We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Church Walk, Crawley RH10 4HH, England
01342 712 431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 164 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near Gatwick airport
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near Gatwick airport
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    100
    44
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

Good service, lovely staff, accommodating. We arrived late on the eve of a wedding at the nearby and awful Copthorne Park Hotel. We called up front and explained that we had children with us and we were all very tired - could they accommodate us? Yes but they managed our expectations and said the wait would be longer than normal.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We went to this pub with friends, the friends showed us this place as we did not know where to eat as we do not live in this area. The food, I have to say was very good but I did realise I live in rip off Britain as it was very expensive. I personally cannot see how the cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou very very for your lovely comments. We love to hear from our guests about their experience with us. Your review has been passed around both front of house and kitchen teams. We hope to see you again soon. More

Southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We were greeted at the door and shown to a table. very friendly staff - genuinely welcoming and you felt well looked after. The menu was good. The food arrived within 20 minutes - we were given some complimentary snacks to have with our drinks. Excellent quality and reasonable priced. a really good stop off point after picking car up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and hopefully see you soon in the Dukes Kind Regards Przemyslaw Rudak Deputy Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

Took some US visitors to the restaurant....and had a very pleasant evening. They were very picky and the staff managed to handle it well ! Good food, good service, well priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and hopefully see you soon in The Duke Head Przemyslaw rudak Deputy Manager More

Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I ate here with my family whilst staying at Gatwick for an early flight and was the perfect start to our holiday. The decor, service and attention to good service by the staff was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Once again i'm happy to thank you for your great feed back. I'm glad you liked our place and food. Hopefully see you soon in The Dukes Przemyslaw Rudak Deputy Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Does not look much from the outside which does the internal decor a disservice as once inside it is warm , inviting and clean. The food is great and very well presented with good portion sizes. The service was also excellent with all the staff being amenable and willing to help. They all seemed to support each other so if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou very very for your lovely comments. We love to hear from our guests about their experience with us. Your review has been passed around both front of house and kitchen teams. We hope to see you again soon. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely food and good service. Will go again next year when travelling from gatwick. Good location near aph airport parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed you visit and look forward to the next time you're in the area. More

Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Have been here a couple of times now for Sunday lunch, always wondered why the car park is so full, now know why. The spit roast chicken for 2 on the Sunday menu is fab (apart from the stuffing which was tiny and tasteless - not a deal breaker though). Dessert sharing platter also delicious and very good value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your feedback. We are always extremely happy to hear such positive comments about our pub. We are very proud of our food and spend a lot of time training our staff so we are glad that it doesn't go unnoticed. We hope to see you again soon. More

Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We hadn't booked and went here as we were passing for a late Sunday lunch. The decor is lovely - all wood beams and clean lines. The service was excellent throughout - I really liked the smart/casual dress code of the waiting team. We both had a trio of meats Sunday lunch - it was delish! Beef, pork, chicken, roast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comment about our pub. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and would love to have you back again soon. More

Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I went here with my partner for an evening meal. There was a good selection on the menu. We ordered squid for starter which we found to be over cooked and rubbery. For mains we had pork belly and lamb. Both were very nice. Desserts we had a caramel chocolate pot, which wasn't as described very bitter and not really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for yor comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Dukes. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy some of the courses, your comments have been passed on to our kitchen team to ensure this does not happen again. We really strive for fantastic quality of food and service to match the prices set... More

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing