We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walled Garden Bistro

Garstang Road | Barton Grange Hotel, Preston PR3 5AA, England
01772 866135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 441 restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $42 - $167
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
12 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    105
    51
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

We went after getting a living social deal afternoon tea for two with a glass of sparkling wine for £20. We booked in advance and although we arrived early we were seated on the patio area and the wine was brought over. Approx 10 minutes later the little picnic table with food arrived and it was obviously all home made.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
morecambe
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently, and knew that historically it had a great reputation.What a disappointment the experience was.Having arrived on time, a very attractive lady in a black dress greeted us and took our drinks order, which was duly dispensed by the barman; having just spent an hour on the bus was ready for my 'pint'.Well, our drinks were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments and reviews as an opportunity to develop and improve our restaurant. I can only apologise, it seems you did not have a true Walled Garden experience. If you could please contact me on 01772 867057 I would gladly discuss your experience in more detail. Kind Regards, Charlotte Webb Restaurant Manager More

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband & I visit this restaurant on a,regular basis being close to home. We always have an excellent all round experience. The ambience is lovely being warm & cosy in Winter enjoying a coffee next to the fire in the comfy arm chairs, & bright & sunny in Summer sitting in the conservatory or outside in the Walled garden.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you have had a true ‘Barton Grange Experience’, I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. It was lovely to meet you and your friends over the weekend and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Charlotte Webb Restaurant Manager More

preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Shown to a table quickly and ordered drinks. 15 mins later the drinks came and I had to ask for our order to be taken. The food came and was presented every bit as well as it tasted - excellent. The only problem was that we had drunk the bottle of wine and left it upside down in the cooled.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed the food here at the Walled Garden but I am sorry that the service fell short of our usual high standards. We are in the process of training new and existing staff so I will be sure to utilise your comments and ensure we improve the service provided. We... More

Blackburn Lancs
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My hubby was given a voucher for Afternoon Tea as a father's day treat. We went yesterday and really enjoyed it. The staff were lovely and service excellent. The Walled Garden is a lovely place and you can sit out if you wish. We enjoyed a glass of Proseco and this was followed by a beautiful picnic bench filled with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so glad you enjoyed our afternoon tea offering and experienced excellent service. We serve afternoon tea all year round so do give us a call if you would like to treat yourself again. Kind Regards, Charlotte Webb Restaurant Manager More

Lytham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked afternoon tea as a treat for my mother in law and we were hoping to sit in a beautiful floral garden. Instead we were seated inside in a quite dark area. To be fair although the sun was shining it probably wasn't warm enough for the older members of our party. From what we could see outside it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback, we do take everything on board to ensure we improve and develop. I am glad you did find elements of the afternoon tea tasty and enjoyable but I will make sure I discuss with chef the other items that can be improved. The jelly dessert definitely didn’t work in the heat, maybe when... More

West Kirby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent Breakfast with something for everyone on the menu or the buffet table, lovely outlook to the gardens

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

We like to ensure our guests get the best start to their day so I am so pleased our breakfast hit the spot! Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Charlotte Webb Restaurant Manager More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The food here is excellent. We had three courses and enjoyed every one of them. The food is well presented and is the chef quite clearly passionate about what he or she does. The fact that it only costs £15 for the three course set menu (not on Fridays or Saturdays, I don't think) means it is exceptional value; I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your ‘Barton Grange Experience’. The Bistro menu changes regularly so hopefully you will have the chance to try some of the others dishes on the menu. We really do appreciate all feedback and I will ensure it is passed on to everyone. We look forward to seeing you soon.... More

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

In the past I have always enjoyed eating at the Walled Garden but this week I went there for afternoon tea and came away feeling disappointed. True, it was a very warm day, but surely that was no excuse for the finger sandwich to be dry, as though it had been left out unwrapped. The mini tartlet filled with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am truly sorry that your experience wasn't up the standards that you expected or that we pride ourselves on. We do ensure all the components of the afternoon tea are made fresh and that the scones are baked each day so I will get to the bottom of why yours weren't perfect. Nothing beats... More

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Bit disappointed as this used to be one of my favourite places to lunch with a few old school friends but last visit just didnt quite meet the grade.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CharlotteWGBarton, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed after your visit to the Walled Garden Bistro. I would be grateful if you wouldn't mind discussing the elements that didn't quite meet your expectations and how we can improve. We really do welcome any feedback especially if it can make us one of your firm favourites again. My direct line... More

Travelers who viewed The Walled Garden Bistro also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Walled Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walled Garden Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing