We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Billet

$$$
International, British, Pub
Improve this listing
Redo Search in Map
See more restaurants in your map view
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
+44 1908 373936
Website
Today
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 304 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 138
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 52
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Evening meal for two

Lovely old pub restaurant with great outdoor space.My husband and I went for an early evening meal and were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 14, 2015
Susan19522015
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ecton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

Having checked this Greene King pub out before we went (on Trip Advisor), there were mixed reviews and we did not know what to expect. Thursday lunch, and we were the only diners at 1.00 p.m Situated in a village outside Milton Keynes, it was not a Village Pub as such, and not really an olde worldly pub. Only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

Lovely old pub restaurant with great beer garden also. We went for an early evening meal and we had a great meal from the special Fish Night menu. The staff were friendly and welcoming and Alan was a fine host for the evening. The main course and deserts were excellent as expected. My wife who is a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Lovely old pub restaurant with great outdoor space.My husband and I went for an early evening meal and were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Friendly service and a good choice of food and wines. The garden is lovely to sit in of an evening and the interior of the pub is pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we hope that we see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Staying locally we called in here for an evening meal. Old building with lots of areas for dining or drinking with some tables out on the grass. Warm welcome from the staff, we were shown to our table a short distance away from the bar. a pint of local real ale and a nice glass of red. Choice from bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Old world village pub with big garden. Good range of beers and wine. Restaurant with good personal service. Interesting menu that changes regularly. Very good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for your great words but we are a little confused over the overall rating, perhaps pop in for a drink or drop us an email to see what we didn't quite get right on your visit. We hope to see you again soon. David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

This restraunt certainly know how to cook your steak to your liking, it melts in the mouth. The staff are very friendly. The Irish coffee they make is the best I have tasted in the UK and abroad. None of that silly cheat squirty cream, they place sugar in first and use real cream that floats beautifully. Thank you to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Pollards our butchers provides us with great steak to cook with, and Tabitha will always take credit with a cheesy grin on her face all day! see you again soon. Regards David & Alan More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This restaurant has recently changed hands. The standards were excellent; waiting unobtrusive but efficient. The new management are trying to maintain the same standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again soon. David & Alan More 

Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We visited this restaurant earlier this year and were not very impressed. We decided to try again and what a change. The food was very tasty and satisfying. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. So pleased we gave it another chance and we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us another try, very glad you were fully satisfied this time. We hope to you again soon. David & Alan More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

This provides a good meal with a nice selection of food far starters and mains, however, I was surprised by the price. I previously came here before the change of hands a couple of years ago and was amazed with the food available and I had a wonderful meal, therefore we headed back we whole family in toe. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave P, Owner at The Crooked Billet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, we are glad that to see that you enjoyed your meal, although feel slightly aggrieved not to be judged on our own merits rather than compared to the previous owners, we are not trying to copy what they did, we offer a great menu that changes to offer variety, our... More 

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Billet also viewed

Houghton Conquest, Bedford
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 

Been to The Crooked Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crooked Billet

Address: 2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
Phone Number: +44 1908 373936
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD $14 to $36
Cuisine: International, British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Westbrook End | Newton Longville, Milton Keynes MK17 0DF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 373936

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $14 to $36
  • Cuisine: International, British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crooked Billet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?