We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
+44 (0)1386 840760
Add hours for Red Lion Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 132 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 58
    Excellent
  • 46
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Just right for lunch

We were heading west from London and happened upon The Red Lion Inn when entering Chipping Campden. We didn't want much to eat or drink, and there was a really good lunch for 'people of a certain age' that we elected to have. Most places these days give massive portions, but this was a perfectly... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 26, 2015
BruceNB
,
UK
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lavendon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Thats all I can say 'food ok'. Staff polite but a bit off hand. Not very friendly. Not much choice of wine

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Having looked at other reviews we decided to try this one.......it was a mistake. Whilst a little less expensive than other restaurants/pubs in Chipping Campden the food served was of poor quality and the atmosphere was ..... non existant. We went elsewhere for after dinner drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standard. You do not state when you visited, however we have been fully booked for evening meals for the past few weeks, so am not sure why you were the only guests. Unless you came at the start or end of service - this can sometimes be a... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

We visited the red lion for the third time on bank holiday monday. We as always had a delightful stay but i have to say we were appalled by a certain table of guests on the bank holiday lunch. Firstly the pub was full of customers, understandably because the welcome is so good. The staff were under alot of pressure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments following your visit to us on a very busy Bank Holiday. We work hard to meet customer needs and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Leamington Spa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Three of us went to the Red Lion for lunch on a bank holiday. Having been there several weeks earlier, I was hoping for a similarly good experience. I had no idea what we were in for. First, there was a ten minute wait to get a drink. We were told by the woman behind the bar that her mother... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Following your review I would like to take time to respond and clarify some points: You chose to make your second visit on a very busy Bank Holiday - when the whole town was busy. Most people accept there will be a longer than normal wait for food in these circumstances. You were not informed at any time that we... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

If you like your chips, you cannot ignore this place. End of story! I was going to finish there but Trip Advisor is asking for 100 characters......................there should be enough now :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your chips and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Saturday evening, the food was superb, great value for money. The staff are very friendly and offer great service. We would recommend you book a table as the restaurant gets busy. Great selection of beers too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review following your visit to us. We are glad we could have been of service and hope to see you again in the future. More 

UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We were heading west from London and happened upon The Red Lion Inn when entering Chipping Campden. We didn't want much to eat or drink, and there was a really good lunch for 'people of a certain age' that we elected to have. Most places these days give massive portions, but this was a perfectly sized cod and chips. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Called here for lunch and the barmaid was friendly with a good knowledge of the draught beers, 2 of which we sampled. The fish and chips were excellent and not too expensive. It's a proper old pub with low beams so mind your head! Didn't notice the free parking until we were leaving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

The reason why we chose this place was because it had parking that you didn't have to pay for! It was really lovely, quiet mostly but the food was good. Although strange how we were the first to order and the last to receive? There was only one staff member working the bar and delivering food but he was happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

When we first walked in we were welcomed by a friendly lady, we didn't quite know what too expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality off the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1386 840760
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Campden
Average Prices: USD 53 - 53
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Campden
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1386 840760

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 53 - 53
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?