We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Watergate Toll

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
421 Watergate Toll, Bolton BL5 1BU, England (Formerly Watergate Toll)
+44 1204 650955
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners,...
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bolton’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 43
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Not one of their best days.

Arrived and roast meats looked tired and tiny,all had run out at once.Put off by the look. Mint sauce had black pepper in and was heavily spiced.Gravy was over spiced. Yorkshire Pudding sweet looked industrial.Tasted good but looked awful. No large print menu available.Unusual for a Toby not... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
JANETDENISE
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Toby is much as others but always with cheery staff. We visit the NW about 4 times a year (from down South!) and we always go here with an aged relative. Not once in years have we been disappointed. The beef, ham, turkey and pork are simply delicious. Always with their de rigeur Yorkshire puts. And their pricing puts... More 

Helpful?
Thank GFSLondon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
746 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived and roast meats looked tired and tiny,all had run out at once.Put off by the look. Mint sauce had black pepper in and was heavily spiced.Gravy was over spiced. Yorkshire Pudding sweet looked industrial.Tasted good but looked awful. No large print menu available.Unusual for a Toby not to be disability friendly. Just a bad moment there.

Helpful?
Thank JANETDENISE
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We’re really sorry to hear you had a poor experience when you visited. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure the team sees your comments. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on Tuesday lunch, the food was really good very hot and tasty, the team are really polite, friendly and can't do enough for you. They make sure you have everything you need, the puddings are really good to especially the chocolate fudge cake.

Helpful?
Thank bob_76626
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We go here last minute just for a cheap, local Sunday Roast. However this weekend's visit will be the last. Never a polite member of staff available and everything is a problem. We asked for a tab when we arrived but the answer was no. However the next lady that asked was allowed to have a tab- as she had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs T
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For starters I don't really understand why people are complaining all over here, I have only visited this carvery once before I can say my time was great I loved the friendly staff and the food it was absolutely delicious. I visit again today 17/01/2016 and the same again, came in for a carvery round about 2.45pm and got seated... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan y
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

We’re glad you enjoyed your visit, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on tuesday the 12th of january and i was with family for afternoon lunch, i was seated stright away as i entered by a lady with blonde hair who was very chatty. I got approached by a young lady with red hair, her name on the reciept was lucy who was very polite and helpful she explained what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Come back to England to visit family and friends , after a long 6 hour flight, decided to go for breakfast (14th January). When arrived was greeted very well! £3.99 for all you can eat breakfast absolute bargain!! The bacon was perfect , the sausages was delicious and to top it of the potato hash was unreal! Can tell the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liamp1996
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in today,took an age to get a member of staff to come to an already busy bar(unstaffed) to seat a party inc. a disabled person.Finanlly sat down,no one serving at the carvery counter so I approached a manager who couldn't have cared less when I said I'm not recommending this place to anyone ("obviously we don't have someone on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samlewbla01
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

We’re sorry your last visit wasn’t what you expected. Guest feedback is really important to us as it helps us improve so thank you for taking the time to leave a review. More 

manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited this place quite a few times now. When this first opened everything was great but we have gradually see lots of things including the food deteriorate over time. Once one of the chefs was using the thermometer in the food to check food was cooked appropriately, he then wiped it on his dirty apron and continued to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennierob72
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We’re really sorry your last visit wasn’t up to scratch. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure your comments are seen by the team. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food ok most of the staff ok apart from arrogant barman when we complained about the gambling attracting children to try and grab a minion from the machine said it was down to skill children distressed because parents could not grab and win the toy disgracefull

Helpful?
Thank Bygeorge15
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review. More 

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Watergate Toll also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Toby Carvery Watergate Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 421 Watergate Toll, Bolton BL5 1BU, England (Formerly Watergate Toll)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 650955

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 14
  • Cuisine: British, Seafood, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bolton’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Toby Carvery Watergate Toll staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?