We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
+44 (0)1386 840760
Improve this listing
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: British
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Our first visit to Chipping Campden. Unusual village with Cotswold stone buildings lining both sides of the main road We walked along from one end to the other and came across the Red Lion. It was about 2pm on a Sunday and so we popped in for a spot of lunch. Warm and welcoming. Very tasty meals (pork and beef)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your food and the entertainment from Oscar. We hope to see you on a return visit in the near future. Tracy More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Visited with friends had a fabulous meal at lunch time. Good sized portions and very good value for money. The open fires were cozy and warm. The place was clean and welcoming and the staff could not do enough for us, they were very friendly and polite. I had the home made pie, which was excellent and my friend had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Our aim is to provide value for money - in good sized, home cooked meals. all of our staff are try to make our guests visit as enjoyable as they can. We hope to see you again in the near future. Tracy More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I was so disappointed, one of only a couple of pubs in town ... how could they get it so wrong. Lousy selection of drinks .. nothing of any quality and what a miserable unwelcoming place. Dirty, cold lousy service ... miserable staff only interested in looking after them selves ... one drink and I was glad to be out

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit here - I would like to say that we have many positive comments on our drinks selection and quality - and have lots of return visitors for the real ales we serve. You did visit at a very quiet time of year with visitors to town very low in number -... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We stayed in house right next door so ended up here for a couple of meals. The ploughmans was lovely and well presented on black slate with all the things you would expect. We both had one with a shared bowl of very chunky chips that was just great. Liver and bacon, fish and chips all good on another day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment - we are glad we could be of service and that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope to see you again in the future Tracy More 

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

The pub would not give us food at 2.30pm even though there were four good customers - when we called back along the high street at 10.30pm it was closed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to respond to your comments - I am sorry we could not accommodate you for Lunch at the time you arrived. We serve Lunch daily between 12-2.00pm Monday to Thursday and 2.30pm on Fridays, as do most of the places in town. If however you had arrived slightly earlier we would have been... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Top top top homemade pie of the day. I promised the people I would write this review.... Sorry it's taken so long. The meat pie was the best I've ever had. Beautifully cooked and a great portion. The fish pie my wife had tasted superb as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Happened upon this pub, one Saturday afternoon in Oct whilst having a little walk around Chipping Camden (which is glorious by the way!) We were starving and fancied a pint, and popped into the Red Lion; it’s a proper traditional English pub, with dark furniture and lamps – it’s lovely! They were still serving food at 15:00 but just sandwiches.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend in this lovely little town and would highly recommend stopping off at the Red Lion Inn for food!! We was served by a lovely lady (i think her name was tracy) who made us feel so at home nothing was of any trouble. The food was wonderful, perfect portion sizes and the price was more than reasonable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We arrived in Chipping Campden for a week-long cottage rental at the end of Sunday lunch and the first place we tried, literally at 2:58 p.m., was the Red Lion. It was right up the High Street from our lodgings, and we were starved. I only note the time – 2:58 p.m. – because we remembered waiting a few minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Nice relaxed pub with an entertaining parrot. Open fire. Staff friendly. Food average. I had salmon with stir fried noodles. Very much a dish of two halves. The salmon, veg and sauce was really good, the noodles were the worst I've ever eaten. Everyone else who had that dish thought the same. Other meals looked better and people enjoyed them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Phone Number: +44 (0)1386 840760
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Campden
Average Prices: USD 53 - 53
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?