We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Church Walk, Crawley RH10 4HH, England
01342 712 431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 162 restaurants in Crawley
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near Gatwick airport
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near Gatwick airport
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    66
    96
    42
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been eating at The Dukes Head regularly over the past 10years and have never had a bad meal there... Until yesterday ... We popped in at about 5:30 looking to book for later but not really expecting to get a table.. The guy who met us was polite but said he was fully booked from 6:30 but offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A tad on the expensive side but the service was fairly quick and the food was well presented and tasted great. The staff work hard but there seems to be a preference for regulars. On a visit to the bar for a top up drink I had to wait whilst the female member of staff joked and flirted with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A great area for dining/drinks without the 'riff raff', but prices are maybe a little too high. The quality of food is good, as is the service and there is parking outside. The sizes of the portions and the expense lets this restaurant down though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just popped in on the off chance of getting a table as normally it's completely booked out. We were asked to sit in the lounge area, very cosy, and someone will get us when a table becomes available- within 10 mins we were seated. The menu was very fishy, I don't eat it but there were a couple of dishes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed you your experience. We hope to see you again soon so you can try some more of our delicious wines!! More

Gatwick
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice pub-restaurant with good staff but massively overpriced. £60 for lunch with 1 drink I expect to pay in London not out here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, we are very glad that you enjoyed the service that our staff provided you with, we work very hard to train and maintain these standards. In regards to our pricing, although slightly more expensive, we are very proud of our food we serve. We also believe our fixed price menu, mon - fri, of £15.50 for... More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Seven of us visited for a Birthday meal in the evening, we were sat down on time and waitress took our orders promptly. A very small 'complementary' pot of crisps was put on the table and as there was seven of us resulted in us having about 2 crisps each - whilst the gesture is nice, you might as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, this is obviously upsetting for us to hear as we are very proud of the food we deliver. If you would like to send us your contact details so we can try and get to the bottom of the issues that you had. We do appreciate your feedback, and you comments will be passed on to... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I called in here hungry and tired after a long flight, we were not disappointed. It wasnt that busy as it was a Tuesday lunchtime so maybe that contributed to our experience but we couldnt really fault it. We were seated and quickly served our drinks, our server, Tracy, was very helpful, polite and informative about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our pub, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dinning experience, hope to see you soon. More

Copthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have had some nice meals and good service. The negative is the outrageous pub pricing for wine in particular when just going for a drink. £8 for a large wine which at most would cost £5 a bottle. £20 for 2 wines and a pint, they have taken the mickey but won't again with me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our quality of food and service. In response to your comments about our wine, we have a vast wine selection with large glasses of wine ranging from £5.70 upwards. We do however appreciate that some our more expensive and have past your comments onto our head office who set... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Unattractive location - set back slightly from busy roundabout - big, barny place that becomes noisy, quickly, once it fills up so background music is drowned out by chatter. Extensive menu and good quality food, served by friendly, charming staff although expensive - not recommended for an 'ordinary' meal out if you are watching the pennies. The food and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are always pleased to receive all the comments, great to know that you have enjoyed our quality of food and service, hope to see you again in our pub. More

Hartfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went for lunch and drinks with friends. The Dukes Head always seems to be quite busy when I've been past. I had the sticky, crispy duck salad, which was pretty good, washed down by well kept Doom Bar bitter. Staff were friendly and efficient. It's not the most intimate place but they do what they do well.....would like to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abel B, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, we thrive on what our guests think. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing