We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Watergate Toll

421 Watergate Toll, Bolton BL5 1BU, England (Formerly Watergate Toll)
+44 1204 650955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 238 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $10 - $20
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bolton’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Over the last few years we've frequented the Watergate Toll on a number of occasions and having heard it had recently been done up the "fun prevention officer", myself and the "out-laws" decided to pop in. To be honest I couldn't really see any substantially different alterations compared to our previous visits, but I mean this in a complimentary way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and your constructive feedback for our team at Watergate Toll. We are pleased to hear the 'fun prevention officer', the 'outlaws' & yourself were pleased with the visit. We have sent an email if you could look out for it requesting some further info so we can pass your comments on directly to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Ladies at lunch chose the Watergate for our monthly lunch, having been very happy with the service at previous visits. While not expecting gourmet food, (although the salads that we had were very good) we were expecting good service. The restaurant was not overly busy, however the time we had to wait for our food, then drinks and finally deserts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you all left a little disappointed on your most recent visit to us. We're always interested to hear your feedback & should we ever disappoint in the future, please ask to speak to a manager at the time if possible. They're best placed to sort any issues out on the spot. We... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good food, very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Very clean. Can get very busy but the most time we waited has been half an hour. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Well for the price it is OK. Seems popular you judge your time.. Sunday afternoon there are likely to be ques. Food wise, price and quantity are fine. To me it all depends on luck and when you hit it. We had fresh meat just carved which was quite good but the veg had been lying around for ages and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bolton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Called tonight with family. The meal (carvery) was barely warm and the serving area needed to be cleaned up, The place was obviously very busy so have allowed for this in my review. Service for drinks was very slow. There was a good choice of meats and veg on display and it is true you get what you pay for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atherton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I visited this restaurant a few years back and was not impressed. However recently I was taken for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised. The staff are helpful, and attentive. The food was very tasty, although I would have hoped for possibly a slice more of meat than what is given, and I had the big plate. It is well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear we redeemed ourselves on your most recent visit & that you'll be back to see us again in the future. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On way back from Airport run so decided to call in for breakfast. Have previously had breakfast at the Toby at Greenmount. Watergate Toll - breakfast so not recommended. Awful - the toaster was not working so they were supposed to be toasting in the kitchen - the toast that was out was that hard and dried up you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We visited here while passing through on 27th and decided to call in for Sunday lunch. It was very busy and was surprised at only a 20 minutes wait. Meat was very tender and cooked beautifully. I had pork and beef with a naughty bit of crackling. My husband had all 4 meats vegetables where fresh and cooked to perfection.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again soon :) More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had the Sunday Carvery this evening and it was absolutely vile. The staff were so rude and arrogant, the beef was not fit for consumption you could not cut or eat it, it was so fatty. The men carving the meats were dripping with sweat wiping their heads with their hands then handling plates. Disgusting! Avoid like the plague!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited here as a party of 4 one evening at 7pm. Got our table and when we went for food were informed there was no turkey. The server suggested to avoid the beef as it was fatty and we ended up with a slice of ham and pork only. Yorkshire puddings that were dried brittle, vegetables dried hard and watery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Watergate Toll also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Toby Carvery Watergate Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing