We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Leaf

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
25 London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
01256 355272
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners...
Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners' vision for a Thai restaurant supported by knowledgeable staff, and enhanced by an enticing menu and elegant interior. The setting of this modest 2-floor building, dating back to a time around the 16th century, has proven to be ideal for The Lime Leaf's needs and feel. Still retaining plenty of its traditional elements, these complement the bright and vibrant new interiors well. The menu offers an excellent selection of Thai cuisine, featuring familiar classics to a range of lesser-known regional dishes, and all are prepared using the finest ingredients, sure to tempt any palate. Children are also welcome and able to eat at half price from the Express Lunch and Early Bird menus.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Doing business
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 226 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Back On Top Form!

I use to be a regular here going at least once a month, although last year I will admit the service and food quality was inconsistent, and after a couple meals on the trot where the food was not as good as it had been we started eating elsewhere. However I went there on Thursday with a group of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
Hilary C
,
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Street Food
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I use to be a regular here going at least once a month, although last year I will admit the service and food quality was inconsistent, and after a couple meals on the trot where the food was not as good as it had been we started eating elsewhere. However I went there on Thursday with a group of 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

'Twas the day before Valentines and the restaurant was busy from early in the evening. Sat at table 13 we were initially missed for service and had to ask twice for our prawn crackers; drinks of imported Singha and lime soda for the lady were eventually ordered and delivered but still no crackers but enjoyed even more so upon arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Tried to order food, but was talked down to, patronised, huffed and puffed at and told they were too busy. Told them i would take my business elsewhere and they just said "ok". Shame, cos the food isnt bad. But as most people know it should be about teh hole experience. Being rude just doesnt sit well with me. Shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

This was a takeaway order. The customer wanted Chow Mein. We explained we were a Thai restaurant and this Chinese dish was not on our menu. He was quite insistent but eventually said he would order from a Chinese restaurant. We said fair enough. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I really enjoyed my meal at The Lime Leaf. We went at 7pm on a Tuesday and there were plenty of other diners about so it clearly does a good trade! I'm not surprised. The food tastes very fresh and is seasoned with lovely Thai flavours. I had the chilli beef which was thin cuts of beef with green beans,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this review. I am glad this reviewer enjoyed the experience. I note the point about the loyalty card and will arrange for information on this to be more readily available. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We visited this restaurant for the second time recently. The atmosphere and layout is very pleasing, the staff are friendly and attentive and the food is very good. It wasn’t as impressive as our first visit for a few reasons, but overall, it is a restaurant I could still recommend. We opted for one of the Christmas set menus with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this detailed review. It was indeed a shame about the wine. The temperature in our wine cellar dropped during the extreme weather. We did have wines at the correct temperature and the guest should have been served one of those. It's a pity he did not mention it as we would have gladly offered another bottle. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

The chef cook very dirty and the food was really very bad ,will not go there because,we don't wanna to be in the hospital and by the way screaming in the kitchen I was thinking is same fight,, please try to understand is restaurant...not place to fight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I do not know what has prompted these extreme comments. i can assure readers we attach high importance to food safety and this is reflected in our favourable food hygiene rating, the certificate for which is on display at the restaurant. And i can give a categorical assurance that there has been no incidents of fighting in the kitchen. It... More 

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I also was going to give it a miss as the downstairs looked empty! It was very cold downstairs so they were seating everyone upstairs. I am glad I didn't as the food was excellent. I went for a mixture of starters and some fried rice. Just the right amount and good quality combined with the excellent staff, I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am glad this reviewer enjoyed his meal and am grateful for his comments. The main dining area is upstairs and most of our regular diners prefer to be seated there. Unfortunately this can give the impression from the street that the restaurant is empty on those occasions when the downstairs area is not being used. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We have been loyal customers here when we are in Basingstoke every month or so. Last trip changed our positive outlook on this restaurant (previously loved by the whole family). Not sure if there has been a change in proprietors. Last visit we were served raw chicken Satay as starter - cooked on outside but raw inside. Little apology proffered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Oh dear! There has been no change of ownership. We did apologise for these two mishaps and the dishes were immediately replaced. But I can understand that such incidents are offputting and can affect the enjoyment of the rest of the meal. I'd like to find some way to make amends if the reviewer will get in touch. More 

Rotherham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Called in Wednesday evening, 10th December. Almost gave it a miss as it looked dead. We were escorted upstairs to find the first floor packed, with a really nice atmosphere and lots of happy diners. The starters, mains, desserts and wine were all really good quality, and at very reasonable prices. Staff very friendly too. Really enjoyed our evening there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this review.i have pointed out elsewhere that the main dining area is upstairs but this not always apparent from the street. We are looking at ways to address this - perhaps with improved signage. More 

Hampshire
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We hardly ever get in here because we forget to book, which is normally essential. So it is always a pleasant change when we dine here. The food is fresh, tasty, crispy, spicy and arrives very quickly. The prices are fair and the ambience is great. Hard to find fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

I am grateful for this review. It's true that it is normally necessary to book on Fridays and Saturdays to avoid disappointment. More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 25 London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: 01256 355272

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Thai

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners' vision for a Thai restaurant supported by knowledgeable staff, and enhanced by an enticing menu and elegant interior. The setting of this modest 2-floor building, dating back to a time around the 16th century, has proven to be ideal for The Lime Leaf's needs and feel. Still retaining plenty of its traditional elements, these complement the bright and vibrant new interiors well. The menu offers an excellent selection of Thai cuisine, featuring familiar classics to a range of lesser-known regional dishes, and all are prepared using the finest ingredients, sure to tempt any palate. Children are also welcome and able to eat at half price from the Express Lunch and Early Bird menus.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Leaf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?