We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Leaf

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
25 London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
01256 355272
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners...
Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners' vision for a Thai restaurant supported by knowledgeable staff, and enhanced by an enticing menu and elegant interior. The setting of this modest 2-floor building, dating back to a time around the 16th century, has proven to be ideal for The Lime Leaf's needs and feel. Still retaining plenty of its traditional elements, these complement the bright and vibrant new interiors well. The menu offers an excellent selection of Thai cuisine, featuring familiar classics to a range of lesser-known regional dishes, and all are prepared using the finest ingredients, sure to tempt any palate. Children are also welcome and able to eat at half price from the Express Lunch and Early Bird menus.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Doing business
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 107
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A stumbled on little gem

Having been in the area for a business meeting myself and colleague went out for evening meal and came across this little gem.. If was busy even though it was Wednesday. We went in and got ushered upstairs by what seemed to be a elderly gent sitting in the waiting area. This made us smile and... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
Guyloves2travel
,
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Street Food
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Having been in the area for a business meeting myself and colleague went out for evening meal and came across this little gem.. If was busy even though it was Wednesday. We went in and got ushered upstairs by what seemed to be a elderly gent sitting in the waiting area. This made us smile and still not sure who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

As the elderly gentleman mentioned in the review I can only say we are pleased to receive such a positive review from such a seasoned traveller. Thank you for taking the trouble to write it. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Having been former regulars at another Thai restaurant and frequent visitors to other Thai places around the country we came to The Lime Leaf to quench our Thai food cravings. We visited early on a Wednesday evening so it was very quiet, but we don't mind that. We were seated promptly and attended to well. Between the 4 of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this detailed review which I have discussed with the chef. We are puzzled by a couple of comments. There is definitely no aniseed in the Panaeng curry and no nuts in the yellow curry. We wonder whether this has become confused with the Mussaman curry which does have nuts and star anise as ingredients. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Great atmosphere, lovely food, friendly welcome. Well run, slick operation. If you have to endure the delights of Basingstoke, this is a good place. Courteous staff, mainly Thai, that helps. Very keen to please. Intimate rooms and tables, especially upstairs. Kind of Bistro style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deepest Darkest North Hampshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Returning to this restaurant for a weekday lunch from their special menu it didn't fail to deliver. We went for the express lunch menu for 9.95 offering a choice of 8 starters and 11 mains - you can't go wrong, the choice is great. The food is excellent, portions generous and the service always pleasant and smiley. A great venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you Revduncan for taking the trouble to write this review. I am particularly pleased to see a lunchtime review as our lunch service is generally less well known than our dinner service. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Spent a very enjoyable evening at The Lime Leaf in London Street, Basingstoke. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were made very welcome by the owner and their staff. Service was impeccable, as was the food. Having been to Thailand it was nice to bring a bit of it back to England and I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Many thanks, Rob, for this nice review. It is encouraging to get this endorsement from someone who has been to Thailand many times. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

It was my husband's birthday and we went to the Lime Leaf after my friends had recommended it. It was really fantastic, we loved the atmosphere, the staff were really nice and considerate and the food was spectacular!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

It makes our day when we hear that we have helped to make someone's birthday celebration special. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I use to be a regular here going at least once a month, although last year I will admit the service and food quality was inconsistent, and after a couple meals on the trot where the food was not as good as it had been we started eating elsewhere. However I went there on Thursday with a group of 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am most grateful for this detailed review. I am sorry this group was given wrong information with regard to the platter. It can be served in an odd number of portions. i have reminded the servers about this. Also, we have changed our supplier for the chicken wings. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

'Twas the day before Valentines and the restaurant was busy from early in the evening. Sat at table 13 we were initially missed for service and had to ask twice for our prawn crackers; drinks of imported Singha and lime soda for the lady were eventually ordered and delivered but still no crackers but enjoyed even more so upon arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am glad Chris enjoyed his evening and am grateful for his review. Sorry about the crackers. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Tried to order food, but was talked down to, patronised, huffed and puffed at and told they were too busy. Told them i would take my business elsewhere and they just said "ok". Shame, cos the food isnt bad. But as most people know it should be about teh hole experience. Being rude just doesnt sit well with me. Shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

This was a takeaway order. The customer wanted Chow Mein. We explained we were a Thai restaurant and this Chinese dish was not on our menu. He was quite insistent but eventually said he would order from a Chinese restaurant. We said fair enough. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I really enjoyed my meal at The Lime Leaf. We went at 7pm on a Tuesday and there were plenty of other diners about so it clearly does a good trade! I'm not surprised. The food tastes very fresh and is seasoned with lovely Thai flavours. I had the chilli beef which was thin cuts of beef with green beans,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this review. I am glad this reviewer enjoyed the experience. I note the point about the loyalty card and will arrange for information on this to be more readily available. More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 25 London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: 01256 355272

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Thai

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners' vision for a Thai restaurant supported by knowledgeable staff, and enhanced by an enticing menu and elegant interior. The setting of this modest 2-floor building, dating back to a time around the 16th century, has proven to be ideal for The Lime Leaf's needs and feel. Still retaining plenty of its traditional elements, these complement the bright and vibrant new interiors well. The menu offers an excellent selection of Thai cuisine, featuring familiar classics to a range of lesser-known regional dishes, and all are prepared using the finest ingredients, sure to tempt any palate. Children are also welcome and able to eat at half price from the Express Lunch and Early Bird menus.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Leaf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?