We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Church Walk | Crawley Down, Crawley RH10 4HH, England
01342 712 431
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #34 of 176 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near Gatwick airport
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    115
    51
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

We had a superb meal at the Duke's Head yesterday. The staff were very efficient and friendly. We didn't have to wait for long for the food to arrive and when it did it was completely delicious. Seven of us all had different meals and we were all impressed by the quality of the food. We asked for rare steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

If a place is busy, it means it's good and the Dukes head is, the stag are well trained, they know wants on the menu can tell you about the ingredients and their lunch does not taste like meals on wheels Yes I like it there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I visited for an early dinner with work colleagues. I found the menu quite varied, and the food good but expensive. The atmosphere and decor is very nice. However, the service, although polite was very slow. Our table was booked at 7, and even taking into account one of our party arriving a little late, we did not start eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reigate
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My Dad wanted to try this for his birthday so I booked a table for the 5 of us. Unfortunately my sister and I got held up and Dad and his friends didn't have their mobiles with them (grrr!) yet the staff were really helpful in relaying messages about our delay. Lovely ambience, tasteful decor, amazing fire-pit. Comfortable chairs, nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I went to the Dukes Head based on recommendations from members of my family. Alas I was sadly disappointed. We were shown to a table promptly by a polite waiter. However, it took ages for someone to come and take our order. It took even longer for them to bring out our food. When the food arrived the best way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very upset that you did not enjoy your recent visit to our pub. We get all of our custom from return guests and recommendations from the very high standards of food and service we pride ourselves on. Obviously on this occasion we did not match up to our standards. We would love for... More 

Copthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We decided to end the festive break and use our £10 voucher on a family meal at the Duke’s Head. Located on the A264 and with a large car park it is readily accessible and easy to get to. We booked our table for 6:30 and when we arrived we were warmly welcomed and asked to wait a few minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon More 

Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Met up with long lost friends and enjoyed a great evening in front of the winter Fire. Really friendly staff. Very clean restaurant. Always delivers. Thank you for looking after us

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We have visited the Dukes head a few times in 2014 and this time was Christmas day. Service was excellent and the food was really nice. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon More 

Copthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Booked a table for six people, asked if I could use my "Gourmet Society" card, told yes, on arrival told no because the 30th December is considered to be a Bank holiday, they had my telephone number but did not call me to advise this, on arrival no cloak room so had to put coats, hats, etc on floor or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Its concerning for me to hear about your chateaubriand as it is one of our signature dishes and what many people come to The Dukes Head for. I am hoping it is just a one off, for which I can only apologise for and hope that you return to try us again some time soon.... More 

gosport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

it will be our fourth visit in 4 weeks, I cannot express how fantastic the food is here, I'm dumb stuck by some of the comments, maybe we have just been lucky? The menu is interesting, the food is delicious and the staff attentive, and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend the Dukes head

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 
Copthorne, Crawley
 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head

Address: Church Walk | Crawley Down, Crawley RH10 4HH, England
Phone Number: 01342 712 431
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
Average Prices: USD 24 - 32
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dukes Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?