We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richmond Tea Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Richmond Street, Manchester M1 3HZ, England
0161 237 9667
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 701 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 416
    Excellent
  • 164
    Very good
  • 61
    Average
  • 32
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Not bad

Pro's + Lovely surroundings Friendly staff Decent waiting time even at busiest period Lovely tea Gorgeous scone Mahoosive cakes Will give you free hot water for tea refill Cons - £10.50 menu not value for money 3 finger sized sandwiches Tiny pastry Not enough jam and cream for scone Overall - as... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed January 25, 2015
Nick L
,
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Pro's + Lovely surroundings Friendly staff Decent waiting time even at busiest period Lovely tea Gorgeous scone Mahoosive cakes Will give you free hot water for tea refill Cons - £10.50 menu not value for money 3 finger sized sandwiches Tiny pastry Not enough jam and cream for scone Overall - as not value for money, won't be going again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 NEW

What a cool quirky place! We visited as a hen group in October for afternoon tea. The tea rooms I've been told are very popular and it's worth noting to book well in advance, it was certainly full the day we arrived! The theme around the tea rooms is 'Alice in Wonderland' and they have achieved a cool, quirky decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Visited this afternoon with some Cypriot clients. Nice and comfortable environment. Friendly waitress Generous portion of clotted cream served with scone Fruit scone -whilst it tasted very nice, was a little on the crumbly side which makes for difficult eating after smothering it with jam and cream. Nice place to escape from the miserable cold wintry weather of Manchester for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochdale
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I went here to celebrate my friend's birthday. I thought it was fab. The decor and ambience are second to none and the afternoon tea was scrumptious. I would definitely recommend it for a girly afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Visited today for a friend's birthday lovely ambience great decor on Alice in Wonderland theme the afternoon tea was delicious service was very good staff friendly and helpful will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review, so nice to hear that you had such a lovely time. Look forward to you coming back to see us very soon. David Richmond Tea Rooms More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We visited Richmond tea rooms on the 2nd of January, First impressions are very impressive, the whole tea rooms had a Alice in wonderland theme. The attention to detail and décor were a stand out point, we didn't know where to look. The menu was very extensive offering a range of tea and variety of food. We didn't have it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Bethan, Thank you for your lovely comments. I do apologise if your friend was a little embarrassed, I am sure my team member would not have done that deliberately but do please accept my apologies. I do hope this will not stop you from coming and enjoying the Tea Rooms again. Regards David Richmond Tea Rooms More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

I've been to the Tea Rooms before, but only had the cream tea last time. I went there again with a group of friends to try their afternoon tea and cakes, and I have to say it's very disappointing! I've heard really good reviews about the place, but the cakes we were served were sad. Our lemon drizzle cake was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Sonia, Thank you for your comments please do accept my sincere apologies if you were not happy with your afternoon teas. May I ask if you mentioned this at the time you were in the restaurant....our aim here is that you leave happy with a smile on your face so I am a little perplexed that you did not... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

went back there with a friend or a bit o a gossip time. as usual neat place, great cakes, welcoming staff. couple of let down : the sandwiches look and taste a bit cheap ... and it is always so difficult to get a table. I would however recommand anyone to go there even with kids as its quite enchanting

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Lovely of you to mention how nice our team are! Thank you for the feedback on the sandwiches....we do very much appreciate the feedback we receive from customers, we constantly strive to improve and are currently working on a new selection of sandwiches. I am afraid it is a fact that it is difficult... More 

Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Travelling north with my family and decided to stop off in Manchester for afternoon tea based on the reviews. It was highly worth the slight detour from the highway. Great options for lunch and cream tea. Helpful staff to fit us in without a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

After being recommended by a couple of people to this place I thought I'd go with four of us and my 2 year old daughter on her birthday. When we got there it took about ten minutes for anyone to even approach us at the door. I eventually walked into the restaurant myself and saw the rest of our party... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RichmondTeaRooms, Manager at Richmond Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. First of all may I apologise most sincerely.. This obviously concerned me greatly....my team should have met you at the door or at least acknowledged you as soon as possible to show you directly to your table. If you had booked a high chair that should have been ready at the table waiting for... More 

Travelers who viewed Richmond Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Richmond Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Richmond Street, Manchester M1 3HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: 0161 237 9667

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Richmond Tea Rooms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
24 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?