We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seagrave Arms

Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
01386 840192
Website
Update restaurant details
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
4 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    57
    24
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stratford-upon-avon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

Visited this restaurant for a second time as hoped the new owners had improved matters. We found the very limited menu disappointing ( 4 starters and 4 mains - 2 of which were fish!!) and my husband had to send his main of woodpigeon back as it was so tough that he couldn't cut it. When we asked for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Small menu, but good range. Food was beautifully presented. Tasted as good as it looked. Staff friendly and helpful. Good range of drinks, especially the lager (Curious). lovely meal for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

From outside this venue looked welcoming. However our opinion was changed upon entering. The bar and restaurant were extremely cold, to such an extent that we asked to have the fire lit and sat with our jackets wrapped around us. The menu itself was very disappointing, with a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 puddings. No vegetarian choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwickshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a local gastro-pub we haven't used enough, so we were unaware of the recent change in chef when we dropped in for lunch. You couldn't fault it. If you like unostentatiously skilled cooking using the best ingredients in a subtle and crafty (in the best sense) this is very hard to beat. And astonishing, considering this is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Braunston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Probably one of the best Sunday lunches we've had in a pub! Lovely place, nice decor and lots of different little rooms so it all feels quite cosy. Excellent and friendly service. Short menu with a few added specials on the board - definitely prefer this as I do believe it's better to do a few dishes and do them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Guildford, Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Planning to relocate to the area so trying out the local fayre...bearing in mind we are from Surrey we obviously have high standards (I am being pedantic by the way...). The venue itself is less pub more restaurant, although apparently is a B&B as well the white cloth tables with slightly runny dishwasher stained glasses did make me think it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We ate here with friends last week for the first time. What a surprise! Warm and friendly atmosphere, chilled and relaxed surroundings. Certainly did not feel like it had just changed hands. Everything was smooth and seamless, the staff were attentive and chatty, the food was tasty, filling and mouthwatering. Chatted with the other diners, and the consensus was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Really nice restaurant in lovely location with a choice of inside or outside eating. Lovely variety of food and wine with nice warming people . wouldn't hesertate to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

For the past couple of years we had been fortunate to eat here regularly. At the end of January the ownership changed and so unfortunately has the chef, the menu seems the same but the outstanding quality has gone, the food was average and not something to be recommended. Service was friendly and attentive, but a disappointing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
director69, Owner at Seagrave Arms, responded to this review

As the new owner I am very disappointed that you felt this way about the food here at The Seagrave. Whilst I will not go into the specifics of why the previous chef left us, it was not our choice but because we were unwilling to meet some quite extreme demands. We have worked hard to find a new chef... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had booked accomodation and dinner here as we were travelling back home to Yorkshire and the reviews on Trip Advisor and in the Good food Guide were good. I booked the suite which cost 125.00 and we thought worth the money, it had a very big bed with excellent pillows. It was only next morning after a shower we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Seagrave Arms also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrave Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing