We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Procope

$
Neighborhood:
Odeon / Saint-Michel
French, Seafood, Brasserie, Tea Room
As featured in Off the Beaten Path
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
13,rue de l'Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
01 40 46 79 00
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei...
Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei Coltelli, is considered to be one of the oldest cafes in Paris, as well as a legendary meeting place for artists and intellectuals. You'll be surprised as much by the decor of the three-hundred-year-old restaurant, marked by the historical events it has witnessed over the years, as by its culinary classics, such as the coq au vin or whiting and its creams and sorbets made by the House. A historic cafe to try for a full meal or even a cup of tea and a sweet pastry.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,752 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 533
    Excellent
  • 576
    Very good
  • 307
    Average
  • 200
    Poor
  • 136
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Historic restaurant

This restaurant was established in 1686! Very nice atmosphere for formal and informal dining. Great food. Close to a Metro stop.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 29, 2015
Randy D
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

1,752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

This restaurant was established in 1686! Very nice atmosphere for formal and informal dining. Great food. Close to a Metro stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New England
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

We had a great evening here because the service was sensational, the interior was amazing, and our table was absolutely perfect with soft leather club chairs off to the side of the main dining room facing the street. The food was just ok. The french onion soup was actually terrible- the onions were not caramelized and the bouillon was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to read about your nice review. However, we're sorry that our food did'nt meet all your expectations. But you have to know that it worthes the price as all of our dishes are cooked on place by our chef from fresh high quality products. See you soon at Le Procope Kind regards, Antoine B. avis@blanc.net More 

Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I ate at Le Procope 2 weeks ago at evening. We arrived there without a reservation and we were welcomed by a nice lady at the entrance who guided us to a free table for 3 persons. The place looks very nice with small rooms, old chairs and tables. It's not a very quiet place but comparing to restaurants in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

As a tourist i always try to find special restaurants where to dine hence the choice for Le Procope. I personally like the ambience of the restaurant with all its history to tell. The staff were very friendly. We went there without any prior reservation at around 1:30pm and my husband, son and I were gladly accommodated and served with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karratha, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This is an historic restaurant with an old world feel to it. The food was pretty good and the service was great. Would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

A friend recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Be sure to get a reservation in advance. We had a nice table upstairs near the window and roomy by Paris standards. The food was very nice and the service attentive by the assistant waiter however our main waiter was a bit rude. I'd recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the attentive staff. The front staff was very friendly and worked very hard. They made every effort to make the meal an experience. I am afraid that the food did not meet our expectations for quality. The sauces and some flavoring were strong. Although difficult to pinpoint, we both had difficulties with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we're truly appalled by your comment which doesn't reflect the quality of food we aim to provide to each and every of our customer as testified by our "Maître-Restaurateur" label. Our Director would like to discuss your recent meal with you to better understand what happened. Could you give me your phone number and the best moment to... More 

london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

€263 for 2 people for 3 courses including €89 wine and 2 tiny glasses of champagne €38.90 (ie €135.10 for just food). First course we had seafood platter and no finger dips brought even though the waiter saw me putting my hands in the wine cooler to rinse my fingers - just very lazy waiters but pleasant enough. For main,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your experience at le Procope. We are sorry that we did not answer to your expectations. For our waiter's lack of service, be sure that our Director has been informed. Regarding our prices, it is explained by the fact that we are selecting only high quality products... More 

The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This is one of the oldest restaurants in Paris (since 1686). But age only makes it more worthy of visiting. Food is delicious! We had an incredible onion soup, escargots and trout with almond. The crepes suzette were also very nice. And we had the chance to try the absinthe with all the paraphernalia of this drink. Staff was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I visited this restaurant at 4 April. The place looks very nice, but food was not really good. They forgot my dessert, finally I can't wait and asked my check. The guy brought the bill without apologies. Of course they won,I paied my bill include dessert. There was no local client, all the place full of Americans and Chinese. Three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Zac, Thanks for sharing your review. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy much the food. Our authentic cuisine in Le Procope is unique and one of the reason that make our fame, we're really disappointed that you didn't like it. Furthermore the quality of our products is one of our top priority. We really hope you will give us... More 

Travelers who viewed Le Procope also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Procope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 13,rue de l'Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Ile-de-France  >  Paris>  > Odeon / Saint-Michel
  • Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
  • Phone Number: 01 40 46 79 00

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, Seafood, Brasserie, Tea Room

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei Coltelli, is considered to be one of the oldest cafes in Paris, as well as a legendary meeting place for artists and intellectuals. You'll be surprised as much by the decor of the three-hundred-year-old restaurant, marked by the historical events it has witnessed over the years, as by its culinary classics, such as the coq au vin or whiting and its creams and sorbets made by the House. A historic cafe to try for a full meal or even a cup of tea and a sweet pastry.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Procope and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Le Procope staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Odeon / Saint-Michel

Neighborhood Profile
Odeon / Saint-Michel
As the bustling center of entertainment for the residents of the Rive Gauche, the activity at Odéon never stops. Boulevards are lined with traditional cafes, restaurants, and boutique cinemas. The streets surrounding the fountain at Saint-Michel provide eateries from around the world. Lively bars are just next door and the prototypical terraced French brasserie is on every corner. The setting for this area is second to none; the Haussmann-style boulevards are contrasted by monumental architecture and overshadowed by the iconic Notre Dame, all within a moment’s walk from the Seine. This neighborhood's world-famous bookshops, cafés, and streets will not fail to impress you.