We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angel Inn Pub

$$
Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dame Lane | Misson Nr Doncaster, Doncaster DN10 6EB, England
01302 711761
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Angel Inn Pub and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 109 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 63
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Friendly pub, brilliant chef, excellent food!

Nice friendly pub in a lovely little village with a great riverside walk. The staff seem very nice and the service was good. The highlight has got to be the chef. He grows his own produce in the pub's garden and cooks using fresh ingredients. The smoked chicken pasta was brill and the cod wrapped... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 21, 2015
PjJwxxxx
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Nice friendly pub in a lovely little village with a great riverside walk. The staff seem very nice and the service was good. The highlight has got to be the chef. He grows his own produce in the pub's garden and cooks using fresh ingredients. The smoked chicken pasta was brill and the cod wrapped in bacon was just unbelievable!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

One of our favourite places. The staff and locals are friendly. The bar menu is very good and reasonably priced. It has recently changed management and it is getting back to normal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see that The Angel remains as one of your favourites. More 

Sth Yorks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Went here for a meal for my birthday as we had been very impressed on a previous visit. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was ok, nice enough. Certainly better than the food served at the many chain pubs around Doncaster but sadly not as good as we previously experienced. It was quite cold and lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your second visit was not quite up to your expectations. However, I am pleased that we appear to have got most of it right and that you were happy with the service that my team gave. The week of your visit was a little cooler than it had been that month but still averaged... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Just had a very quick one night visit to the Angel Inn. Very capable and friendly staff, well kept pub and nice rooms alongside it. Bawtry is just down the road and while offering very tempting places to eat we decided to give the a la carte at the Angel a go as my partner is a sucker for sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Wow. Thank you Kevin. The team and I are delighted by your comments. It means a lot when we get such positive feed back. It would be great to see you again and we had best make sure that we have the sea bass on the menu. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

This is our first visit since the change of owners and we were not disappointed, the food was of the same high quality with the same choices - either good pub grub or something a bit special, we will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the really nice and positive things that you had to say . The team and I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We have just returned home from lunch at the Angel and will not be going near the place again. We wanted a nice relaxing meal with our elderly dad but this we certainly did not have. The booking was for 2pm and it was a wait of 20 minutes before we got a menu. The starter came at 2.50pm. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Firstly I am sorry for the delay in my response but before replying I wanted to deal with some of the issues which were raised in your review and secondly to apologise that you did not enjoy your Sunday Lunch with us. I do remember your visit. Just to clarify that your booking was for 2pm but you arrived 20... More 

Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We visited this pub for Sunday lunch on 19 July 2015 as a treat for my Dad. Knowing what we know now, they were already running at least half an hour behind time but failed to inform us. Our booking was for 2:00. We had to wait until after 2:20 for the menu. Having taken the order the starters didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

I have ready responded to GGe who was at your table of three. Whilst I admit that your experience with us was from from ideal I do think this is somewhat excessive. In addition to what I have already said. I can assure you that we only use local quality suppliers for our vegetables and meat and reiterate that no... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Food pretty good, but we waited 50 mins for each course. Another group were offered complimentary drinks, but we were not. Serves us right for being too forgiving. It wasn't as if they were busy either. Sorry but we won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

We held a staff meeting to discuss your review as there was clearly an issue with the service time. I am pleased that you were happy with the food. It actually was a busy service, but as you were situated in the conservatory you were unaware of another large party in the bar area. We allowed too little time between... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We have just spent two night at the Angel. We were greeted by the lovely smiling Lisa, the rest of the staff were equally welcoming and friendly. Our room, in a block beyond the carpark was clean and comfortable with a large wet room. Breakfast was plentiful and the evening meal we ate there was well cooked, presented and tasty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the really nice things that you said about us. Your well wishes are much appreciated and we hope that we get chance to accommodate you once again if you are in our neck of the woods. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

great place really quite only hear birds singing, lovely walk by the river, staff very friendly, food beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us here at the Angel. More 

Travelers who viewed Angel Inn Pub also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Angel Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Dame Lane | Misson Nr Doncaster, Doncaster DN10 6EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Doncaster
  • Phone Number: 01302 711761

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 to 26
  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Angel Inn Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?