We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Canal Tow Path | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in...
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 271 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 99
    Excellent
  • 98
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
nice pub & good location

Location great; sit outside on a sunny day & watch the world go by (& the canal boats). We visited on a rainy evening so were inside. Despite being late they did a lovely selection of cheeses for us (we had the late night nibbles!) which was reasonably priced. Good selection of at least five real... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2015
Dahtorq
,
Torquay, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Nice location by the canal. Staff are friendly - though as with many pubs there's never enough staff on when busy. Food is typical pub grub. Nothing bad to say about it. Anywhere else it would be an average pub but as it's by the canal, it gets extra points. Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Went for lunch along the canal one day. Really nice location and very handy for town. But you can't hear the road at all which is a bonus. Benches outside you can sit at and enjoy the sun. Food was amazing, burgers and fish and chips were had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Location great; sit outside on a sunny day & watch the world go by (& the canal boats). We visited on a rainy evening so were inside. Despite being late they did a lovely selection of cheeses for us (we had the late night nibbles!) which was reasonably priced. Good selection of at least five real ales. The ones we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

Myself and some friends went to the Water Witch a few weeks ago for a lunch on Saturday. The place was busy with the lovely weather of the day, with most people sitting outside along the tow path to take advantage of the lovely weather. The Water Witch had a good menu and there were full main meals on offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi mcink Thanks for your review and complementing our menu, pub and drinks range. A Frittata is a rustic take on the usual Omelette, and is a very popular dish, I am glad that you did enjoy it! Once again thanks for you review, and we hope to see you again in the future Regards Simon Morrissey More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

I went for an early evening meal with a friend. We started with a drink and then ordered our food. It came in good time but ours arrived in a wooden box not a choice I would have made but according to the waitress the chef like to present it that way. I was after a short while offered a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Moonacres. Thanks for your nice review. We are always looking for different menu content, and indeed the way we present and display our food. We thought the mini wooden crates are quite quirky, and we decided to present our chicken burger in one of them. Generally we have had great feedback, and we indeed take on board you thoughts... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 NEW

Excellent pub nestled by the side of the canal. I ordered a burger and it was super! Beautiful in the sunshine to sit outside and inside the pub also looked nice. One of the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Sam Gru! I am pleased you enjoyed your burger and and your visit to our pub Thanks for your 5* review Regards Simon and all the team! More 

Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Visited this place on a beautiful summers evening for drinks as we were spending a few days in Lancaster and spotted this place as we driving past en route back to our hotel. Good selection of ales on offer and the food menu looked good too. Best thing is its location by the canal side but the inside looked cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Zumbagirl57 Thanks for your nice review! We do have a great location here at the Water witch, especially on a lazy warm summer's day! We all hope to see you soon Regards Simon and all the Team More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

A rare excursion out on a Monday evening brought us to The Water Witch, a pub we have visited before and have always enjoyed the experience. Tonight was no exception, it is really refreshing to eat out somewhere and you are consistently never disappointed. Staff as ever friendly and cheerful ,food is to a high standard and definitely worth the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Gumbee 1969 I hope you are well. Thanks for your review. The Waterwitch team, and myself always strive to deliver a consistent standard of food, drinks and service, and we are also pleased you found our vegetarian options enticing! Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Simon and all the Team More 

Newton-le-Willows, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Visited here on Saturday and spent a perfect few hours in the Sun by the water imbibing a few or more beers of which there is a fantastic choice food is delicious too with a big choice great place to sit and chat for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Lou Chappel We are all really glad you enjoyed your visit! And thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon! Regards Simon Morrissey General Manager More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

No car park only residents parking so have to pay at the car park town centre. Home made chutney tasted like watery tomato sauce with a few fruity bits in. Paid for mackerel on do it yourself platter portion size quarter of a filet for over 2 pounds. Disappointing glad only purchased a snack.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy D, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hello Yvonneb The Waterwitch is, after all, set at a canal side location, in a residential area of the city, therefore there is no car parking. There are however plenty of pay and display car parks close by. My team are always happy to advise the nearest car parks. I am sorry you thought the mackerel portion was small, however... More 

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

 
Bolton le Sands, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Canal Tow Path | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 28
  • Cuisine: Bar, Seafood, British, Delicatessen, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine

Description

The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine. Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season. Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Water Witch and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chorley, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Water Witch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?