We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale

1 Cloitre Notre Dame, 28000 Chartres, France
+33 2 37 36 59 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 restaurants in Chartres
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Bistro
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    18
    58
    21
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Picked this place as the menu looked OK - which was as far as it went. Had the local speciality menu Chartrain but sadly disappointed. Starter was OK-ish. Main course of poule-au-pot was bland, undercooked, no herbs or seasoning, factory farmed chicken. This is supposed to be the regional speciality! The less about the dessert the better - straight from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are sorry that you don't appreciate your main course : you should have ask to bring it back for re-cooking , you waiters are here to answer to your wishes. And it's very logical that your dessert came from freezer because the speciality of Menu Chartrain is Soufflé Glacé which is, in fact, an home made ce-cream with the... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Sitting outside in the evening enjoying the catedral is of course very Nice. However, this does not make the food outstanding. The menu at the bistro is pretty limited, only duck, chicken, cod and salmon. Its a mistake in My opinion not to have any kind of stake at all. They have some 3 course menues. Please be Aware that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are glad that you appreciate our unit terrace in front of the cathedral and that you globally enjoy your diner. Obviously, we have only few meals on the menu : we favour a restricted, local and qualitative choices. We hope to see you again in our place. Best regards. More

Loubes-Bernac, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our very good hotel & as it was raining we headed straight there rather than look around. When we entered this restaurant looked lovely but we were ushered thro to an un appealing back eating area with no air con & not particularly comfortable seating. The waiter was surly but thankfully the waitress was much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We apologize if you dont' receive the warm welcome you should have. Maybe your hotel should had advised you that reservation is highly recommended however you can not choose your table. We are glad to notice that you appreciate your main courses but we are surprised that you notice your city napkin on your comment and not to your waitress...... More

Paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Can you imagine a better location than this? A terrace directly facing one of the world's greatest monuments! In addition the food is good though not gourmet and the prices are very reasonable. Usually I avoid restaurants near famous monuments because they almost serve inedible food for outrageous prices but Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale is an exception. I highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your such positive advice about Le Bistrot : we are glad that you appreciate both the quality, price and value, of the food and the location of our terrace. We are very glad that you had a great moment with us and hope to see you back soon. Best regards More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The terrace of the Bistrot is bathed in sun until just before sunset when it sets behind the low roofed buildings by the cathedral square. From the three course 'menu de jour' we chose crevettes, crisply cooked with salad, sauté de boeuf as tender as could be and coco ris - Delicious rice creamed in coconut milk. A well priced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

Nothing more to say than : thank you very much for your short but very colorful good comment about your summer moment on our terrace ! We hope we could share other moments like this with you, best regards More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We did not eat here; we arrived at opening time 7pm, only 2-3 tables taken. We were informed rather rudely that all tables apart from one on a windy corner were reserved (most of the outside tables are screened and are covered by large umbrellas, with heaters). We declined this as it was a cooler evening and had a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We apologize if the person who talked to you was not as polite as he/she should be. However, in France, 7 pm is a very early time for diner and tables can be booked but no one will come before 8.30/9 pm. We would have been glad you accept the table you were proposed so you could have discovered our... More

Gottingen, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had a really nice evening with friends...fabulous location... nice friendly service.. pate good... Kings pot... bit strange... frozen souffle... well a very nice mousse with tangerine flavour.. but NOT a souffle!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are glad that you had a good moment with friends on our terrace nearby the cathedral : actually, the name of your dessert is soufflé but only look like a hot soufflé...it's an allusion ! We hope to see you back, best regards More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice meal, albeit a little overpriced because of the location - never mind. Evening spoiled by a rude and sullen waiter. Thin chap. Dark hair. Early twenties. Sack him!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We apologize if the waiter you describe has been rude with you : we transmit him your comment. Thank you for the other positive points you describe. Best regards More

Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Le Bistro de la Cathedral is a fabulous location overlooking Chartres cathedral. It serves excellent French food, simple but well-cooked and good service. Given the location you might have expected over-priced food but it was good value. I'd definitely go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BistrotChartres, Responsable relations publiques at Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, responded to this review

We are very proud that such a great contributor of TripAdvisor gives us a good comment ! We hope to see you back, best regards More

Perpignan, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better situation for a restaurant in the historic centre of Chartres. The large restaurant has 3 or 4 dining rooms, each with a slightly different ambience. There is outdoor seating too. Overall very pleasant and sitting right at the foot of the cathedral. Simple menu, nothing very exciting, and rather small portions for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale also viewed

 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot de la Cathedrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing