We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Water Witch

$$
Bar, British, Delicatessen, English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Canal Tow Path | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in...
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
read more
Good for:
Bar scene
Large groups
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 217 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 83
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Enjoyable food

We went here for lunch while walking on the canal. We found a table quickly. The food was impressive I had seafood linguine with ciabatta, this was lovely. For dessert I had lemon meringue cheesecake which was excellent ,had a lovely tang of lemon, the portion size was perfectly generous. The... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
James C
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

I searched for a dog friendly restaurant in Lancaster and found this one and as we had been there years ago decided to go again. I was upset to see a big sign outside saying no dogs allowed. Hence we didn't stay to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Joanhiggins, We ARE now a dog friendly pub and they are welcome to sit by you in the bar area where you can eat, we have the same menu running throughout the building. However, unfortunately we do not allow them into the dining area. We are really sorry that you saw our sign outside and decided not to stay... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

Absolutely lovely food. I'm a student at the University so I've seen a fair few pubs in Lancaster over the years - this one for food and drink has been the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Lord-007, We are thrilled that you think this is the best place for food and drink in town! We are grateful for the support from you and hope that you continue to enjoy trips down the canal to the Water Witch. Kind regards, Amy More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We went here for lunch while walking on the canal. We found a table quickly. The food was impressive I had seafood linguine with ciabatta, this was lovely. For dessert I had lemon meringue cheesecake which was excellent ,had a lovely tang of lemon, the portion size was perfectly generous. The service was good, staff were friendly and attentive. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi James, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the staff and the atmosphere here at the Water Witch. Secondly, we are glad that you enjoyed the food you ate and that the portion size was to your liking. We hope to welcome you again very soon, Kind regards, Amy More 

Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We popped in for a late lunch. I had the pork chop which was a little dry but still tasty, with mash which was nice. My mum had the fish and chips which was delicious, moist fish and lovely crispy batter. The chips were lovely. We had dessert of their lemon and pecan tart with clotted cream, this was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Karen, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at the Water Witch. We are glad that the food was tasty, we now have a new menu with a twist on the pork, next time you pop by you could give it a try! The fish and chips is a firm favorite and still features on our spring... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

1.the burger was under cooked and pink in the middle 2.the service I received was really poor. 3.the pints are way too expensive. The only decent thing about your pub/restaurant was how clean it was if I rated it for how clean it was you'd get a 5stars but other than that it was shocking won't be going there again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Liam, We note that this is your first review on Tripadvisor. Firstly, we thank your very much for complementing on our lovely clean pub. We deal with complaints very seriously here at the Water Witch and had we been noted about both the burgers and the service you received we could have dealt with this accordingly on the day.... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Although we were there on a busy Easter Sunday afternoon the staff were very helpful in finding us a place to sit, we only wanted a snack and a beer but we were treated very well and the person in charge seemed to go out of his way to make sure our visit was enjoyable. The beer was excellent as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Marion, Firstly thanks for joining us on Easter Sunday and taking the time to write such a lovely review about the Water Witch and the staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service here and intent to make everyone's experience an enjoyable one. I will make sure I will pass the compliments on to all the staff. It would... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Disappointing visit today as we got forgotten about a lot of the time, desserts came with wrong sides as they had run out of ice cream but didn't tell us! Gave us clotted cream instead!!! Took forever to clear the table and in the end we got up and left! Got accused of not paying the correct amount when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi 1987el I was sorry to read this review. We have a dedicated team here at the Water Witch and we always strive to deliver a great customer experience. I would suggest the issue over the ice-cream was merely a hiccup, however I have indeed informed all relevant team members about what happened. Our head chef, Ben, insists you receive... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Me and my partner came here out of the blue just because we were taking a walk along the canal and it was perfect! There was plenty of choice of ales to choose from as well as your other beers and lagers, we both ordered a starter as well as the beef Sunday lunch. We had the warm bread board... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Ieaun, I am glad that you managed to stumble across the Water Witch during your walk along the canal, it is an ideal location just out of town by the water. We are very lucky to have 9 hand pumps for cask ale and a number of keg lagers available. During the summer especially, we aim to have a... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Went for a late lunch and sat outside. Nice to sit by the canal on a warmish spring day and it was really quite busy. Food was quick and enjoyed it. Will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a nice review about the Water Witch, it is an ideal location for dining outside and can be quite a sun trap when the sun shines! I'm glad the food service was to your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again next time. Kind regards, Amy More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Went for the first time and ordered off the love to lunch menu which was only £6 each. I was surprised at the quality and flavour and for a lunch menu, the portion sizes were fab. Such a cute pub by the canal and I will certainly be back. Only one staff member working but this didn't stop him from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy D, Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Dear jwilky 123 I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall visit to the Water Witch along the canal. Also, thank you very much for taking the time to write a good review. Our love to lunch menu is very popular and it's a decent size especially for a bite to eat at lunch. All our staff are trained... More 

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Canal Tow Path | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 2 - 23
  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Delicatessen, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine

Description

The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Water Witch and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Water Witch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?