We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Procope

#2,056 of 13,320 Restaurants in Paris
#2,217 of 13,923 Places to Eat in Paris
$
Neighborhood:
Odeon / Saint-Michel
French, Seafood, Bistro
As featured in Off the Beaten Path
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more restaurants in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
13,rue de l'Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
01 40 46 79 00
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei...
Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei Coltelli, is considered to be one of the oldest cafes in Paris, as well as a legendary meeting place for artists and intellectuals. You'll be surprised as much by the decor of the three-hundred-year-old restaurant, marked by the historical events it has witnessed over the years, as by its culinary classics, such as the coq au vin or whiting and its creams and sorbets made by the House. A historic cafe to try for a full meal or even a cup of tea and a sweet pastry.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,908 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 595
    Excellent
  • 630
    Very good
  • 334
    Average
  • 208
    Poor
  • 141
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
good traditional cuisine in pleasant setting

The type of restaurant you would take colleagues or friends who are looking for a first discovery experience of typical french food. The quality is fair. Historical restaurant in the heart of St Germain des pres- the Latin quarters on the left bank. Recommended: coq au vin, cabillaud fish. The... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
Lisa D
,
Paris, France
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

1,908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

The type of restaurant you would take colleagues or friends who are looking for a first discovery experience of typical french food. The quality is fair. Historical restaurant in the heart of St Germain des pres- the Latin quarters on the left bank. Recommended: coq au vin, cabillaud fish. The bar (fish ) was unfortunately overcooked and rather dry. Desert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoon Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Not only is this restaurant full of history and impressively decorated, the food is exquisite. The gratin onion soup is the best I have ever had and the coq au vin was out of this world. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that they were out of their famed creme brûlée. All in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

This was our 4th time in this Jem of Paris and if fid not let us down. Service is second to none and these days they all speak English and you can get menu in English as well. Library is always my priority seating if I can choose. It is cosier than other rooms I think. If you are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Both times we arrived without reservations and were treated cordially. July 2013 and July 2015. The crème brûlé is the best we have had anywhere. You can get a full meal for 20-30 €. People who complain about butter need to get out more. We will be going again before we leave Paris.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

I have been to procope maybe around 10 times over the years, the first time in 1977. Most of the visits have been very nice and I have good memories from this place. Founded in 1686, they claim that they are the oldest restaurant in the world. A lot of celebrities and historical figueres have eaten here, such as Benjamin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

When it was shared to us that this place is the oldest eating establishment in Paris,my first thought was that they had to be doing something right.It was our last night of 2 weeks in France & we had eaten a few pricey & not so much meals of mixed reviews.The only member of our group that had been here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farmington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Took a while to be seated even though there were very few patrons. Hard time communicating with our waitress. Service was extremely slow and the food was certainly not what we expected. I will not make another visit to this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear guest, We're truly sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our restaurant and its cuisine. However, even if the restaurant may seems empty, because of reservations it could be difficult to find tables for customers who come without a reservation. We're sorry about the service you experienced which doesn't correspond to our standards. Could you come back to us... More 

Miami
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

This is not a joke. If you want to experience "the French Behavior" you come here. I heard a lot about this place, so I had expectations at high level. What a pitty. The service is a joke. You ask for more butter and they say they can not serve. If you insist, they will tell you they don't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're sorry to learn about your meal in Le Procope. The experience you describe does not meet our expectations in terms of both service and cuisine. We expect a professionnal, careful and polite service from our staff and our cuisine is prepared on place by our Chef from frresh high... More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I can't complain since we got a reservation combined with a cruise at a low price, downside was our menu selection was limited, I got the section of flounder a la plancha, melon salad and creme brulee. melon salad was delicious and it was really refreshing, flounder wasn't so great it had a very bland taste, creme brulee tasted good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Le Procope, responded to this review

Dear Monica, We're happy to read that you liked our restaurant and your time with us. It's true the group menu could be frustrating, even though this is the choice of your group, we understand your feelings. However, you have to know that all of dishes on the group or regular menu are prepared on place by our Chef from... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday evening in July having reservered a table inline. The place is stunning as is the history. We ate in the Chopin room,service was good. We are from the Procope menu which offers 2 courses for 21euros or 3 for 28. We had to ask for this mwnu as they are keen for you to eat from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Le Procope also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Procope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Procope

Address: 13,rue de l'Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number: 01 40 46 79 00
Location: Europe  >  France  >  Ile-de-France  >  Paris>  > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisine: French, Seafood, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 13,rue de l'Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Ile-de-France  >  Paris>  > Odeon / Saint-Michel
  • Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
  • Phone Number: 01 40 46 79 00

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, Seafood, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups

Description

Le Procope founded in 1686 by the Sicilian Francesco Procopio Dei Coltelli, is considered to be one of the oldest cafes in Paris, as well as a legendary meeting place for artists and intellectuals. You'll be surprised as much by the decor of the three-hundred-year-old restaurant, marked by the historical events it has witnessed over the years, as by its culinary classics, such as the coq au vin or whiting and its creams and sorbets made by the House. A historic cafe to try for a full meal or even a cup of tea and a sweet pastry.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Procope and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Le Procope staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Odeon / Saint-Michel

Neighborhood Profile
Odeon / Saint-Michel
As the bustling center of entertainment for the residents of the Rive Gauche, the activity at Odéon never stops. Boulevards are lined with traditional cafes, restaurants, and boutique cinemas. The streets surrounding the fountain at Saint-Michel provide eateries from around the world. Lively bars are just next door and the prototypical terraced French brasserie is on every corner. The setting for this area is second to none; the Haussmann-style boulevards are contrasted by monumental architecture and overshadowed by the iconic Notre Dame, all within a moment’s walk from the Seine. This neighborhood's world-famous bookshops, cafés, and streets will not fail to impress you.
Explore this neighborhood