We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seagrave Arms

British, Gastropub, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
+44 1386 840192
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Seagrave Arms is a charming country pub with rooms serving...
The Seagrave Arms is a charming country pub with rooms serving award-winning British cuisine in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, Hannah, Newstead and Mally (The Cat) look forward to welcoming you.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 183 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 96
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Tasty food but menu pretentiously fussy

One of the better local restaurants. Menu a bit too fussy but food certainly tasty Pity about the piped music which spoiled the atmosphere. They serve in different rooms and one or two should be silent. Won't return until someone tells me they are. Service very good

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 16, 2015
RobertMBE2014
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

Just spent a lovely 3 day weekend here. The room was nice and cosy, the food was delicious, plentiful and varied. The staff were friendly, gracious and made you feel at home. Not cheap, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

I have visited your premises in the past and firstly let me assure you I am happy to pay for good food and value for money cuisine. I cant believe that for people who are complaining about the hefty price that they have to pay for a meal, that this is being excused with the quality of the products that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Ate here with friends one lunchtime. It was quiet as there was only one other table occupied at the time of arriving. It's a bit pricey (sea trout £21, pork mains £20). I had the smoked chicken sandwich with fries, my partner had smoked salmon salad, and my two friends had the pork mains. My sandwich was fine, the chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

One of the better local restaurants. Menu a bit too fussy but food certainly tasty Pity about the piped music which spoiled the atmosphere. They serve in different rooms and one or two should be silent. Won't return until someone tells me they are. Service very good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We eat regularly in good restaurants in Burgandy and we're delighted to find the same quality of cooking with English ingredients and an Anglo bias in the depths of the Cotswold countryside. A well kept local draught beer was followed by an delightful lunch with an innovative touch that made it fun to eat. The fish pie was memorable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

A memorable pub dinner for all the right reasons. The food was outstandingly good, with each course beautifully cooked with delicious taste combinations - good sized portions too. From the homemade bread to the scallop starter and black-pudding with perfectly crispy edges, on to a superb plateful of tender lamb's neck with a beautifully rich gravy and generous vegetables, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands, U.K.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We're local and thought we'd try this pub for lunch and both chose the fish and chips with "home cut, award-winning" chips. The chips, peas and tartare sauce were served separately in small containers instead of just putting the food on a plate, an annoying ploy used to serve up small portions, and which makes it difficult to actually eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannahb B, Manager at Seagrave Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review differentplaces. We do agree that we are not the cheapest pub in the area, but we certainly make up for this in the quality of our products sourced. When doing price comparisons, we are certainly not the most expensive. We're shocked to read you found our portions small. We have... More 

stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Decided to give this restaurant another try as I think it has changed hands since our last visit. My husband had the scallop for starter (yes, there was only one!!) and I had mackerel which was supposed to be served with crab and a lemon dressing. I received a tiny sliver of fish and when we asked about the crab,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannahb B, Manager at Seagrave Arms, responded to this review

Dear patricia j, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are of course saddened to read of your disappointment when dining with us. We do receive so many compliments and are mortified when we hear that guests are not 100% happy, as the whole team tries so hard to make a great dining experience.... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Lovely spot, friendly staff, and super menu - limited but we all wanted everything! Local old spotted pig, smoked salmon salad, cold pea soup, duck, chicken terrine filled us up but was paved so nicely we had room for dessert - cheese, banana caramel pudding and eaton mess. Short but well chosen and well priced wine list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannahb B, Manager at Seagrave Arms, responded to this review

Dear getchellk, Thank you for your lovely review of the Seagrave Arms. You're making us hungry listing all the food you had during your visit with us... but we're ever so pleased you all enjoyed it all. You are quite correct, we do not have a huge menu, but hope there is something for everyone and we're also glad that... More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Yes i did find the menu trying to be a bit of Mayfair in the Cotswold and it worked,i found my food very nice good balance ,my wife's fish was perfect superbly cooked ,nice deserts and good drinks i would say it wasn't over expensive and i have to say nice trained staff who spotted i was deaf ,that's why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hannahb B, Manager at Seagrave Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Andriel790 for your lovely review. It makes the team very proud to see what a great effect they have on our guests. We always aim to give the best guest satisfaction and we're very glad you received it. Your feedback is important to us and we're happy to read that you liked the balance of the menu and... More 

Travelers who viewed Seagrave Arms also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Campden
  • Phone Number: +44 1386 840192

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Gastropub, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine

Description

The Seagrave Arms is a charming country pub with rooms serving award-winning British cuisine in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, Hannah, Newstead and Mally (The Cat) look forward to welcoming you.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seagrave Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?