We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Watergate Toll

421 Watergate Toll, Bolton BL5 1BU, England (Formerly Watergate Toll)
+44 1204 650955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 237 restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watergate Toll. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bolton’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    14
    18
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Well for the price it is OK. Seems popular you judge your time.. Sunday afternoon there are likely to be ques. Food wise, price and quantity are fine. To me it all depends on luck and when you hit it. We had fresh meat just carved which was quite good but the veg had been lying around for ages and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bolton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

Called tonight with family. The meal (carvery) was barely warm and the serving area needed to be cleaned up, The place was obviously very busy so have allowed for this in my review. Service for drinks was very slow. There was a good choice of meats and veg on display and it is true you get what you pay for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atherton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I visited this restaurant a few years back and was not impressed. However recently I was taken for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised. The staff are helpful, and attentive. The food was very tasty, although I would have hoped for possibly a slice more of meat than what is given, and I had the big plate. It is well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On way back from Airport run so decided to call in for breakfast. Have previously had breakfast at the Toby at Greenmount. Watergate Toll - breakfast so not recommended. Awful - the toaster was not working so they were supposed to be toasting in the kitchen - the toast that was out was that hard and dried up you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter. More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We visited here while passing through on 27th and decided to call in for Sunday lunch. It was very busy and was surprised at only a 20 minutes wait. Meat was very tender and cooked beautifully. I had pork and beef with a naughty bit of crackling. My husband had all 4 meats vegetables where fresh and cooked to perfection.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again soon :) More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had the Sunday Carvery this evening and it was absolutely vile. The staff were so rude and arrogant, the beef was not fit for consumption you could not cut or eat it, it was so fatty. The men carving the meats were dripping with sweat wiping their heads with their hands then handling plates. Disgusting! Avoid like the plague!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited here as a party of 4 one evening at 7pm. Got our table and when we went for food were informed there was no turkey. The server suggested to avoid the beef as it was fatty and we ended up with a slice of ham and pork only. Yorkshire puddings that were dried brittle, vegetables dried hard and watery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cromer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We tuned up at about 9:30 and waited to be seated, and waited to be seated and waited....you get the picture. Only one member of staff appeared to be on duty and he was doing tea's coffee's etc. So a after a few, seemed like longer, minutes, we paid and were given our cups for drinks and found our own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have visited various Toby Carvery's around the area and none can match the quality of the restaurant. The food is always hot and the personalities of the staff cannot be matched. Hope they keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Been going here for years but must say things have changed. Very sparing with the meat and although the atmosphere is good and the service is of high standard the food seems bit tasteless. No roasts ready ,although they didn't take long . Hope its not a sign of things to come

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Watergate Toll also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Toby Carvery Watergate Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Watergate Toll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing