas. The same friendly service, gorgeous food, good wine and great surroundings - what more could we want ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We visited this restaurant based on a local recommendation and we were not disappointed. Everything about the occasion was excellent. The food, service and location were all superb. The price was also very reasonable for the quality of the food served. If you are in Honfleur then I'd recommend you visit. It's no more than a minute from the usual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

My wife and I had a meal to mark our 30th wedding anniversary here last night; in a misunderstanding our son went to the wrong restaurant, so we had to go out and find him. Staff were really understanding and kept our table for the best part of an hour despite it being busy. When we got to our meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

Very nice location in an attractive square opposite the Church just away from the throb of the harbour restaurants but still buzzing on a summers evening. The food was top quality. The traditional fish soup and all the bits was excellent. The service was good but the courses came slowly so do allow an evening of dining! Set menus looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Came as a party of 6, including 2 kids. On a pleasant summer's evening this is a nice venue to enjoy the evening air and the view of Église Sainte-Catherine. Whilst the starters will quickly get you on your way to your evening's dining, the main course's arrival left us with ample time to enjoy the church. Or maybe even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Went here for our wedding anniversary. Excellent choice. Service was very good, helpful without being intrusive. Meal was top class, starters, mains and desserts. All courses served with a break in between that was just perfect. Bottle of red wine was a tad expensive but was nice. Offered tap water when ordering which is unusual for such a classy restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Visited this restaurant on a 4 day trip to Honfleur. It was by far the best restaurant we visited during our stay. Great food and great service. It is situated in Place Sainte Catherine opposite the old church and bell tower. It is a quiet square, an oasis, just a little way from the crowds and noise around Le Vieux... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Lieutenance also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant La Lieutenance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant La Lieutenance

Address: 12 Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France
Phone Number: +33 2 31 89 07 52
Location: Europe  >  France  >  Normandy  >  Basse-Normandie  >  Calvados  >  Honfleur
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 22 - 66
Cuisine: French, Contemporary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 12 Place Sainte Catherine, 14600 Honfleur, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Normandy  >  Basse-Normandie  >  Calvados  >  Honfleur
  • Phone Number: +33 2 31 89 07 52

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 22 - 66
  • Cuisine: French, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant La Lieutenance and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Restaurant La Lieutenance staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?