We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale

1 Cloitre Notre Dame, 28000 Chartres, France
+33 2 37 36 59 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 125 restaurants in Chartres
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Bistro
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    20
    58
    22
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Eating out on the square next to the Cathedral, things don't just get any better. Great French food served by very nice waiters. Go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your such positive advice about your lunch at Le Bistrot. And we hope to see you back soon. Best regards. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Celebrating a friend's birthday in Chartres was made memorable at this friendly and atmospheric restaurant. Entrees of fish and chicken were accompanied by fresh salads, excellent cheeses and fresh bread. A special cake ordered in advance made the occasion very special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your positive and detailed advice. Xe are very glad that you appreciate your friend's birthday lunch and hope to see you back in Chartres and at Le bistrot soon. Best regards. More

lichfield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

After contributing almost 40 reviews to Trip Advisor, we have staggered across the worst of all restaurants. Pity we didn't check it out before taking any notice of a recommendation. Others have mentioned rudeness, petty self-imposed rules about where you can sit with empty tables around you and demands about making reservations. Le Bistrot needs to be bottom of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We have chosen to report your advice to Trip Advisor staff. You didn't have any lunch or diner in our restaurant (as you say yourself) and you let an advice that we supposed based on the answer we gave to one of your relationship : it is unacceptable. We work hard to offer good meal based on local products, a... More

Ibiza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Sat down here for a pre-dinner drink and after waiting 10 minutes to catch the waiter’s eye (who knew we were there, but preferred to lay tables instead of serving customers) was informed, quite rudely, that he wasn’t serving drinks, but only serving to tables that were eating dinner, of which, at the time, there were only 2 other tables... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

Basically, it's very surprising that you let an advice about our restaurant where you decide not to have diner ?!? However, it is difficult for our waiter to explain, even if your french is OK, that effectively, it is not possible to have a drink only in a french restaurant (our neighbors that you finally choose are a "café" which... More

Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Picked this place as the menu looked OK - which was as far as it went. Had the local speciality menu Chartrain but sadly disappointed. Starter was OK-ish. Main course of poule-au-pot was bland, undercooked, no herbs or seasoning, factory farmed chicken. This is supposed to be the regional speciality! The less about the dessert the better - straight from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are sorry that you don't appreciate your main course : you should have ask to bring it back for re-cooking , you waiters are here to answer to your wishes. And it's very logical that your dessert came from freezer because the speciality of Menu Chartrain is Soufflé Glacé which is, in fact, an home made ce-cream with the... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Sitting outside in the evening enjoying the catedral is of course very Nice. However, this does not make the food outstanding. The menu at the bistro is pretty limited, only duck, chicken, cod and salmon. Its a mistake in My opinion not to have any kind of stake at all. They have some 3 course menues. Please be Aware that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are glad that you appreciate our unit terrace in front of the cathedral and that you globally enjoy your diner. Obviously, we have only few meals on the menu : we favour a restricted, local and qualitative choices. We hope to see you again in our place. Best regards. More

Loubes-Bernac, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our very good hotel & as it was raining we headed straight there rather than look around. When we entered this restaurant looked lovely but we were ushered thro to an un appealing back eating area with no air con & not particularly comfortable seating. The waiter was surly but thankfully the waitress was much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We apologize if you dont' receive the warm welcome you should have. Maybe your hotel should had advised you that reservation is highly recommended however you can not choose your table. We are glad to notice that you appreciate your main courses but we are surprised that you notice your city napkin on your comment and not to your waitress...... More

Paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Can you imagine a better location than this? A terrace directly facing one of the world's greatest monuments! In addition the food is good though not gourmet and the prices are very reasonable. Usually I avoid restaurants near famous monuments because they almost serve inedible food for outrageous prices but Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale is an exception. I highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your such positive advice about Le Bistrot : we are glad that you appreciate both the quality, price and value, of the food and the location of our terrace. We are very glad that you had a great moment with us and hope to see you back soon. Best regards More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The terrace of the Bistrot is bathed in sun until just before sunset when it sets behind the low roofed buildings by the cathedral square. From the three course 'menu de jour' we chose crevettes, crisply cooked with salad, sauté de boeuf as tender as could be and coco ris - Delicious rice creamed in coconut milk. A well priced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

Nothing more to say than : thank you very much for your short but very colorful good comment about your summer moment on our terrace ! We hope we could share other moments like this with you, best regards More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We did not eat here; we arrived at opening time 7pm, only 2-3 tables taken. We were informed rather rudely that all tables apart from one on a windy corner were reserved (most of the outside tables are screened and are covered by large umbrellas, with heaters). We declined this as it was a cooler evening and had a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We apologize if the person who talked to you was not as polite as he/she should be. However, in France, 7 pm is a very early time for diner and tables can be booked but no one will come before 8.30/9 pm. We would have been glad you accept the table you were proposed so you could have discovered our... More

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing