We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Billet

$$
International, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
+44 1908 373936
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 316 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 145
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 32
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good food and excellent staf

It is 6 months since our visit with an Amazon Local deal. Unfortunately another diner was taken ill at the table beside us which spoilt our appetite for our food. We hope that the gentleman who was taken away by ambulance was OK, it still concerns me that we were not able to help and felt we... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 19, 2015
Julie C
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Very friendly staff, who looked after us very well. I had the most delicious food, certainly the best I've had in a long while. I will definitely be going back and recommending to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

The menu had loads to choose from... it was difficult to decide what to eat with so many delicious options. It had a great ambiance too with the cozy decor. I will absolutely return and recommend to others :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

A friend of mine had her sister come all the way from Canada and she wanted to see something of the British pub culture. Knowing that The Crooked Billet had won the award for best pub I thought that this would be the perfect time for my first visit. The location and layout of the pub and its garden are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We visited this restaurant after a gap of several years, having been made a very good offer by Amazon. It was a lunch deal, and the restaurant were happy to accept a booking for 4pm. After drinks in the garden, we went in to order. I then had to ask for more drinks. The starters took some time to come.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

It is 6 months since our visit with an Amazon Local deal. Unfortunately another diner was taken ill at the table beside us which spoilt our appetite for our food. We hope that the gentleman who was taken away by ambulance was OK, it still concerns me that we were not able to help and felt we were in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, and the Gentleman who was taken ill is thankfully still with us! We hope to see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

We were looking forward to visiting the Crockett Billet for an anniversary lunch. We had visited several times and were wowed by the gastronomic experience. Unfortunately we're really disappointed today. We were the only people in the restaurant for nearly an hour before others arrived. The service was friendly and attentive, but the food was bland and was disappointing. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your visit on Monday, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy all of your meal, having spoken to you before you left, I'm disappointed that your comments in your review do not entirely match what you said to me. You did say that you did not entirely... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

I say rediscovered as we are quite local to this place but hadn't visited for some time. Under new ownership we thought we'd give it a try for our wedding anniversary. Locally the Billet had a reputation for good food , extensive and expensive wine and very much an upscale dining experience rather than a gastro pub. The new owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are very glad you chose us to celebrate your special occasion and very glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your next visit. Regards David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We had heard good things about this restaurant, and weren't disappointed when four of us went on a Saturday night for a meal in their restaurant. All of the items we had from the a la carte menu were fresh and delicious. I particularly liked the fresh, warm bread rolls, and the sauces were delectable. The service was friendly, helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, both of us and the team hope to see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We visited on a saturday night to celebrate my mums birthday. We had eaten at the pub previously before it changed hands and were a little apprehensive. However the food was superb and to a very high standard. The staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more attentive. I do not understand the recent bad review it makes no sense.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure looking after a great family and especially Carol on her birthday, hopefully the prosecco did not take revenge too much in the morning! Regards David & Alan More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

This has changed hands since our last visit 12 months ago. It was good then, even better now. The menu had some interesting items as well as country pub favourites. I was part of a party of four and everybody enjoyed every part of their meal, including a recommended chilled, red dessert wine. Carry on the good work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review, we are glad you and your party enjoyed your evening, we look forward to seeing you again soon, Regards David & Alan More 

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Beachampton, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 373936

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 to 35
  • Cuisine: International, British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crooked Billet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?